Lower Banks Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for a peaceful break

A small cl with outstanding views. Lovely and quiet. Spacious plots. Very friendly and clean. Thankyou. We will be back.

ScreenName76F9D4354E

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/04/2022 10:35

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning views. Spotless site

A lovely site with both hard standing and grass pitches, all with electric. There are stunning views over the valley below and the hills beyond. Good location with easy access to the local towns or Harewood House with its various activities. The grass is short and well kept and access to the site is good with the entrance at an angle to the road. The waste bins were absolutely spotless! As I described the site to an old friend, he said that it was a lovely site as he'd been there some years before. I'm sure we will return - maybe in the depths of winter to compare the vista to its summer glory.

AlwynMike

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 20:53

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

perfect little site

perfect location for Leeds/Harrogate loads of walking and cycling to do it the area peaceful and gorgeous scenery will definitely be back

zzr upton

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/10/2020 09:57

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent Winter Getaway Site

Our first time at this site. Access to it is straightforward. Up through the village of Huby heading towards Armscliff Crags. The site is the first turning on the left after you leave the village (about 500 yards) then straight down the well maintained farm road leading towards 2 properties. The CL is on the left before either. A little care is needed to get between the posts but you shouldn't really have any problem. Then a slight downhill to one of 5 pitches, on your right if using Hardstanding or on your left if using the grass ones in summer. The grass ones appear to have slightly more room but I don't suppose there would be any objections to using the H/Standing in summer if that's what you wanted. The pitches on both areas slope, on the H/Standing mainly from front to back and on the grass both ways but we actually pitched without having to use any levelling blocks. We didn't erect an awning but the slope and the hard core would probably put you off anyway. It was a good job as we encountered Storm Erik whilst staying. 16 amp EHU points are easily reached. Water, drainage and Elsan are located in one corner of the field, nearest the Farm house, about 100 yards away from the pitches. The owners set out different bins for recycling. The views over the Lower Wharfedale valley and onwards is tremendous, but it does have a downside in gale force winds! There is not much by way of disturbing noise. Whilst Leeds/Bradford airport is only about 8 miles away and aircraft can be heard taking off the airport doesn't seem to have a heavy workload and most traffic is directed away from site. There is no road noise. The owners can be found at the main Farm house near the farm buildings and as it is a working farm you can expect some early morning noise as farmers do not seem the sort to have lie-ins.😋 We met Mrs.Farrar and she was extremely pleasant. No doubt, Mr.Farrar is the same as we made the telephone booking with him. You can walk from site along country lanes. A pleasant 1 mile stroll at most brings you to the Armscliff Crags and a further mile to the village of Stainburn with its pretty church. If you are in a M/Home or do not want ti use your car then Public Transport is available from the main A658 down at the bottom of Huby village. Buses run to either Leeds or Harrogate. There are 2 bus routes but we they seem to run about every hour but fortunately arrive on either the hour or the half hour. There is also a train station at Huby, visible from the bus stop. Access to the locale was easy and close by, with Ilkley, Harrogate, Knaresborough and Leeds all being within 10 miles. It was worth the trip over the Pennines

Wherenext

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/02/2019 20:55

78 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wharfedale Gem

Don't be confused by the Leeds postcode or the entry under Harrogate. This is an ideally located CL for exploring Lower Wharfedale and the surrounding area, as well as being convenient by road or rail to Harrogate, York and Leeds. The peaceful and well kept site is spacious with the choice of hard standing and grass pitches, five of each, all with extensive views over the valley.

Wirral Wanderer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/07/2017 09:39

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic

We stayed at this farm a week ago and spent 12 days there.The site is really well run the views are second to none, hard standing and grass pitches are available .The owner very helpful .

dotderek50

Reviewed on 24/06/2017 10:47

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL, quiet yet convenient location

We booked a midweek stay here at short notice, and there were few other caravanners despite very good reviews which proved accurate. The field seems larger than the 0.75 acres quoted, with just part being set pitches, but there are also several hardstandings higher up, making it a truly all year site. The facilities are of a very good standard, and the whole field is kept beautifully mown. Others have commented on the lovely views, and as mentioned Almscliffe Crag is a short walk away. We also walked to Staincliffe and Weeton, making the most of the sunny September days. The farmhouse itself is easily accessed, and Mrs Farrar was welcoming and helpful.

DavidW50

Reviewed on 08/10/2016 07:44

37 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Home from Home

We love to visit Lower Banks Farm when we can, not far from home and a most peaceful location. Plenty of room on either hard standing or grass dependant on the weather. Lovely views and great for the early morning run which I enjoy. Handy for Harrogate, Otley and the Yorkshire Dales. I have resisted adding a review previously so that we can keep it under wraps. The site is always immaculate and a credit to the owners.

Grimshaws

Reviewed on 16/09/2016 22:13

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Perfect Spot

We arrived here on 8th September 2016, it just so happened to coincide with the most fantastic weather Yorkshire has had for a good while. We had booked for a 4 night stay, (I wish it could have been longer). There is absolutely nothing I could say bad about his site. The Views are "to die for". The owners are very welcoming and friendly, even the walkers that pass by have a "good morning/afternoon" for you. The choice of a hard standing or a grass pitch is yours. We pitched up to take full advantage of the views over the valley. Every morning while eating breakfast we would watch the Red Kites put on a flying display for us. If all the CL's that we intend to visit are anything like this one is, then we will have made the right choice to return to caravanning now that we are retired. Yorkshire at it's best!!. FANTASTIC.

dwandjamartin

Caravanner from Suffolk

Reviewed on 13/09/2016 09:21

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of those truly great little sites.

Hard to find anything negative to say about this site. The views are to die for. It is easy to access many of Yorkshire's attractions. The walking and cycling opportunities are great. All in all, it's a very relaxing site on which to spend a short break. You can even look forward to low level fly pasts by the red kite population at Harewood House.

ArleneH

Reviewed on 01/07/2016 21:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer