Howslack Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Don't tell anyone about this piece of heaven.

Planned one night, but stayed for eight. No internet, no telephone signal on my network, absolute heaven. Overlooking a river and the length of the valley with perfect tranquility and only a couple of miles into Moffat which has very good pubs and shops. Access was easy and the welcome from Elizabeth couldn't be more helpful. This is my first review for anywhere, and I can't wait to return for at least another week. Mark & Sue.

markrooker1

Reviewed on 02/10/2016 15:14

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delightful site

Spent a fortnight here. The site is set in beautiful countryside with stunning views and is wonderfully tranquil. Facilities quite basic, as others have commented, but so many CL sites don't even have these facilities so just thankful to have them. Very helpful owners throughout our stay, doing all they could to be of assistance.

CJEHF

Reviewed on 01/09/2016 09:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A good and convenient stopover.

We stayed for one night at the end of May to break the journey on the way home from Bunree. It is a small site, and the pitches are small. When we arrived there were already 4 caravans pitched, so we thought that we were the last. However, within 15 minutes another motor-home arrived. It was not a problem, but 6 outfits on such a small site was a bit cosy. The site is in beautiful countryside, and we wished that we had had more time to explore. There is clearly some good walking in this area. The site also has a toilet/washroom/shower. It is somewhat basic, but was clean and very usable. It is also worth mentioning that Moffat is a delightful little town, with some nice shops and cafes.

Geoffn1

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 10/06/2016 16:28

30 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice

Small and quiet about 2.5 miles from town. Single track road access which could be interesting in a caravan (we have a motorhome) The bin men come on Thursdays and if you meet them along the lane you need to be able to reverse. We had to reverse about 200 yards. As I say, fun with a caravan I expect. Shower and toilet are a nice addition, though basic, they are perfect. Pitches are on the small side. Great view across the glen. This was an excellent stop over but wouldn't suit us for any longer.

Patcherelli

Reviewed on 15/11/2015 10:05

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Expensive and crowded

This is the third time we’ve used this popular CL. It has 6 pitches and is usually fully occupied. Pitches are close together. So expect to be cosy. It is also an expensive CL because you are charged for every member of the party+dog+awning. On the plus side it has pleasant views and is half the price of the other club’s site in Moffat. Next time we’re in the area we’re going to try the unofficial CL that has opened up at the Green Frog Garden Centre in Moffat http://www.thegreenfrogmoffat.co.uk/#/caravan-site/4585765103 who said they’ll only accept 5 outfits and charge a flat pitch fee similar to most CLs.

MountainView

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/09/2015 07:40

35 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Only stopped one night on the way north

We needed a half way stopover when travelling from West Norfolk to a wedding at Arisaig [between Fort William & Mallaig] and Howslack Farm fitted the bill perfectly. The site is located not too far off the A74(M) - [Jnt 15]. Yes the road to the site is a bit narrow in places but we didn’t encounter any problems with our 7m long motorhome. The site has six hardstandings but they aren’t very deep or wide, so any towing vehicles or awnings would need to be on the adjacent grass. There was a water point alongside both fences and the EHU’s were within a sensible distance of the pitches. The toilet & shower, along with an information table, were housed in the building on the site and were always clean & tidy. It should be noted that the occupants of this building are not associated with the site at all. We were charged £14.50 for two adults and a dog in late August 2014. The owner appeared during the early evening to collect the site fee. The area is a haven of quiet [apart from the odd tractor on the adjacent road] and we would have liked to have spent longer in the area. We hope to return at some point to do the area “justice”.

Pilgrimphil

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 13/09/2014 14:52

41 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pros: pleasant views, cons: expensive and a bit cramped

Very popular with overnighters going to and from Scotland. This CL has six pitches and all were occupied every night we were there. The pitches are only large enough for the van; the car and awning going on the grass. The hard stand is only long enough for medium sized caravans: we had to extend onto the grass which wasn’t a problem because the wheels were still on the hardstands. Six pitches is a little cosy for a CL of this size: though I’d prefer to put up with small pitches than not being able to stay here at all. We were the only outfit with an awning. It would be rather cramped if there were several awnings. I was surprised how many outfits turned up having not booked. Owner allows these unbooked arrivals to stay in yard. There’s also space for one outfit on rough track opposite CL. Owner charges per head and for dog and awing. So our family were charged £27.50 a night making it by far the most expensive CL we’ve ever stayed on. The Camping & Caravan Club’s site in Moffat is £48.55 for the same outfit. The CL is two miles out of Moffat on a dead-end road which is surprisingly busy so traffic does pass the CL. CL adjacent to the Annandale Way. Pleasant views from the CL especially the two pitches away from the road. Full facilities including free hot shower which we didn’t use (we only ever use our van) but looked tidy. Despite the price we will be using this CL again.

MountainView

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/08/2014 07:07

35 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super stopover

Stayed here for one night on our way up to Kingussie. Easy enough to find but ensure you approach from Moffat centre. My android satnav was telling me to go a different way but the owners directions are the ones to follow! Flat level hardstanding pitches surrounded by slightly longer than desired grass. It had been raining and the long grass makes for very wet footwear. The toilet and shower were more than adequate for a CL as was the grey and black water point. The owner came around in the evening to collect payment (£15) and was very informative about where we could eat in Moffat. Very beautiful surroundings but unfortunately it was tipping it down so my dogs only had a short walk along the road to do their business but it looks as if there is the opportunity for a long walk along the riverbank and possibly into the surrounding hills. All in all a pleasant little site which I would recommend without hesitation.

DavidJWilliams

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/06/2014 19:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One Night Only

We only stayed for 1 night while heading home, but wish it could have been more. We'll remember it for next time we're headed that way!! The site is quite flat with hardstanding pitches. The view over the valley was lovely and peace and quiet proved very relaxing. The picnic benches were useful as it was such a lovely evening. Its about 2.5 miles into town, down a very narrow road, so while we had a car I would imagine its not much fun to do too often in a motorhome.

ultima544

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/06/2014 15:03

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet peaceful site

Stayed for two nights. Site is about two and a half miles along a no through road, narrow in places but no great problem if taken steady. tight access for large vans, but note the centre post of double gate lifts out making for easy access, Level site with hardstanding, very clean toilet and shower. Lovely views. An excellent well kept site. Will certainly visit again. Plenty of facilities in Moffat in the way of Hotels, bars, fast food outlets, supermarket, etc. Did not meet the owners who do not live on site, but booking was straight forward, and directions spot on.

piggymallone

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/06/2014 19:58

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer