Landis Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a place

What a wonderful place to stay such peace and tranquillity ,a wee bit hairy down the narrow lane to the site as having a twin axle and eight foot wide we tended not to have much room for error. But once here you get a warm and wonderful welcoming from the owners the facilities are great for a C L site including a great shower room . Close by the town of Dumfries , but still enough off the beaten track if you just want to chill , probably not ideal for young families as not a lot to do on site . A lovely walk off the site to Airds point across fields for about two miles . Some very interesting antique farm equipment and I must say the most tidiest and well kept farm yard I have ever seen . Will look forward to returning 👍

mariosnr

Reviewed on 15/06/2022 16:40

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a fantastic site

Second time to this site, you could not ask for anything more a good site really makes your holiday Thank you for all your effort to make a pleasant stay will be back

wto

Reviewed on 03/06/2022 16:09

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect stay-in the countryside.

Stayed here for a week and loved every minute,we were surrounded by well kept gardens and everywhere was tidy.The owners are very helpful and approachable and lent me an extension lead when we had a problem with our car.We both loved the bird life around us and watching the bats in the evening flying around the van.There are plenty of walks from the site including down to the Solway and the ruins of new abbey which has a nice cafe at the car park.Defo one of our best sites we have visited and hope to go back again soon.

birdlover

Reviewed on 31/05/2022 14:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous CL - one of the very best

We stayed for two nights to catch our breath between the drive up from the West Country and the beginning of a Highlands & Islands tour. As one of the previous reviewers highlighted, don’t be put off by the half acre description - the pitches are plenty big enough and very discrete with planting to separate them. The site is beautifully laid out and incredibly well kept - as are the facilities (separate WC for the CL, very smart new shower block shared with the commercial site). Colin is a wonderful host - he could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Landis is a working farm (part of its attraction for us) but noise is absolutely minimal - and Colin has a collection of tractors that date back to the 1940’s that are fascinating if you are interested in old machinery and agricultural history. The Estuary walk from the site is lovely - particularly if you take the long way back. The village of New Abbey is a short & pleasant walk away - if you do that walk, don’t miss the opportunity for lunch at Abbey Cottage tea room! In short, Landis Farm is a cut above the rest - by some distance!

JCEaston

Reviewed on 21/05/2022 21:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wow beautiful site

We were greeted by the owners and shown to our spacious pitch. Couldn't stop saying wow. Nicest cl we have stayed on in over 40 yrs of touring. Don't be put off by the half acre description there is loads of room all the pitches are large and surrounded with shrubs and flowers. The wet rooms on the sister site are fabulous and only a couple of minutes away. Lots to see in the area. Anyone who books this or their sister site will not be dissapointed.

Holtrover

Reviewed on 21/05/2022 09:25

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Little Piece of Paradise

This has to be the most picturesque CL we have ever visited! It was beautifully maintained with gorgeous shrubs and so many bird feeders which were very popular. The views from the site were breathtaking and we enjoyed many walks in the area particularly to the Nith estuary and also a nearby loch. The shower and toilet facilities were scrupulously clean and the pitches were a very generous size. We also visited the tea-room in New Abbey which was very charming and sold delicious ice cream. A word of warning though-if you visit the local pub The Abbey Arms - do remember to take some cash as cards are not accepted! We don't normally go back to sites we have already visited as there are so many places to see but we'd definitely return to Landis Farm.

Neil and Lynn

Motorhomer from Tyne & Wear

Reviewed on 17/05/2022 16:39

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful site

A beautiful site, with very approachable owners, each pitch well spaced out and well kept with flowers etc. Excellent shower facilities on neighbouring site. Would highly recommend this CL

Luke and Carolyn

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/05/2022 12:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super CL site

Stayed here for a week end of April 2022. Site is really nice, really well kept with large spread out pitches with lovely flower beds, shrubs, bushes and old farming implements decorating the site. Pitches seemed perfectly level. Toilets and shower block were spotless, well equipped and probably the best we have ever seen on any site we have been to. Shower rooms were huge and the showers hot and powerful. The showers are shared with Criffel View which is a 5 pitch (equally as nice!) private site. Sandra and Colin our hosts made us feel welcome and were very helpful. Great site if you have dogs There are views over to Knochandoch and Criffel. Great dog walking field with a walk down to Airds Point from the site. New Abbey is 10-15 minutes away down a track and a footpath and this opens up walks from the site to Knockandoch / Criffel / Waterloo Monument. Great and very well priced food at the Mabie House Hotel. The Steamboat Inn is also good but the food at the Mabie was just a bit nicer. Apparently the Abbey tearoom is nice but I was walking up a big hill when my wife and friend were there so can't comment Nothing not to like although the pub in the village can be a bit hit and miss although hopefully this will get better in the future We will certainly be coming again

Mister Gee

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/05/2022 20:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Probably the best CL we have stayed on

We had 3 nights here in late April. We didn’t meet the owners but were welcomed by a lovely lad, nephew I think, who showed us our pitch and explained everything. We had a pleasant chat with him during our stay about all things tractor which interest us. The pitches are very well spread out so you feel you are on your own. Good quality hard standing. Our pitch was flat so no chocks. We had a beautiful view of Crieffel hill. Didn’t use the facilities but whole cl very tidy. Lovely walk across tracks and fields to New Abbey with a lovely tea room. Recommend a visit to the old corn mill as well as the abbey. Unfortunately we didn’t have time to walk to the shore but it looked a good route. Pretty much a perfect site and excellent value for those who like peace and quiet with nothing to disturb you except birdsong. Hope to return one day.

Annieb1

Reviewed on 05/05/2022 19:41

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Charming Site

A great little site set in wonderful countryside. Mr and Mrs Carruthers were welcoming and gave us a choice of pitches. The pitches were spacious with electric hook up. The site itself was clean and tidy and quiet. The toilet was in a large outbuilding but was clean and tidy with a generous size wash basin and hot water with paper towels, soap, and waste bin. As the building was large this also served as a general information point with Information Leaflets and Booklets in a closed box. The shower block at the top of the site was modern, heated containing WC, Shower, Information Area, Seat. There were 2 shower rooms one being for Disabled with handrails etc. Again, both were spotlessly clean and tidy. New Abbey is a short distance and has a local shop selling most things and Sweetheart Abbey is worth a visit. Threave Gardens are well worth a visit and the tea room is good. The most local pub is The Steamboat Inn at Carsethorn which serves good pub meals. The RSPB Mersehead site is also worth a visit. Castle Douglas has a good mixture of shops. All in all this is a good site to use as a base to explore the local area and would highly recommend Landis Farm Campsite.

Squirrel W

Campervanner

Reviewed on 15/04/2022 13:38

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer