Mill Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely small campsite

I stayed at this campsite for 3 nights in September 2021. It is such a nice campsite with 5 pitches cut out in the high grass. Not completely flat but with some manoeuvring very manageable. Lovely view towards the river over a field with horses. Only one toilet and shower but everything was functioning and clean and well thought out. I didn't meet Deenie as she was on holiday herself but we had some telephone contact beforehand due to problems with my campervan and she was lovely and understanding. Instead I had some great chats with Nigel who took the money as well. Lots of information about Mill and site available including a description of a very nice walk to West Stow. Beware, at the end of the path through the Culford School Park the gates are locked. Therefore, just before, go either right, to enter West Stow opposite the church (and go on to West Stow Anglo Saxon Village) or go left around the lake to take a short cut through the woods back to Little Farm and then on to the campsite the way you came. In Henshaw village (10 mins walk) there's a regular bus service 355 to the centre of Bury St Edmunds where I took part in a very interesting guided walk. Would have loved to stay longer and will come back.

JGH

Campervanner

Reviewed on 04/12/2021 15:20

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful secluded site

We stayed at Mill Farm for five nights during the last week of October 2020. Well what a lovely site, it was so tranquil we didn't want to leave. We where surrounded by horses munching away and we counted twelve Little Egrets in the fields keeping the horses company. We did see a hare on the first morning and numerous pheasants too. Deenie was delightful and suggested several places to visit, so we managed Bury St Edmund's Cathedral, The Abbey Gardens, Lavenham and Long Medford, Lackford Nature Reserve and West Stow Anglo-Saxon Village. Although we had wet weather the pitches were not water logged as they were drained by the light sandy soil, EHU, water and waste were great. For most of the week we were there on our own on site so it was heavenly to sit and watch the dusk fall and hear owls in the distance. Thank you to Deenie and Philip for letting us share their home for just a short while.

Pete and Thelma

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/11/2020 15:21

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great find for Hengrave Hall

We stayed at Mill Farm for three nights in August 2019 for a wedding (not mine) at Hengrave Hall, which is only a few minutes drive away and really glad we stayed at the farm. If you travel using the A14, it is really easy to get too and the site is actually sign posted from the A1101. Access to the site is easy and identifiable by looking out for the yellow plough. The owners allocate the pitches and these are displayed on a chalk board which is visible upon entry. The pitches have plenty of space and each of an EHU hookup. We where on pitch two and was slightly slopping but nothing a ramp couldn't solve. Although it is a working farm, it is very peaceful and the pitches have a view of the horses. The toilet and shower facilities are clean and modern and there are plenty of leaflets for local places to visit as well as a folder containing information and history of the farm. After settling in, we where met bye Deenie who was nice and friendly and collected our payment, £45 for three nights is really good :-). We are a couple of meals at The Three Kings which was no more than 5 minutes drive away in Fornham All Saints and is also dog friendly and served fantastic food. We hope to visit the again so we can see more of the picturesque area and hopefully have a walk along the river.

davidsparry

Trailertenter

Reviewed on 08/08/2019 17:01

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The ideal si

The ideal site for a relaxing break. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay over Easter.

linjeflyg

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/04/2019 12:15

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The ideal si

The ideal site for a relaxing break. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay over Easter.

linjeflyg

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/04/2019 12:15

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The ideal si

The ideal site for a relaxing break. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay over Easter.

linjeflyg

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/04/2019 12:15

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The ideal si

The ideal site for a relaxing break. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay over Easter.

linjeflyg

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/04/2019 12:15

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful site conveniently close to Bury St Edmunds

Had a wonderful two night stop at Mill Farm with unusually good weather for late September. The owners are very friendly and the site is clean and well kept set among beautiful scenery. I've created another of my CL videos which can give a much better impression of how nice this site is. Feel free to watch it here and give it a thumbs up if you like it.- https://youtu.be/TuOBfTCeyCQ

DavyVan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/10/2018 08:46

29 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just what we were looking for !

Peaceful, pleasant site, pretty part of the world. Always something to watch, early one morning in the same field, we saw two foxes, muntjac passing through, three rabbits, three woodpeckers . Horses in other fields, and many birds. Bury St Edmunds , close by, worth a visit. Thank you Deenie and Philip for a brilliant week, see you next year

Reviewed on 20/08/2018 20:26

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Perfect

This is a lovely peaceful small site on a beautiful farm, down a dead-end lane. It has everything you might want - a free shower with plenty of hot water, a loo, plenty of room between caravans and a lovely circular dog walk along by the river which takes about 15 minutes. There is a bus stop in Hengrave, which takes about 5 minutes to walk to from the farm, with buses every half hour or so to Bury St Edmunds and beyond - I'm not sure where the bus goes in the other direction. There's plenty to do in the area. We spent a day touring the 'Wool Towns' including Lavenham and Clare which are absolutely beautiful, a day at the amazing Sutton Hoo and Framlingham (magnificent castle and location of the wonderful TV series 'The Directorists'), a day in Bury St Edmunds on market day, amongst other days out. As we have two dogs we booked a recommended dog sitter for one day at her home just outside Bury St Edmunds so we could visit a few places without being hindered by the dogs. There's a pub within a couple of miles - the Three Kings -but not really walkable. Highly recommended.

Country Bumpkin

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 14/07/2018 11:59

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer