Holywell Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning views

Excellent stop off on A17, we only stayed for 1 night on our way back from Suffolk to Manchester but would have liked to stay longer. The views are amazing as was the sunset. Loved listening to the owls hooting. Well mown grass.

M22Hey

Reviewed on 03/07/2022 12:27

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not too far from home

We chose this site as I had to take my ebike to nearby Leadenham to get serviced - and we were so glad we found it. We were made very welcome on our arrival - and we had the whole place to ourselves over the 4 days we were there. The site sits not far off the A17 - but you could barely hear the traffic. A public footpath runs through the site, so we took advantage of that one evening and walked a loop back to the campsite (the return was up the hill on the grass verge adjacent to the road). RAF Cranwell sits on the other side of the A17 so a cycle ride to nearby Navenby had us cycling back through the base after following the sat nav which also took us down a very rutted, challenging part of Ermine Street - the old Roman Road (more for pedestrian traffic really). We also cycled round the area on the CL side of the A17 and went through some lovely little villages - with some lovely little pubs with the all important beer garden! We also cycled to nearby Belton House - the cycle ride there was pretty quiet - but we chose to cycle back via Ancaster - on what we believed would be a relatively quiet B road - it wasn't - not to be repeated! We have booked to return in a couple of weeks as we want to explore this part of Lincolnshire a bit more - and with only being about 40 mins from home - we are not venturing too far to get away. We were situated in the bottom terrace which was very well kept. The sunsets were well worth sitting out in the freezing cold for, and it was lovely watching the kestrels toing and froing from their nesting site in the trees. Although we saw no red kites, we saw plenty other birds of prey as well as a couple of deer walking across a nearby field. It was lovely to get away after months being cooped up in the house!

Carolee

Motorhomer from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 27/04/2021 13:11

42 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing sunsets and stunning views

We chose this CL as a stopover en route to East Anglia. It was its location close to the A17 which really chose it for us. We are so pleased we picked this one. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who was friendly and helpful and showed us the facilities. We were allowed to pick our own (grass) pitch out of the four available. We set the van up facing out over the vista from this hillside location. Looking out to the north west we had stunning views towards Newark and what looked like the whole of Nottinghamshire. We arrived on the third hottest day of the year and as evening wore on we caught the inevitable thunderstorm. Finally the clouds parted just as the sun fell to the horizon and we were treated to the most spectacular sunset. Absolutely beautiful. The following day we set off (without a map) and walked across corn fields and country roads to the village of Caythorpe where the local pub was having a beer festival. Very nice but a long walk. After the stay was over the owner was very helpful in directing me back to the busy A17 without needing to cross at the busy (high speed) junction I had used on arrival. We will return to this site as it was a memorable and very peaceful visit

balnuaron

Reviewed on 03/08/2020 09:19

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Little gem

What an absolute gem of a site this one is! We have just spent a weekend here - the views are stunning - the wildlife we experienced was amazing - so quiet - not a sound except that of the buzzards and kestrels flying over our van. Pitch was of a good standard, amenities were ample and we couldn't wait to book another visit, so we did before we left. Lovely friendly owners - well worth a visit. I am sure this will go down on our 'log' as being one to keep returning to.

David Greenwell

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/07/2020 18:24

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The Best View in Lincolnshire

This is a Gem of a site with The Best View in Lincolnshire. Lincolnshire being known for being somewhat Flat, the site is on top of a hill with an opening vista over Newark and the Trent valley and Nottinghamshire The site is flat and well drained with Electric hookups Drinking water and Elsan (Toilet) disposal Pete and Marlene will give you a warm welcome Top site well kept https://youtu.be/ZTAMgrjd-X4 ( Drone footage of site and location)

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely views

We called into this site twice as a stop off place to and from Suffolk/Norfolk as its just off the Newark/Sleaford road. Fantastic views and sunsets.... We saw 5 buzzards at once in the sky and a variety of other bird life!! Very reasonably priced to boot .

alhun

Motorhomer from Durham

Reviewed on 02/10/2019 17:18

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful Site

We have just spent the weekend here. We wanted a relaxing weekend and the setting was perfect for that. It’s a beautifully situated site with amazing views and sunset. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. We will definitely be visiting again!

SamG123

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/06/2019 17:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Friendly owners

Returned here after Landrover National and Pete has accommodation for our wagon carrying competition vehicles off the CL. Lovely owners and they always book the weather for us! Our 4th visit in 12 months.

Groves100

Reviewed on 02/06/2019 12:29

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful location

Booked at short notice and phone answered immediately, nice change, great people,lovely site and fantastic views. Got on smashing with Pete and Marlene,we visited again for a week during summer solstice and witnessed some outstanding sunsets and had the place to ourselves! Can't understand low booking numbers. Support these sites before we lose them!

Groves100

Reviewed on 26/06/2018 11:05

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a find!

What a find! We were on our way north and only booked in for one night - unfortunately It has got everything you want, quiet and peaceful, level so making it easy to pitch, the grass was cut and collected, and views to die for, just perfect. Don't be put off by the approach, you will not be disappointed. The owners were friendly and just wanted to please. We will certainly be using it again.

RJNSuffolk

Reviewed on 14/07/2017 20:18

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer