Leith House

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice but ..

This site is in the perfect location for everything the North Norfolk coast has to offer. Fabulous beaches, numerous attractions and beautiful countryside. Maybe we were unlucky but the owners never came to greet us and we had to visit the farmhouse to pay and didn't see them then. No information given or interaction which was disappointing particularly as we text Andrea about an incident on site for which one would have expected a personal response rather than a text reply. The grass was long and old mowings were left so we were constantly walking soggy grass cuttings into the caravan. It was cut during our visit (of 7 nights) once but not very well as large areas were left and yet more grass to walk into the van. There were good dog walks locally which we found by talking to fellow campers, not from the owners. We were not told of any dog exercise area or given any permission or guidance about access to the orchards. To be honest it all looked like it needed some TLC. Access was good apart from a terrible pot hole on the entrance, so do be aware. It could be a wonderful site but sadly fell a bit short for us, particularly as it cost £20 a night, which would have been fine if it was up to scratch. That said it was quiet and you could walk to the beach, which was approx 2 miles.

ScreenName19619A3EBB

Reviewed on 23/07/2021 19:39

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Forget the negative reviews

Perfect. It's a field with power, water and chemical disposal. It takes five or six units and is quiet and peaceful. If you want more, look elsewhere. Andrea and her husband are welcoming and friendly, although new arrivals would benefit from check-in information. Basically, there's not really any requirement to check-in. You arrive, find yourself a pitch and set up, but there's nothing to tell you that, so it's easy to wander about wondering what to do. Dogs should be on leads but there is an enclosed area of rough pasture where they can be free-run. The plum orchards can be walked too and there are plans to set up a picnic area and provide plum based drinks. The site is perfectly located for exploring the north Norfolk coast. Hunstanton, Brancaster, Wells, Holkham are all within very easy reach and provide some of the best beaches in the country. Brancaster and Holkham in particular are vast and fabulously sandy. Stately homes and good shopping are close too. The Chinese take-away in Burnham Market (2 mins from the site) is great and the prawn balls are the best we've ever had. Contrary to other reviews, this site is perfectly fine for camper vans and smaller motorhomes; there were a couple there during our stay and they had no problems. The grass is regularly cut. This is our new "go-to" site for our future trips to Norfolk

PeteJanCaulfield

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/07/2021 21:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

This Site Is Not Suitable For Motorhomes

This CL is unloved and neglected with grass that is uncomfortably long, due it appears to laziness rather than environmental considerations. The owners do not understand the needs of caravan and motorhome owners and clearly wish to have as little contact as possible with their guests. The site is unsuitable for motorhomes due to the ancient tap connection being a non-standard size. If my husband had not had the ability and resources available to cobble together a makeshift connector it would have been impossible for us to take on water. The owner was surprised when this was pointed out and said that they had not had any problems before, despite us noticing that there is a previous review that mentions the problem (a lesson to read all the reviews carefully before booking perhaps). It’s a shame because the site has the potential to be incredible due to it’s situation and location. All in all a very expensive and disappointing CL.

BessacarrBob

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/06/2021 17:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

No contact with owners

Very disappointed with this site, we had no contact with the owners while we were there. It is a basic field with very long grass which dad been cut some time ago and the cuttings left to be trodden into out caravan, there were also 6 outfits pitched up one night so obviously not sticking to the rule of 5. Great location and could be a lovely site with some TLC.

Spinazzola

Caravanner from Oxfordshire

Reviewed on 21/06/2021 12:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very sad news

I have spent some wonderful holidays here and the site was always very well looked after and Clive was a wonderful host. I noticed some poor reviews and was surprised. I have now learned the very sad news that Clive died in December 2018 and care of the site was only taken over by relatives in autumn 2019. I have been in contact with the new owners who have been very helpful and although I haven't yet been back I have given it 5 stars both in memory of Clive and in the belief that on my next visit it will earn them.

Tokay

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/02/2020 10:28

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very expensive for what you get.

CL set in lovely surroundings and area.. unfortunately felt unloved and uncared for. Basically a field, which is great IF it is well maintained. This isn't. The Chemical waste disposal didn't appear to have ever been cleaned, and when using a CL surely this is a basic requirement? As a motorhome user, access to the fresh water not good, and there did not appear to be anywhere specific to empty waste water On the plus side plenty of room between guests, - however the whole time we were on site there were 6 outfits. Would not return here

Sakers

Reviewed on 12/07/2019 10:17

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Basic CL

Plenty of space here but the grass was long and the field uneven. Fresh water tap requires a larger than usual hose connector. There is a hose in the hedgerow for " rinsing " , no drain and not sure what it's meant for. We had a nice peaceful night but not one of our favourite sites.

Bazzer22

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/05/2019 09:29

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent basic CL in a central location for North Norfolk Coast

Large slightly uneven sloping grassed field with electric points around three sides and mains water by the entrance. Approach down a dirt track offering peace and tranquillity and a superb location for visiting the North Norfolk coast. On our visit the grass was a little long and could prove tricky if wet otherwise an excellent rural basic CL. The two donkeys and free range chickens in the field adjacent were a delight.

PSkynner

Reviewed on 16/05/2019 08:42

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Everything a CL Should be

The site is a large field surrounded by trees with electrical hook up points around the perimeter. Access to Burnham Market is easy about 40 mins walk. Access to local beaches and Holkham Hall also very easy would recommend purchasing a large scale map so that you can identify all footpaths and rights of way. Dressed crab available at the fish shop in Burnham Market but usually sold out early Monday morning but plenty rest of week. Not too certain about the Coasthopper Bus running pat the site we drove to Cley and Morston Church where there are free carparks and used the Coasthopper bus from Wells to Cromer. Site is quiet and the pitches are level, or at least ours was. Use access from Burnham Market then Burnham Overy Town since the road in from Wells involves a very sharp left turn. Look on street view on Google maps and you will see what we mean. Clive is very friendly comes and checks up to see if all is OK in the morning and late afternoon. This is a good base for exploring the North Norfolk coast without being too close to a town major road and associated noise. We will visit again since the journey from White Colne to Burnham Overy makes it suitable for a long weekend of 4 to 5 days. Thanks Clive the site is everything a CL should be.

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely large CL site

Stayed here in August. Easy to find just off the main road from Burnham Market. The site is large with plenty of room between caravans. The grass is a bit long and mole holes and tunnelling a bit of a problem when pegging down the awning. Clive is very friendly and helpful and is always checking that everybody is OK. Burham Market is close and you can walk to the coastal paths from the site. The site is in an excellent position for exploring this part of Norfolk. Would definately come again.

SRMANDMM

Reviewed on 10/10/2017 22:52

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer