Holly Heights

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a wonderful site with the most spacious pitch

We had a week at Holly Heights during early September. We were blessed with lovely weather but if you prefer to sit by your van and relax then, apart from some distant occasional traffic noise, this is the perfect CL on which to do just that. Karen and Richard are both attentive and very friendly without being overbearing or intrusive.

The lovely large grass pitches are almost level and very well kept and, as long as your unit remains roughly central, then you can pitch at whatever angle you like. It would be very difficult or remis to encroach on a neighbours pitch here. The areas around the perimeter of the site are allowed to grow wild to attract wildlife, but there are short dog walks carefully cut around the site to allow for those early morning or late evening necessary wanderings! There is even a picnic bench in an area that catches the very last of the evening sun and views across open fields from all pitches it seems.

Karen is lovely, cheerful and helpful. A folder can be provided on reception for each pitch which details all necessary shops, emergency services etc. and also various walks around the area. Karen even offered the use of their tree sheltered front garden areas to sit in if the heat of the sun got too much for us! Recycling is encouraged and COVID safety was very good. Excellent water pressure at all service points and it must be 16amp electricity as we never tripped out once, despite forgetting to switch off something when boiling the kettle for example.

Bungay and Beccles are both nearby with some very good cafe's, a few pubs and good restaurants. There is an hotel in Beccles with riverside seating which provided a lovely few hours watching various watercraft plod by over a pint. We spent several days driving up the coast to explore the wonderful East Norfolk beaches of Happisburgh (pronounced Haysborough), California, Sea Palling and Winterton. All best explored when the tide is out, most are dog friendly and allow several hours exploring and beach combing.

Going 'down South, Southwold is just over half an hours drive away and always well worth a visit with the lovely Aldeburgh not much further on should you prefer.

We will be back and look forward to some winter time on such a lovely site. Highly recommended.

DJCarrick

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 11:43

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a lovely tranquil spot

We had a really lovely peaceful stay at Holly Heights, our first time there it will not be our last. Karen and Richard were very welcoming and informative and we would recommend this "adults only" site to anyone who likes the CL principle with the addition of an electric hook-up. K+M from Shirley, Surrey.

kandmontheroad

Reviewed on 25/06/2021 13:59

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding site

Just finishing a short stay at this wonderful site. Beautiful views across open Suffolk countryside with plenty of wildlife to catch your eye as the evenings settle. The site is spacious and very well kept. Seen perhaps the biggest hare I have ever seen. The owners, Karen and Richard, are lovely and go out of their way to be as helpful as possible. You could really ask for nothing more.

FrankBOF

Reviewed on 09/06/2021 18:04

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great stay

Just returned from Holly Heights.... Our first time away in our motorhome. A lovely, clean and peaceful site. Pitches are very generous and had open views across the countryside. Lovely circular walk around the quiet roads, takes about an hour and another lovely walk to Bungay . Karen, Thank you for your friendly, approachable and helpful welcome . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately return again. Jenny and Simon .

ScreenNameEF96A670A3

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/08/2020 12:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Soooo quiet

Lovely site, easy to find. Walks down the local roads are fabulous Will definitely go again

Trescoman

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/08/2020 21:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely, quiet site, in an equally lovely and quiet area.

Specious grass site, with very large pitches and a very welcoming owner. A walk around the local lanes or into Bungay recommended. Road access to the coast easy with parking for motorhomes at Southwold possible. Will be coming back again!

Laurie P

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/08/2020 11:19

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good for cycling

A very nice site with short mown grass and all the clippings removed! Access into the site is a little bit tight and needs care round one particular tree trunk but no real issues. As previously mentioned pitches are large and all pretty flat, you should only need to ramp if you are particular which direction you face (caravans). The owners we're great, repeatedly telling us we could stay late if we wished and printing off a helpful information sheet on our arrival. A weather warning for wind was in place and they offered to put us up in the house if we had any trouble during our stay. The site position is fantastic, it is a quiet rural site with good views yet with access to a A road within less than a mile but it's not busy and we couldn't hear it. Immediately outside the site you are in the midst of a huge number of lanes giving you loads of choices for walking or cycling (including national cycle route 1). We cycled 6 miles into Beccles and encountered about 5 cars, you can also get into Bungay on the lanes. If we are ever in the area again this would be our first choice site.

Comment from the Club:

Many thanks for your review and we are delighted you had such a great time at this lovely CL Site. The owner's have been in touch to advise they have now removed a tree and improved the access to the site. 

badend

Reviewed on 13/08/2019 11:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a gem of a site

We have just returned from an impromptu 2 night stay at Holly Heights. The access drive is perhaps a little tight but no problem if taken steadily, the next problem was where to pitch, each pitch is so big and with such lovely views it's difficult to make a decision. Karen the owner had said find an empty pitch and pitch facing whichever direction you like, to be honest it's 2 -3 times the size of an average CL, we pitched in the normal manor parked to the left and with an awning up there was still room both sides for another unit between us and our neighbours !!! The grass is nicely kept and the site surrounded by wild flower meadows which you look over to rolling Suffolk countryside, the facilities are basic but completely adequate and kept clean and very tidy. Jane and Richard are very friendly but leave you to enjoy the peace and quiet. Bungay is 10 mins away and Southwold 25, there are numerous local walks and one of the Sustrans cycle routes goes past the 'door'. This site is very close to home but none the less felt like a proper break away, we will be back many times I think.

GrahamT

Caravanner from Norfolk

Reviewed on 04/08/2019 22:51

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A gem of a site.

Karen & Richard have worked wonders at their heaven sent gem of a site! We have just spent 5 exceptional nights on their site and enjoyed every singe second of our stop. We have 3 spaniels and whereas there are next to no public footpaths anywhere close to the site the narrow and generally almost un-trafficed roads proved more than adequate with the right, first right, first right, first right road square proving to take almost an hour that both we and our four legged friends enjoyed enormously. There is so much to see and do in the area with the local town of Bungay proving to be well worth a stroll and then there is the FREE to enter aircraft museum at Flixton proving to be so capticating that I will allocate 2 full and slow days to read all the fascinating information. My only slight criticism of the site is that there aren't enough dustbins when the site is nearly full.

MillieMaster

Motorhomer from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 18/06/2019 07:33

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Peaceful Site

We have just returned from our 10 night stay at this tranquil CL.We arrived on site and received a warm welcome from Karen and Richard and later Monty their puppy :). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we saw lots of wildlife on site and enjoyed walking and cycling along the country roads. The site facilities have been well thought out and the pitches are of a very good size. Thank you for making us feel very welcome and we wish you lots of luck with your new venture. We will definitely return. :)

MarkandAnnette

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/10/2018 19:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer