Kitwhistle Barn

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

nice quiet stay

we spent a very quiet week here in early July this year . very helpful owners, lovely setting and handy for day trips out. tv reception was good and luckily phone reception not so good so nicely cut off from the outside world !!! will be going again

ScreenNameEAD118DD59

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 17:07

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A real little gem!

This is probably one of my favourite CLs - flat and pretty, wildflowers all around us in the hedgerows. An equally attractive dog walk up a gentle slope behind the site and looking down upon it. Bins etc close by but out of view behind a hedge. It is peaceful, whilst also being conducive to friendly chats with fellow Club members Kim, the owner, is around regularly - taking the rubbish away, chatting with us all, sharing her valuable local knowledge. Grass is kept well mown with clippings taken away. Altogether a very well cared for site. Easy access to so many places - the coast, Dorchester, Sherborne, Kingcombe Nature Reserve (Dorset Wildlife Trust), Poundbury was interesting (Kim can tell you more!). A CL doesn’t come much better than this, and it’s very reasonably priced too. Thank you for a lovely few days in absolutely sweltering Dorset!

SuzeFTC

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/07/2021 00:29

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely stay in charming CL

We stayed here for 2 nights in wet and windy weather over Halloween. There are 2 hard standings for wet weather all year round use that are screened from each other by trees and shrubs. The normal grass field for summer use is nicely flat. There is a small wall above the grass field for use with dogs/stretching your legs which has been planted with young trees and has some nice valley views from the top. Easy access to the coast for walks eg West Bay. Beaminster is a lovely local town too. Very friendly owners. Would definitely recommend, a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

TheWindiburrows

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/11/2020 11:09

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant location

Pleasant sheltered and quiet CL conveniently located to explore and enjoy rural Dorset. Accommodating host and welcome pack appreciated. Best to approach site via A356 and not through Beaminster as the road is steep and narrow.

xeaglex

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 23/08/2020 22:58

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Enjoyable stay on a friendly CL

I arrived at the CL to find my name chalked on a piece of slate by the hardstanding together with an information pack of local attractions. Kim appeared a couple of minutes later and gave me a warm friendly welcome and advice on the best place to park our motorhome. The CL is tidy and well maintained with the bins and disposal points screened behind some trees. Mature trees and shrubs surround the site and there is an area of newly planted trees which we could walk through up the hill. From the top there were chairs and a bbq which we could use while enjoying views over the countryside. There are walks from the site, including a circular one of about 6 miles to Beaminster, but it's worth checking with Kim before heading off on a walk in case the path has been re-routed. We enjoyed our three nights on the CL and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

TimRixon

Reviewed on 28/07/2020 17:01

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Chilly but enjoyable

We spent 4 nights here in our campervan, on the hardstanding in mid January. The temperature at night was chilly but the welcome was very warm and we had everything we needed. The information pack was very useful for planning trips to Beaminster, West Bay for coastal walking, Dorchester and Maiden Castle. Kim also gave us lots of good advice on the local area, which helped us to get the most out of our stay. Mobile reception was very weak, but a good signal could be obtained by a 200m walk to a more elevated position on their fields. We'd love to come back in the summer and make good use of the walking paths, which were a bit too wet and muddy at this time of the year.

Hudds

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/02/2020 10:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Adverse travels in Dorset.

Site is located down a small road off the A356. The site access is good onto the small, flat field. Kim and Paul Thomas, the owners, were both lovely, friendly people. We were given a Welcome pack full of useful up to date information. Kim explained where all the bins, recycling, water etc were located. We were left to pitch up wherever we wanted. There are no facilities but fresh water, grey waste, chemical disposal point, recycling and even a food bin for food scraps. I think these will be for the geese and ducks. There is a great dog walk up to the 'tubes' (these were new, young trees in plastic tubes) but no particular views as such. Site is open all year and very handy for Dorchester, Beaminster and Crewkerne.

Smokey55

Motorhomer from Shropshire

Reviewed on 29/07/2019 17:09

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful spot

Just spent a very peaceful weekend at this quiet spot. Friendly owners. Welcome pack, with good walks in the area.

MWood2019

Reviewed on 11/07/2019 19:31

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Weekend away

We spent three nights here with friends, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kim was very friendly and welcoming and provided us with a very useful Information Pack. There are lovely walks straight from the campsite and pub not too far away. The field is level, the facilities are perfectly adequate and it is in a lovely quiet spot. Highly recommended.

Peejay55

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/07/2019 16:15

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Winter break

Very warm welcome from the owners and a perfect spot for a cold week in Dorset. Lots of geese, hens, wild birds on site as well as Kim and Paul's lovely dogs. Would be too tight a squeeze for a big unit but approach and directions were fine. Lots of walks in the area and the coast close by. Loved Beaminster and surrounding villages. This is a site and area we will return to. Thank you Kim and Paul.

JCTWB

Reviewed on 09/02/2018 08:56

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer