Holly Tree Cottage

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good for walking and cycling

We regularly stay here to visit family in Holmfirth. Always a warm welcome in this lovely CL. This time we tried the excellent trails and cycle tracks you can reach directly from the site. Remember the site is sloping but the hosts will supply wooden blocks for your support stays.

Xerxses1957

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/06/2021 21:58

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Truly peaceful and welcoming stay

We stayed here for 3 nights during the first May bank holiday. We don't normally use small CL sites but wanted to try one out. The owner was very welcoming and invited us to choose between a hardstanding area or the grass area. We choose the hardstanding as our van is quite heavy. It was so peaceful an idyllic setting. All the lambs were in the paddock next to the site, a couple of friendly hens wandering around what more could you ask for? The site was near great walks which was perfect for us. The village is really nice with a a great pub. The site is great value and will definitely be back. Thank you for a great intro to CLs we loved our stay,

The Myttons

Reviewed on 06/06/2021 17:09

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely start to our motor home journey

We collected our Elddis Accordo 125 from Peter Roberts Caravans & Motorhomes in Huddersfield and they offered us our first ever night in a motorhome at Holly Tree Cottage to check things out. It would be fair to say that this place has set a very high benchmark for our future touring. Ashley and Alison are charming, warm and friendly hosts and the site is lovely. As said our first experience and we were not expecting such good facilities. Really nice pub within short walking distance and a lovely walk from the site with the dog. Highly recommended and we would stay there again without hesitation.

DudSue

Motorhomer from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 01/10/2020 22:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Still awesome!

After a gap of 2 and a half years, we returned here. Still a fantastic CL. Just what caravanning is about.

aalg425

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/08/2020 12:54

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect CL

A truly lovely CL, conveniently located but in a tranquil spot. Bus stop opposite if you need one to explore the area or get to Denby Dale, the closest railway station. Lovely walks available on quiet bridleways with a great pub a few minutes walk away. Real ale fans will not be disappointed! Alison and Ashley were the perfect hosts - reasonably priced too.

MalThomas

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/10/2019 16:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous CL

We chanced upon the details of this Certified Location whilst investigating the area, in order to visit our nephew in Holmfirth and our granddaughter in Leeds. Having read previous reviews we had no hesitation in booking and we were not disappointed. We had 10 lovely days there. Alison and Ashley were most welcoming and informative. We had 2 lovely meals at The Dunkirk Inn less than a mile away. We were also able to visit Barnsley, Wakefield and Huddersfield which were not that far away. A beautifully kept site with wonderful views we were glad we read the previous reviews!!! Thank you Alison and Ashley.

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a find!

We originally booked this CL as it was the closest to Cannon Hall Farm, where we attended a wedding this weekend, and are we glad we did! Alison and Ashley could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Alison contacted me the day before our stay to give me details of how to access the site as she was going to be out, these were clear and easy to follow. Both Alison and Ashley were very friendly and keen to share their knowledge of the area and also just have a general chat. Alison helped with hairdresser (although I decided to do my own hair), and taxi numbers well in advance of our trip. The site itself is in a great position overlooking stunning countryside with sheep in the next field and chickens wandering around in and amongst the vans. Some pitches require levelling blocks, and these are rather thoughtfully provided. As we were using the CL purely for the wedding, we didn't visit the local pub, although my parents (who also stayed in their MH) did, and said the Pie and Peas, beer and hospitality were excellent. For some reason, when we do an after work getaway at the weekend, we tend to venture into North Yorkshire, however, this is now on our list of places to go back to, so that we can properly explore the area, it's 30 miles from home and has the lovely walks that we enjoy doing with our dogs, so we will be back, and soon I hope!!!

Tigers77

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/08/2019 13:57

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

What an excellent CL! Alison and Ashley keep this site immaculate, stunning views and great location. 2 minute walk to the pub which has great pie and peas and lovely atmosphere that allows dogs, reasonably priced too. Would definitely come back.

davea1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/06/2019 07:03

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous CL!

We stayed here recently for a couple of nights after collecting our new van as we wanted to make sure everything worked and to get us back into caravanning after a break of 10 years or so... Alison & Ashley could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful - absolutely wonderful hosts! The site is easily reached and access down a long drive could not be more simple - we had a great pitch under some small trees and within easy access of water & waste disposal. Alison provided an extension lead to allow us to hook up the electric and we were set... The local pub, The George, comes highly recommended - extremely friendly landlord and very welcoming locals, much as we've come to expect in our adopted home of Yorkshire! The pub does wonderful home made pies but do book up in advance as they sell out extremely quickly... All in all, this could not have been a better reintroduction to caravanning and reminded us why we always preferred CLs. Many thanks to Alison & Ashley for such a great stay!

SimonG9900

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/06/2019 15:03

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Perfect

This is the first but certainly not the last visit to this site, it is quite possibly the nicest cl we have been on. The owners Alison and Ashley are so friendly and helpful but not in you face, even brought pet lamb Pippin for our granddaughter to see, a gem of a site, we will be back OFTEN.

nettabarr1

Reviewed on 05/06/2019 20:09

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer