Meadow View Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

I stayed for 2 days at this lovely site this week. The site was really clean and tidy with great recycling facilities. I was so surprised to find such a gorgeous little farm tucked away from everywhere...You really could be anywhere in the country... I was welcomed and given the relevant information that I need to go on some amazing walks in the surrounding area... Cossington nature reserve and my favourite place Watermead Park. If you have dogs is a great location. I am looking forward to staying again.

Louise 1964

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/07/2019 13:59

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pocket of tranquility

What a little gem of a site. Immaculately clean and tidy. Owners sooooo friendly and helpful and love a good chat, brilliant when you camp on your own! Very secure site so you feel safe at night. Village centre is a 15 minute walk and has everything you need. Nature reserve 5 minutes walk away, muddy as hell in parts but beautiful as well. Well done guys, I’ll be back!!

Ali Insley

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/05/2019 13:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

April 2019

One of the best c.l's we stayed on. Well kept,tidy and clean. The owners gave us a very warm welcome. Entrance gate with key code so felt very safe. I was even aloud to bottle feed a prem.lamb.

masterclass

Reviewed on 06/05/2019 15:53

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent stay

My two children and I stayed last week for two days. We were immediately made to feel very welcome with clear instructions of where everything was. After a long journey we went out for a walk around the nature trail, which was very easy to find and navigate around. It was a little wet though, and I would definitely recommend taking boots for the walk. The site is very child friendly, with a good range of animals for them to watch and feed. This kept my 7 year old entertained for quite a while. We chose Meadow View Farm as we wanted to go to the National Space Centre, which is only 15mins drive away. Parking at the space centre is easy with a motorhome, as they have a dedicated coach park where we were instructed to park. The owners of Meadow View Farm are very friendly, and I definitely recommend a visit.

DuncanReynolds

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/04/2018 19:54

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A nice place to stay.

A nice site with a good welcome. We only stayed one night after taking our daughter to University, but we enjoyed our stay. It delivered what was promised and felt pleasant.

howardmarch

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/09/2016 19:12

4 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Overall a nice CL

Having visited family in Oxfordshire we decided to see if we could book in for one night on our return home. Dealing over the phone with Lynne was easy and friendly. On arrival, as others have said, (and Lynne did tell us over the phone) access is not difficult but you do need a wide swing in to the drive. We we greeted by Mr Cutler who was warm and welcoming and gave the available options for us to choose from. Pitches are generous and the metered electric works really well as £1.00 goes much further than you would believe. We pitched overlooking the fields and it was lovely to watch the sheep and lambs in the far field and the horses in the near field. Our dog was entertained greatly sat there watching them all. Please note that the following will NOT affect everyone and this is a Gem of a site so if what I now write doesn't affect you then don't hesitate to check out this site because it is lovely. However, on the subject of dogs we were a little disappointed. Our dog is not a problem at all but out of respect for other people we ALWAYS keep her tethered or on a lead when on a site. Past experiences with 'off-lead' dogs have meant that we try to pitch in such a way that she cannot see other dogs so easily as she is quite excitable and becomes distracted; and we don't particularly enjoy other peoples dogs wandering around our pitch with no-one supervising them. This makes for a less relaxing time for us and our dog. Here though the resident dogs (3 that we saw) were allowed to run free and this wasn't limited to the farm but also throughout the caravan site. This meant that whilst sat outside our van the dogs would roam around our pitch and one fouled the site yards from where we were, with no-one around to clear up after it. As I expressed before this might not be an issue to everyone and that is great if it's not- however, I thought I would mention it because it may be that some of you out there are similar minded to us and prefer sites with tighter rules on roaming dogs?  So, Overall a lovely site with very friendly owners, nice views, peaceful and very reasonably priced. If we didn't have issues with dogs off-lead, would we return? Possibly, BUT we do have issues so as things stand we wouldn't return. Shame really as it is a lovely site.

Pazzachel

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 12/04/2015 16:12

9 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Lovely Weekend Visit

We chose this CL to visit our son who is at university in Loughborough. We arrived in the dark but had been warned when booking to take a wide swing into the driveway so had no problems. We were met at the gate by Mr Cutler who was very friendly and explained where everything was. He recommended the local pub and even phoned them to see if they could fit the five of us in on the Saturday night. The site itself is a level grass field with views of the animals in the fields. It was wet but not churned up or muddy. There is plenty of room between the vans and we were told to pitch any way we preferred. Electricity is metered but we only used a couple of pounds all weekend even using the heating. There are plenty of walks in the area,and we visited Bradgate Park which was free to walk round just pay to park. There are shops within walking or short drive and we spent a great evening in the local pub in Cossington where even the dog was welcome. We were surprised at how much there is to do in the area and we will defiantly use this site again. 

52 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely CL

We agree with all that Terry and Anna said.  It is a lovely CL, we also got a warm welcome and will go there again if we are in the area.

Jawans

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/07/2014 12:00

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb little CL

We can advise all interested caravaner's with a large outfit that we found access to the site from the road tight by absolutely no problem. We received a very warm welcome on arrival and were guided to our pitch.  The scenery is superb, with chickens, ducks, ponies, pigs and sheep on the farm which were a pleasure to see.  There are plenty of walks from the site and the shops are not far away, whether you drive or walk there. The local pub does an excellent steak & bottle of wine for 2 for only £20 and was only a lovely 15 minute walk away. Thank you Snowy and Lynne for such a relaxing, peaceful time, we will definitely return in the near future.

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Its called "Meadow View Farm" for a reason...

November 2013      As you make your way down a rather intimidating drive that threads between suburban houses, you wonder why this CL is called Meadow View Farm.  When the severe-looking gates open electronically you find yourself…. well… in a farm.  And after you have been directed to a pitch that overlooks a meadow it all becomes clear. If (like me) you had one of those Britain’s farms in 1958… you know, the ones with the lead animals… you’ll feel right at home.  OK the farmer didn’t wear a smock and didn’t carry a pitchfork, but I was transported back to my childhood. We were greeted, on arrival, by pigs (safely on the other side of a fence) and we woke the next morning to the sight of all types of sheep.  Later on there were tiny little horses (they only came up to my belly button) and the greenhouse was full of turkeys.  Given that it was 5 weeks before Christmas the birds did look a bit down in the beak. The very spacious pitches are dead flat – no need for blocks – and even when wet, there is enough grip for manoeuvring with front-wheel-drive.  No need for one of those expensive jeepy things.   The electricity is provided via a coin meter (so take a couple of quids with you) but even in temperatures of -1 Celsius we heated by electricity and spent less than £2 per day…. So no rip-off here! The caravan site was in an old orchard and we were invited to compete with the horses and pigs for the apples.  So we harvested a dozen at no extra charge…  and very nice they were too! TV reception was a bit ropey on my 2nd hand telly… and the phone signal (3 and Vodaphone) was good enough for texts and calls but a bit slow on the interweb. Do you need groceries? Turning left out of the farm takes you (3 mins by car) to a Tesco Express which is worth passing… because you then arrive at Costcutter which is better, bigger, cleaner and (I think) cheaper. I was only in Loughborough for a couple of days to attend a family gathering, so I will probably never go back to this site… which is a shame. And that rather intimidating driveway…? if you have a biggish van and you're turning left into the drive, take it slow.  Once you get past the drive, it's worth the effort.

Vernon

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/11/2013 00:14

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer