Manor Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful setting

We booked in for two nights and ended up staying for eight. Tim was very welcoming and helped us to park our motorhome so that we could enjoy the views across the pond to the distant hills, also loaning us an extra long cable for the ehu. The gardens are unique and quirky with several interesting items of architectural salvage dotted around, garden seating and summerhouse, all well maintained. The shower and toilet were closed due to Covid but we were self contained so this wasn't a particular issue. We shall probably return at some point.

Coldog

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 03/08/2021 20:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Manor farm

Not a bad cl but not worth £20 a night, also we were watching our family at the castle games so we wanted t stay longer on the Sunday, if u stay after 10.30am u have t pay for another night so another £20. We actually left at 2.30pm so I think £5 extra would have been more like it.

Comment from the Club:
 
The CL owner has been in touch to advise that the extra charge was for late departure at 4pm and to also cover the 2 extra cars on their site as you had 3 cars in total. We hope this helps clear up any confusion over fees and thank you for your review. 

Hatton53

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/06/2021 18:12

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Stunning!

I'll keep it short.... Probably the best C.L we have ever stayed at, beautiful gardens, a wonderful host and a great location! Tim was a wonderful host, the gardens were quite simply beautiful and we were lucky enough to be south facing so the gorgeous autumn sunsets were magical Only one major problem, we had to come home!!!!! Thanks Tim... Glen & Niki

Carpo325

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/09/2020 19:07

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and Tranquility

We have just returned from a lovely long bank holiday weekend on this site. Tim was attentive during the booking process and pre-arrival. Tim, Ivor and Jan gave a warm welcome, and were available if required, without being intrusive. The site is surrounded by open fields and the owners beautiful, expansive gardens, which are open to explore, and sit and relax, read and enjoy the tranquillity. A large field was made available to exercise our dogs, but they got most exercise on the Bickerton, Bulkeley and Peckforton Hills which are easily accessible from the site. We didn’t want to leave and we will definitely be returning.

MazandDave

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 03/09/2020 12:36

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful surroundings, very peaceful site.

A wonderful warm welcome from Ivor was a great start to our long weekend. Beautiful surroundings and gardens and great to have somewhere to let the dog off the lead. Both Tim and Ivor were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Great location for some fabulous walks around Peckforton Castle which is only a few minutes drive away. We will be back and would recommend this site to anyone looking for a bit of peace and quiet in a lovely setting. Thank you.

Ratty3016

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/08/2020 15:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not for us this one

We ready the reviews before booking, first time out in the van this year and wanted to make sure everything was ok and we could remember how to use the equipment. On arrival Tim came and show us the pitch, very tight entrance / Exit not much room for error, once on the field again with 3 other caravans already on pitches you don’t have much room to get on the pitch. Water tap is an issue where it’s located no good for motor homes with hose filling. Recycling was a dirty unkept area, with Coved 19 this area needs sorting. WC and Shower are two sheds we never use them. TV reception poor. We had heavy rain Whilst there and the central area was water logged, Told to park in the car park and walk to your van. Gardens nice but could be a lot better, as could be said for the caravan site, work put in on the B and B side and caravan site let go, not worth the £15 per night price tag. It a shame as the site could be nice, very convenient for the surrounding area. We won’t be returning and couldn’t recommend this site.

Pops 56

Motorhomer from Lancashire

Reviewed on 26/08/2020 17:10

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great CL

A friendly warm welcome on arrival. We didn’t have any contact with Tim and Ivor after that but I’m sure that they would have been helpful had we had any problems. The CL is adjacent to the most beautiful, large garden with a wild life pond which members have access to. The site has a wide wildlife boundary on one side and pastoral fields and the pond on two sides. The site grass is well kept. Services are a short walk but easily accessible. We were there for ten nights; on our first weekend all five pitches were in use and it felt a bit crowded. Possibly because the pitches seem quite close to one another? For the rest of the stay it was perfect. A lovely quiet location set in beautiful countryside. We found plenty to do over the ten days we stayed there.

Tynwain

Reviewed on 21/08/2020 12:42

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delightful!

Our second visit to this CL. We couldn't wait to get back following Covid lockdown. We feel privileged that we are able to explore the owners glorious gardens with many very special, quiet and private sitting-out areas. Take time out to enjoy all these 'extras' which really do enhance a visit to this beautifully maintained CL. Whilst there, don't miss a visit to the Chalmondeley Arms only a few minutes drive away. We hope to be back to Manor Farm CL in the not too distant future!

johnwilkin2000

Reviewed on 09/07/2020 17:02

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

chill out time

What a beautiful site! Just returned from a long weekend here. Not far off the A49 to get to it but enough to be away from noisy traffic. Timothy and Ivan made us feel very welcome. WC and shower were a great extra for a CL and very clean and shower instantly hot. Pitch was level hardstanding with decent access for our 4 berth down a gravel driveway. We have no motor mover but had no problem pitching. Site was full while we stayed and obviously popular. Loved strolling with our dogs around the fantastic gardens with lavender and fruit trees you have to see to believe.A small fishing pond is tranquil and a good spot to relax on the bench. A family of moorhens inhabit the pond and they have a dove cote full of beautiful white doves. We also saw goldcrests while we walked in the gardens. There are bullocks in the field at the back of the site but apart from the mooing were no problem. We walked the dogs down the lanes locally which only get the occassional tractor coming through. We were amused by the robot lawn mowers which look like mini Bugatti Veyrons, the dogs weren't so sure! Water suppy,bins and WC waste just across the lawn near shower/WC. Great spot for nipping over one border to Wales and the other into Shropshire. We explored Malpas,Llangollen, Whitchurch and Market Drayton. All in all a peaceful weekend break. We will definitely return.

tipsyhedgehog

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/10/2018 19:39

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

GREAT CL.

We have been to Manor farm several times over the past couple of years and have just returned from another great weekend. The owners and very welcoming and the CL is in a really quiet and peaceful location. The gardens are wonderful and the CL is very well maintained. There is ample space for caravans to park and there is a large grassed area where you can also park, should you choose when the weather is dry. The toilet and shower are both clean and tidy and well maintained. This CL is close to the Cholmondeley Arms out which has a great menu, great selection of drinks and the manager even gave us a lift back to the CL on Saturday evening. Definitely worth a visit. The CL is also away from any sources of light pollution and as we discovered on Thursday evening when the sky is clear you have an amazing view of the stars and moon. Overall a great stay and we plan to return again very soon. Many Thanks!

timdevine

Reviewed on 09/09/2018 16:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer