Hillfoot CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Site

We’ve recently returned from touring Ireland. We spent 3 nights at Hillfoot which was a great find. It’s ideally situated for sight-seeing across N. Ireland, and the facilities were excellent. Mick looked after us (and everyone) excellently, and was brilliantly laid-back too. A great introduction to Ireland. The site is rural so a drive needed if you want to eat out. The site also offers camping and bunk-house facilities but I don’t think that would be a problem even when fuller than when we were there. Recommended

hintonbelle

Reviewed on 28/06/2019 14:12

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Greeted with a friendly smile

We was greeted with a lovely smile from Mervyn the owner along with his dog Ben, this was the last site we stayed at after touring for 2 weeks. Set in lovely surroundings with lovely clean facilities, handy for visiting Giants Causeway,along the coast to Derry. Mervyn gave us lots of information where we would get the best views. Enjoyed our stay so much we hope to return in the future. We would definitely recommend this site.

RobSanDegg

Reviewed on 02/10/2017 00:46

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful C/L

We paid a visit for 3 nights to this site in March 2017 and we will definitely return. Wonderful scenery and a great friendly welcome from not only Ben the dog but the site owner Mervyn. This is a great central spot for those who want to explore Northern Ireland good walks nearby and two good supermarkets close by. I would say it could be busy at the peak times the C/L is on one side of the site with caravan and tent pitches on the other so be prepared for more than your 5 vans. There are excellent facilities for showers and toilets all kept very clean. Mervyn is very helpful and he loves looking after the site and visitors alike. He is full of information on the local area and very approachable. Definitely worth a visit.

retiredbeep

Reviewed on 20/03/2017 15:04

4 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site

Visited this site for 10 nights from 24th July before moving on to Cusher Valley. Mervyen you are a gentleman, always on hand to give advice on things to do & see & to point me in the direction of the local garage when I had an issue with our car. your campsite is a credit to you, will hopefully return one day.

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a Find

A trip to Ireland, searching for somewhere to stay  near enough to The Giants Causeway but easy enough to go onward to Donegal, was a challenge. Then we found Hillfoot, exactly what it says, at the foot of the hill. Gorgeous spot, Mervyn came to welcome us as did Ben the do. What a gent, always willing to help, a mine of useful information on where to go and always around to make sure there was enough hot water for the showers and that everything was spick and span. We arrived 25th May for 4 nights and were blessed with glorious weather for our trip to see the Giants Causeway and Carrick A Rede Rope Bridge. it was 25 miles or so but we knew that when we booked. We also managed to get to Kinbane that day and also The Dark Hedges apparently featured in Game of Thrones which we've never watched but it was worth finding these trees, even though there had been some storm damage to them. We also managed to climb The Hill, cheating a bit as theres a car park near the top, but it gives wonderful views all around and with binoculars or a good zoom on your camera you can pick out the site easily. It was a bank holiday weekend while we were there which is why I've only given a 4  for peace and tranquility. The site became very full and also the camping field, but it was just families enjoying themselves in the good weather and the facilities remained spotless. Everything there for a tiny site, even a little museum which was so interesting. And laundry facilities with an honesty box.  Thoroughly recommended, i don't suppose we will ever go back that way but if we did i know where we would stay. As the previous review says "A little gem" Thankyou to Mervyn and Liz and Ben for making our stay so enjoyable

Cwmbran Caravanners

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/07/2016 11:51

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little gem

We visited for one night in March to change over our van and we promised to return as it looked so appealing. What a smashing wee site in beautiful countryside.  Beautiful pitches with hard stands or well kept grass. There is a dishwashing area and very clean showers and toilets. Electric is available for most of the pitches and Mervyn and Liz are lovely owners along with their friendly dog Ben. We enjoyed an enjoyable 10 days here but we were perplexed that there were not more visitors and local visitors in particular. There are a couple of excellent supermarkets in Dungiven and everyone was very friendly to us from North Down. We cannot recommend this little gem too highly so please give it a try.

Marz

Caravanner from Down

Reviewed on 26/07/2015 20:25

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Note the price

This is a well set out campsite with adequate facilities. Mervyn gave us a great welcome with lots of local knowledge about the area. We only stayed one night because of inclement weather - had the weather been better we would have stayed longer to explore the area. However, the price is £14. Mervyn said that the £9.50 in the current Sites handbook was the price when the site opened 4 years ago!

dunelm

Reviewed on 28/05/2015 09:55

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An excellent CL

We stayed here for two nights in order to change over our caravan from a nearby dealer. The weather was wild and stormy but the welcome we received from Mervyn and Ben made up for the weather. Mervyn could not have been more helpful and we really liked the site. We have already decided to return later in the year and would advise everyone to give it a try. It is really peaceful and is in a lovely area. Toilets, showers, electric, play area as well as meeting rooms and hard stands are available. Thank you Mervyn.

Marz

Caravanner from Down

Reviewed on 11/03/2015 21:29

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer