Lower Dutson Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely quiet site with fishing and walks

Just returned from a five night stay with our two Jack Russell's. Only travelled 50 miles from home a lovely little gem on our doorstep. Easy to find no access problems a warm welcome from the owner and other guests. Great for the dogs and for us to chill out, did fishing each day. Very central to visit places of interest and Homeleigh Garden Centre food hall was very handy with quality items. What more could you ask for. Hopefully we will be returning very soon.

BellaBear

Caravanner from Cornwall

Reviewed on 28/04/2021 18:14

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best CL we have been to

This CL is exactly what we want, very rural but access to a farm shop and a town in walking distance, and overall the site is magical. We pitched for three nights in a secluded glade with electric hook-up. Views of the sheep in the next field, squirrels and the sound of an owl at night. The toilet is immaculate but basic, just what we expected. The owners are friendly and point out where to walk to see the river Tamar. The lake is lovely to walk around. We will return. Thank you for having us.

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely!

We have just returned from a lovely 6 night stay here. The ground was good despite having wet weather. Very quiet with good dog walks from the site. Although we don't fish, it was popular with fisherman and the lake is lovely to look at.

Cliffg

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 13/10/2019 16:17

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect spot

We were delighted with this CL. We stayed here for 4 nights last week. The owner was very friendly. The facilities are good. There are lots of differently placed EHU outlets so you can pick your placement. The hard standing will take 4 vans but there are grass pitches amongst the trees too. The ground was not muddy. There is a toilet block with one toilet and basin per sex with toilet roll provided. The farm buildings are a distance away and we were not disturbed by machinery. There is a stocked lake for fishing and effort has been made to create different fishing spots around it. We had a lovely time and they were relaxed about leaving times. The toilet disposal point was a good design.There have been running a CL for 50 years and it shows.

lizbird74

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/04/2018 14:00

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful site

Just arrived home from staying at lower Dutson and genuinely feel chilled and refreshed. Lovely site surrounded by countryside with a small fishing lake if required. Easy access from the main road down a track ( which means you are not bothered by vehicle noise) plenty of space for caravans with good drainage (we had a rather wet two weeks). Take good pegs for an awning though as the site used to be a brick works and I think bricks are still under the grass!! Being only 10 mins from the A30 attractions and places to visit are easily reached. If you don't mind walking Bodmin Moor is worth exploring. TV signal is variable, we struggled with satellite due to trees but others have managed, depends on where you pitch. If you like sitting watching wildlife you are in for a treat, we spotted nuthatch, great tit, blue tit, coal tit, robins, greater spotted woodpecker, buzzard, goldfinch, bullfinch alongside the usual rabbits and a squirrel we named Richard. There are walks down to the river Tamar too. The toilets on site are basic but clean. Plenty of hook-ups and the usual water and chemical disposal point. Even though the weather was not great we had a wonderful 2 weeks.

BevnPhil

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 12/08/2017 20:28

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil Site with very good fishing lake

This is a peaceful site with easy access from the road. Just ensure that you pass the farm house and continue down the hill for two or three hundred yard until you see the speed limit sign on the right, then turn right just after it. The new caravan cub sign is in my opinion is small and not in my opinion very visible and is very easy to miss ...do not turn into the farm entrance if you approach from Launceston!! The CL is quiet and the is plenty of choice of where to pitch, some pitches will need levelling blocks. The owner is very welcoming and came to see that every thing was OK when we arrived. The fishing is very good and is popular with locals, the lake holds a variety of fish and some very nice carp, people using the CL receive a reduced day rate. All in all a peaceful and pleasant site not too far from the A30.

Salopianvisitors

Reviewed on 19/07/2017 15:17

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wow!

We only live 15 miles away - but coming here was a total get away! Wonderful site - very nice garden centre nearby - lake - someone caught a 9th carp while we were there. Nice wooded area. Dog was very happy! We will be back!

Davewthebass

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/04/2017 21:03

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Summer2015

We spent two weeks here last August. A gem of a cl.  Fab fishing lovely and peaceful kept my husband and son very entertained and near enough for me to wander to with coffee and bacon butties.  Lovely peaceful site there is a toilet on site but to be honest it's very basic but for the price per night I wouldn't hesitate to go back again. Fab fish and chip shop in town massive portions of chips! Highly recommend this site if you want peace and quiet and fishing. 

Newton4

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/03/2016 13:11

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Idyllic hideaway

We've just returned from a few days at this lovely site about 2 miles from Launceston.  Although the weather was rather grey it was still such a beautiful place. We are not fishing fans but could still appreciate the lovely nearby lake and the River Tamar, approx a 20 minute walk away. The owner was friendly and very helpful. Sure the facilities are basic but they were very clean. We would definitely come back again.

EdandJuls

Reviewed on 08/11/2015 16:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

July 2014

We recently spent 7 days on the site as a base for our holiday and also so I could go fishing. During the time there I caught fish up to 20lb.The site is very quiet.the pitches although spacious are quite pebbly and so rock pegs.  There is just one toilet each for Ladies and Gents and are regularly cleaned. We had a very pleasant and relaxing time on this site and one I have no hesitation in recommending.

Tony2412

Reviewed on 14/08/2014 18:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer