New Barns Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Blissfully peaceful

This must be the most peaceful site we've stayed at. Waking up in the morning and going to bed at night, the sound of birdsong was beautiful. We will definitely return for another chance to tour the delights of Kent. The site provides for the basic needs of a caravanner, without all the bells and whistles that alternatives may have to offer. Exactly what we needed, but possibly not for those with small children expecting playground facilities. The pitches are flat and easy to get into with services for water, electricity and grey water disposal at hand. Access from the major roads was no problem and the owners were a delight to talk to and provided us with lots of useful information about the area. It's an excellent situation for reaching the south coast beaches, Canterbury and the houses and countryside of central Kent. What more can you ask for from a CL.

Freewheeling Smiths

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/08/2021 17:16

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another lovely peaceful break

We have just had 5 days at this lovely peaceful cl site. The area is very rural despite being easily accessible to many areas of interest. Electrical hook up and water available, with the extra advantage of a wash block. The owners, and their dogs, are delightful and very welcoming and happy to share information of pubs, shops and places to visit. I’m sure we shall be visiting again, to go to the places we haven’t been able to get to yet.

Bilberries

Reviewed on 11/05/2021 20:54

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

new barn farm review

We have spent another great weekend and can highly recommend if you are looking for a quiet well kept site with plenty of walks . Our hosts made us very welcome as usual and we had a great weekend for family and a bbq. An added amenity of a toilet and shower are most welcome. We have been going here for 2 years and are never disappointed.

Eve austin

Reviewed on 30/05/2019 11:37

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Run down but peaceful

Arrived to find that the field was empty, so had the pick of pitches. Electric and water available. However, the grass had not been cut for ages. The toilets and showers were not clean, although worked fine. The chemical disposal point was totally full and blocked and did not smell good. The owners dogs were able to roam on the field, which was fine, it is their home. However, the dogs messed in the field and this was not cleared up. Disappointed overall, especially as the site had received 5 star reviews overall on the clubs review page.

Comment from the Club:

Many thanks for your review. The CL owner has been in touch as he was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy the site. He was actually unwell towards the end of last year however the site is now being maintained to the normal high standards. 

GrahamAndSueP

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/10/2018 21:52

11 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Some upgrades required

Access from the B2160 along Lucks Lane is not encouraging - the lane is narrow, bumpy and surprisingly busy. The turn into the site again does not give a good impression, leading past some very shabby old industrial/agricultural buildings. The CL field itself is quite spacious with marked pitches and a row of hook-up bollards. There is a Portacabin containing a shower, basins and wc's which is adequate but not luxurious. Curiously I could not find any chemical toilet emptying point other than in the wc's. A tap for rinsing is outside the portacabin. However, I have seen worse. David, the owner, explained that he had been ill and appologised the facilities were not up to usual standards. The grass on the site was a bit longer than ideal, meaning wet feet. An interesting feature of the site was that a pair of Little Owls nest/roost in the trees nearby. We used the site as a base to visit several NT properties - Old Soar Barn, Ightham Mote, Knole and Chartwell. Had we had longer there were numerous other properties we could have easily visited from our base at New Barns. Overall, other than the wonderful NT places, we found the towns and villages in this part of Kent rather unattractive and lacking any scenic charm, but this is a very subjective view.

johnosh

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/10/2018 23:21

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

nice quiet site

Visited this quiet site in July for six nights during the heat wave had a great stay,the trees surrounding the site gave great shade when needed,site is nice and tidy,big pitches plenty of room.Toilets and shower are very clean and easily accessed all be up three steps.two little sheltie dogs come to greet every arrival but are very friendly got on well with our jack russel.David and Everlie the owners are very pleasant and helpful and do not interfere in any way.We are hoping to return in September to continue exploring the area.

sallystan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/07/2018 13:00

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

BASIC CL - WOULD RETURN

Stayed in March. Suited our needs perfectly we are out and about during the day, this was a good quiet place to pitch up at nights. Toilet and shower were fine - always a bonus on a CL. Pitches are well marked and not crowded. Had no contact with owner, we arrived and chose an empty pitch. Had to actively find the owner to pay! Slight issue with owners dogs in the field, as our dog is not over-friendly when on the lead, however it is their home, we just had to keep a lookout for them! Despite the small issues I would stay here again. Great place for visiting some lovely National Trust properties.

DaveSueS

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/06/2018 15:40

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wet Wet Wet

Booked the site OK but two days before arrival, advised by owners that the site was very wet. Not surprising after the dreadful spring!. On arrival we were offered a small part hardstanding area outside the field usually used. Electric and water still close by so no problems. Owner was very helpful and welcoming but indicated the field was just too soft and wet to use. Toilet and shower was in this field so it meant wet feet on every visit. Stayed two nights visiting the area. Although we did not use the proper field, it looked to be great with plenty of room so I endorse the other reviews.

Octavius

Reviewed on 16/04/2018 09:28

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a find.

Arrived after travelling from North Yorkshire found the site easily from directions in handbook, the facilities on site were as good as any CL I have been to and better than some.Very good location for touring the County of Kent.The site was very quiet and peaceful considering the pace of life that would appear to be the norm down in this part of the country.We will visit this site again when in the area and thank David Turpin for the stay which was very nice.

alanlad

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/06/2017 19:56

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and tranquillity

This was our first time out in our caravan and we couldn't have chosen a better place. It is easy to get too and not far from paddock wood village where you will find Waitrose to stock up and other local shops. We didn't arrive until around 7 pm so didn't meet the owner until the following morning, however he was a very lovely gentleman warm and friendly and loved talking to the children. The site is flat with good TVs and mobile signal should you need it and good for walking dogs. As stated we had children with us and they had lots of fun. There is a shed full of bikes scooters etc all for your use together with a good old tyre on a rope swing hanging from a tree and all in sight. Really lovely place with a lovely owner too would definitely recommend and would definitely return. Thank you

rdchippy

Reviewed on 13/05/2017 10:08

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer