Moorland Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very friendly owners

We were greeted here by bith Jane and Steve in turn. They both made sure we were happy with our pitch and knew where all the amenities were. We have given the tranquillity scoring as 5 as we didnt think it fair to penalise them for the disturbance of the work being done on the site. Our pitch was right alongside a wildlife lake and we had a very peaceful evening. On our departure both came to wish us farewell and a safe journey home. Heather and Steve Heaven

ScreenName84A3454441

Campervanner

Reviewed on 13/11/2021 11:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Autumn peace and quiet

A very tranquil spot for an autumn break. Welcomed on arrival by Jane and Steve, shown around and offered a choice of pitches. Very helpful about the local area and even provided a map for a walk on the West Mendip Way. Well worth the effort! Basic facilities but adequate, comprehensive recycling. Lovely walking area too and of course fishing on site. Do not try and access the village with your caravan, it is extremely tight with a sharp turn to negotiate, bad enough with just the car. Follow the directions given! We will return in the spring time.

Lorayne

Reviewed on 26/10/2021 17:34

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

7dogs husband can't count

We have just returned from a great long stay loved every minute of it so relaxing no traffic very. cleansite made welcome on arrival great views over the ponds nice dog walk left alone but always around if you need anything definitely will be returning next time I will pack the rods

markkim

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/10/2021 13:39

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A wonderful and peaceful site and one to return to. 👍

Just returned from a 6 night stay and with the exception of the journey down there we enjoyed every moment of our stay. You need to make sure that you follow the instructions from the website for the last couple of miles and not trust you sat nav or it will take you in to the village and try to get you to go down Church Street which would be a nightmare if attempted. Anyhow the review is about Moorland Farm and not my journey there🤦‍♂️🤣 The site is spacious with all grass pitches and well kept, beautifully situated between two ponds, both of which are full of wildlife, water lilies and other plants. We were met upon arrival by Jane who showed us to our pitch and allowed us to position the van anyway we wanted, we chose to have our awning facing the pond, which was a great spot to sit and have lunch and watch the ducks go by. Both Jane and Steve were around most of the day, so you could always catch them for a friendly chat or advice on where to go in the area. The toilets and shower were basic, but always kept clean and tidy and the paper towel bin was emptied on a regular basis. We hope to return again in the not too distant future.

Craig Burton

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/08/2021 19:58

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful CL, it’s now on our list 😲

Just spent a week here, & left the Van for 3 days prior as we were elsewhere. All our needs were met re security & our bikes were even locked up in the garage. A wonderfully tranquil site with lots of space. With 2 fishing lakes it had lots of wildlife to watch, even though fishing isn’t for us. Lots of walking & cycling options nearby, whatever your level of stamina! Jane & Steve made us feel very welcome & relaxed, & they regularly were around for just a chat & local information. One of the best CL’s we’ve stayed at & will definitely be returning, thank you. Tina & John Sherwood

John Sherwood

Reviewed on 22/07/2021 19:57

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a great site

We have just spent 6 nights on this beautiful tranquil site, from arrival to leaving you could not ask for better wardens, Jane greets you on arrival takes you too your pitch explains where everything is. We got all set up & had the most peaceful week we could have had😊 Manage to see the Kingfisher flying by the lakes & the beautiful morhens with there chicks so cute. Steve enjoyed having a few hours fishing. We will definitely be returning to this lovely site it’s in my top two now. Ps there is plenty of room on your pitches. Best wishes Gill & Steve Barnes (tea-shirt lady)

gillybean17

Reviewed on 16/07/2021 16:29

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Small CL

We stayed here for one night on our way home from Dorset. We received a very warm welcome from owner Jane. The approach road to the site if you follow the directions in the handbook are narrow, but there are plenty of passing places. The site is kept mown and clippings collected, and is mainly flat, which makes setting up easy for caravans and Motorhomes. The CL is situated between two ponds with water lilies, coots and a duck, and there are fish in the ponds. A tranquil site, although quite small. Caravans seemed to have to park their cars in a separate car park. There were five on the CL, but there are several nooks and crannies where there were several other touring vans sited. There is also a static van on the CL. There are toilets and showers provided. However, we didn’t use them due to the pandemic situation. Overall a nice CL, but did feel a bit crowded with other vans sited at the property.

17 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful site to enjoy fascinating flora and fauna.

A gorgeous site with everything to enjoy relaxing with nature at your feet, literally. After the slightly nerve -racking journey down extremely narrow road we arrived at Moorlands and shown by the very friendly Jane to an idealic spot to pitch up. We have loved the diversity of plants and wildlife from the most amazing array of dragonflies, long-tailed tits, kingfisher,etc, etc. As a keen wildflower lover I have added two new species to my photographic collection, Rose of Peru or Shoo Fly and Celery Leafed Buttercup. Steve has been very infirmative and helpful about the fishing but unfortunately for my partner the fish were elusive despite his best efforts and variety of baits. After a very noisy site near Taunton this has been sheer heaven. We hope to come again next year.

Ruth Orpen

Reviewed on 21/09/2020 07:52

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

Had a fantastic 7 night stay mid July. Met by Jane and shown a perfect pitch with views over one of the lakes, soon we had a lovely cup of tea as we set up. The site is very well maintained. The weather was perfect and we appreciated the sunsets over the lake as well as the cooling breeze. The dogs loved the walk around the lake. There are plenty of supermarkets that are easily accessible when you head towards Weston-Super-Mare. Bristol, Cheddar Gorge and Wells are easily to drive to to name a few. We would highly recommend this site.

peterjohn10

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/09/2019 13:10

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best site we have stayed at!!

Truly superb site! We stayed for two nights, and plan to go back for a longer stay. Jane gave us a warm welcome, offered us a cuppa and showed us where all the facilities were. Great facilities, which were kept clean at all times. Jane was always around to help us with anything we needed, without being intrusive. When we were out for the day and it rained, she kindly saved our chairs and dog beds from getting wet! Lovely person to have a chat with! Jane's husband showed me to all the best spots to look out for wildlife, and they have a great variety! I got to see a Kingfisher!! The site is extremely peaceful, quiet and relaxing, though we are not into fishing, it was so nice enjoying a cup of coffee looking over the lakes. The site is also in a great location, with so much to explore. Sonia and Tim, Roger and Moneypenny

ACMilan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/08/2019 20:25

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer