Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Inadequate facilities and poor customer service

If you are looking forward to a warm Welsh welcome, you’ll be disappointed. There is no reception and nobody there to welcome you on arrival. The owner and his helper are abrupt and aggressive. We were so upset by the way we were spoken to and how unwelcome we felt that we very nearly turned around and went home. The site has inadequate facilities with just 3 unisex combined toilet/shower cubicles for the whole site – 5 grass (uneven), 12 hard standing and the camping field! These wet rooms have shower curtains which nobody uses and no hand drying facilities. The owner turns up briefly each day before and after his proper job to clean and provide some, but not enough, toilet paper. Facilities for Covid-19 infection control are inadequate, just a small sign on the noticeboard halfway down the site and a bottle of hand gel outside the toilet block. The only good thing about this site is the location in a quiet wooded valley within walking distance of the reservoirs and visitor centre. We are new to touring and no doubt will come across other poor sites but we won’t be returning here.

Reviewed on

1 review

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

hawkswood replied on 29/08/2020 19:59

Posted on 29/08/2020 19:59

Thank you for your review. Yes, we do not currently have a reception but all the relevant information is in your confirmation email (gate, toilet/shower and wifi codes and your location). We do have good news, a reception area will be opening in 2021.

Unfortunately, you had pitched in Elan Oaks and were actually booked onto Llanfadog Fields, which was stated on your confirmation and is sign posted on the site.  Michael did his welcome round and mentioned that you were pitched in the wrong location. Michael was then abruptly told by the gentlemen in the party. "We are not moving!" You then located Joe (the owner), who confirmed that you were in the wrong location. Your abrupt reply was, "We might as well go home!" Joe's reply was, "I don't want to fall out about it." Joe returned to cleaning the shower block, so you could contemplate your intention.

The female in the party then came to take a look at Llanfadog Fields, which was actual booking and said abruptly, "I'm checking to see if it has everything we've paid for!" Then 5-10mins later you moved to the pitch you'd booked and paid for. 

With regard to the facilities, you are correct in the quantity of showers/toilets. We are in the process of expanding the campsite and facilities. These will be available 2021. However, with the Covid-19 pandemic, our website recommends being self-contained within your motorhome/caravan.

The facilities are deep cleaned and replenished three times a day, to a very high standard.

We have returning campers, who are overjoyed with the site, facilities and the beautiful area.  We have been Caravan Club members for 30 years and have enjoyed our time visiting other campsites. 

We do hope you return to our lovely campsite, where a warm welcome will await you.