Lodge Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful site

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay & we'll definitely be back. Warm welcome, close to so many places of interest, great walks & so peaceful we couldn't get out of bed in the mornings 😂 highly rrecommend & many thanks to the owners for this great little site 👍

GeoffS

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/05/2022 18:46

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very Pleasant Location

We would stay here again if in the area. The large field allows the pitches to be well spaced and the views are glorious. We are fortunate that the lack of electric hook up is not an issue. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. It is very quiet.

J2GO

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/07/2021 13:54

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil site

We have just come back from staying on this lovely tranquil site, we found the owners were just perfect very helpful and friendly. The site itself was beautifully maintained and was very spacious, the waste and rubbish were easy to access and the information room full of useful ideas of places to go and things to do. We always take our four working collies with us and there was plenty of space and lots of walks from the site for the dogs. We highly recommend this site and will definitely stay here again. So thank you for a lovely stay.

seren3

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/06/2021 21:44

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very peaceful & Lovely site

The site itself is all grass and based on a farm. Lovely surroundings with lovely views and very peaceful. Grass is well cut and all surroundings are very tidy and well looked after. Lovely walks direct from the site. The Alpacas are great! Owners are very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely be back.

Warthill Grange CAMC

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/09/2020 18:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great views, great location

Arrived and was so pleased to have such a spacious area to pitch up, booked for 3 nights but to be honest a week would have been lovely as so relaxing. We visited with our 9 year old daughter who loved the open space and watching the rabbits in the evening! Lots of walks within the 40 acres of the farm. 3 alpacas on site which always made us smile! Water/waste all good and hand sanitiser always available. We visited Barnard castle very nice little town with a Morrison’s which was great to pick up our shopping and also high force waterfalls well worth a visit. Great location for our solar panels as not shaded. We really enjoyed it and the owners are very helpful and friendly. Can’t wait to visit again!

Simontoplismeuk

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/07/2020 20:10

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Curlews, hay and sheep - cracking spot!

Visited in our motorhome post-lockdown and really enjoyed the proximity of the wildlife with flocks of lapwing and oystercatchers circling the neighbouring fields, curlews sitting on fenceposts and lambs in abundance. Site was easy to access, and driving down to the farmyard for water and disposal was easy. Plenty of room on the site which was still a bit soft after recent rain, but simple to find a level spot or use ramps. Great that the owner allows strolls around their farm fields (map in information room). Great welcome, and hand sanitiser at the tap and chemical disposal spot. Cycled to Swaledale and Tan Hill pub over the Stang (tough!). Walked the Greta Way eastwards towards the Tees - good path and signage down the river. Egglestone Abbey worth a look. Unfortunately, the Greta Way westwards towards Bowes from Rutherford Bridge is lamentable with non-existent signage and poor stiles. Walked back from Bowes over the moors - brilliant and a better option.

Bikingdaver

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/07/2020 17:59

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just perfect!

Beautifully peaceful site with friendly and helpful hosts. And who can beat being woken by curlews!

Unshaw

Reviewed on 13/07/2019 15:27

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just right

We booked this CL for a weekend in and around Barnard Castle and the Dales. The site was easy to find off the A66 and easy access into a gently sloping field. As there is no electric hook up we were not constrained by pitches and marker posts, so positioned the van where it would be level side to side and had a lovely view. Drinking water and waste disposal/recycling is down by the farm where there is also a local information shed. We thought this site had just the right mix of 'off grid' but with the facilities needed. The site was well kept and we have already talked about coming back. David and Anna

DKO2

Reviewed on 30/06/2019 18:09

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A warm welcome and a perfect spot

We were warmly welcomed on arrival at Lodge Farm and shown the amenities. Maria and Penny could not have been more helpful and friendly. The water tap, elsan point, information room and bins are all in the farm yard, so we drove our motorhome down there to top up. The CL is a lovely big, spacious field, with the grass cut nice and short, no hook up here so you can just choose your spot. The views from anywhere in the field are outstanding. This is a perfect spot to get away from it all and enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside. We enjoyed the walks near the farm - the river Greta is very close by and there are plenty of footpaths. Barnard Castle is less than ten minutes drive away, and Richmond not much further in the other direction. We would definitely return.

Gillian and Rob

Reviewed on 07/05/2019 17:18

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer