Llanfendigaid

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice site shame about the location

The site is lovely if a little tired and untidy - work still in progress but the entrance was difficult with building rubbish etc.- and very peaceful but so far from anywhere. We had to walk our dog alongside the road as there was nowhere else to go. Food shopping was a problem as even in Tywyn there is one supermarket Co-op and on the Saturday I visited this there were no potatoes at all to be had and no other source in the town. The roads to get to and from this site was difficult - we had to wait 20 minutes and follow the refuse collection and even when leaving had great difficulty in getting to main roads (most of the A roads are "secondary A Roads"). Meeting a huge Tonka toy 1.7 miles from Dolgellau posed a half hour delay with traffic both behind him and us tailing back and had to reverse - not a lot of happy tourists then. Be prepared - do not expect supermarkets or even food shops to have any selection of goods even in local towns!!

Comment from Club:

Many thanks for leaving a review. We have had a report from a member to advise that there are 3 supermarkets in Tywyn: a Co-op, a Spar and an independent. We hope this helps for future reference and visits. 

 

katanofburbage

Reviewed on 14/09/2014 09:08

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

Spent a week here and found it easy to access around to the rear with plenty of room to pitch.  You book your pitch on their website and communication from Will the owner was very good.  On arrival someone was on our pitch but we spoke to Graham who was very helpful told us where we could go.  The real bonus is the indoor heated swimming pool. Although £20 for the week, it was well worth it as we had the pool to ourselves every day.  Others from the main building apartments used the pool but it was generally empty. The site has lots of room with plenty of space for everyone.  The toilet was clean and quite quirky with no glass in the window and a lovely sea view from the loo! We would visit again as we enjoyed our stay!

Paul147

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 26/08/2014 22:26

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Magic!

This has to be our best campsite ever.  We came for a week just to be still, walk a little, dream a little, and we did that in spades. But there is so much more here. If you are a writer stuck for a story this place has all the drama to give you inspiration. A secret valley with many secrets.  An ancient house with family roots going back to the 13th Century. A close-knit farming community. A single track railway running along the cliff edge with a precipitous cliff path hanging on by its fingernails, and the tiny station where you can catch a train all the way to London if you wave the driver down. Everyone we met had a story to tell and a delight in telling it.  The site alone would have been worth coming for. Set in the shelter of the old walled garden of the big house, the pitches are well spaced, level, and the site comes complete with a hole-in-the-floor loo built over the stream that runs along side. Now restored with all mod cons it still boasts the original wood loo seat, and has a view of the sea to die for. By the way the Club handbook is out of date there is no Martin or Becky managing the place and it would be useful to have a contact number for use in the case of an emergency.  This lack only became apparent as we found ourselves in an emergency with a complete loss of power. It turned out it was no fault of the site and required Scottish Power (in Wales!) to come and repair the cables. But we were left in the dark (literally) as to what the problem was. All in all an experience to be experienced - and we will again, and probably again!

Emarlebe

Reviewed on 07/10/2013 09:57

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a gem!

The pitches are large and well maintained with beautiful views in all directions! The site is in a valley, not affected by the wind which was 30 / 40 MPH during my stay in fact it was a shock how windy it was down beside the sea ! Easy to use booking and web site so all in all I will have to go back !!!!

dogvanman

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/09/2013 17:02

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous location and surroundings.

Had three nights over a long weekend at this CL on the Llanfendigaid Estate and echo everything that motorhomedreamer has said, with the additional note that there is a heated swimming pool which is good for a bit of exercise at the end of the day or for the kids - it is an option at extra cost. The website has also been updated and now shows all the pitch availability, month by month. We will also be back :)

anglefire

Reviewed on 31/07/2013 20:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent LocalPlacesOfInterest

We’ve just had 2 glorious nights at an idyllic Caravan Club CL site within the Llanfendigaid Estate, a couple of miles north of Tywyn(Gwynedd). The site is located in large wooded paddock, opposite one of the estates imposing farmhouses and converted cottages. It’s approximately a one mile easy walk from the site to the Cardigan Bay coastline. The site is quiet, rural and fairly isolated, however within less than 0.9 mile is the small railway station of Tonfanau. The regular passenger trains stopping here allow you access to the Cambrian coastline rail network. With Aberdovery to the south and Barmouth to the north, its a great way to explore this part of Mid Wales. Booking and availability checks for this site can all be conducted online through the owners website. You can even select the actual pitch you want, perhaps something that other CL owners should consider for their websites: http://www.llanfendigaid.co.uk/caravan-club-home.htm They also rent out cottages. The site is grassed, well laid out with 5 x individual pitches set around the paddock and the price of £14pn includes EHU. The location is well sheltered within a natural bowl, aided by trees and boundary walls. A pleasant spot. The CL has a toilet hut and handbasin, (no shower), it looks like an original victorian loo, but updated (basically a plumbed in “Long Drop”), Its basic but clean and probably quite cold and breezy in the winter! Communications from the Llanfendigaid site are poor. With no mobile phone signal in the immediate area, the nearest place to pick up a signal is about half a mile down the lane towards Tonfanau Railway Stn. No DAB either, however all’s not lost, the site owner has fitted WiFi satellite internet and for an additional charge you can make use of that. It’s not cheap at £3 per hour or £9 for the day, but if you’re there for a few days and really need email etc its probably a must. The cost comes down for longer use. So a week will cost £18 total. We managed without it and actually quite enjoyed not being tied to the phone. So to conclude, if you can survive without your mobile being constantly available, crave rural peace and tranquility then this site is definitely worth a visit. For us a combination of the weather and the stunning setting equals a very attractive place to spend a few days. We will be back.

motorhomedreamer

Reviewed on 16/07/2013 17:01

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

sssshhhh dont tell a soul

A truly lovely well thought out site down a lane off the beaten track, like the owner commentated if your going to do a site do a proper one, the pool is a little gem and most of the pitches are on a level and the 5 locations are different superb, oh the loo has a swallows nest in it which is amazing best loo in Wales,also down the lane towards the sea there is plenty of walks for dogs the coastal path leads to Tywyn if you need civilisation,will be back

gocelt20

Motorhomer from Clwyd

Reviewed on 18/06/2013 09:23

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

candidate for c/l site 2013

This site has got everything going to be the top cl site this year, responsible owner and a good team around him, the site is very quiet well maintained and easy to book up and knowing in advance which pitch youve booked we went for the garden pitch.The icing on the cake must be the indoor swimming pool and at £10 is a steal, the water was a sweltering 30deg fired by a wood burning stove very eco friendly. Its easley reached from the main road , it also within reach 20 min walk to the railway station were you can go north or south along the coastal line, we have suggested to william the owner to invest in some bicycles to rent out for his guests , he thought this was a good idea now that a new pedestrian bridge has been built to link up with twywn using the quiet lanes instead of the main road.we also suggested an information board about local tourism spots.

rapooc

Motorhomer from Shropshire

Reviewed on 11/06/2013 18:41

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A truly relaxing weekend

This was our first ever visit to a CL, so we were a little unsure of what to expect. The site was easy to find using the instructions from the club handbook, and access onto the site was very good using the recently built bridge. A sign clearly indicates the location of the different pitches, we used the 'Mill' pitch which gave us a lovely view of the sea. The location is beautiful and a real credit to the owners who have obviously invested a great deal of time and money creating this haven of tranquility. The indoor pool is a real bonus and was always warm and clean when used. The local pub is 2-3 miles away on the road to Tywyn, and served an excellent pint of Doombar and a lamb Sunday lunch to die for! Our daughters 14&11 enjoyed 'King Arthur's Labyrinth' about a 20 minute drive away, as well as watching the dolphins from the beach, a 10 minute walk from the site. Thanks again to the owners and we look forward to our next visit. Kevin,Michele,Chloe and Ellie

ferr250

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/04/2013 06:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our 6 Nights at Llanfendigaid

We had a wonderfull 6 night break on the sea view pitch. Will was very welcoming and gave us advice on local walks and nicest beach. We also spent time travelling the Fairbourne Railway which runs along the sand dunes and beach to the Barmouth Ferry and Tallylyn Railway where we saw beautiful countryside, but didn't have time to do the walks and visit the waterfalls so we will certainly go back for another visit to enjoy seeing more of the places we missed on this occassion. On an evening we were entertain until dark by the young lambs racing across the fields beyond this was the sea with it's ever changing light. Looking forward to visiting this site again in the not too distant future.

Eccles90

Reviewed on 16/04/2013 19:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer