Newhaven Lodge Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ideally Situated for exploring local areas

We thoroughly enjoyed the five nights we have just spent at Newhaven Lodge Farm. It was ideally situated for the particular places we wanted to explore and walk. There are so many, that we will return at some point to explore further. We were made most welcome by the family who own it and we loved the peaceful outlook and space.

Dale Jones

Reviewed on 28/07/2023 13:37

16 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for the trails

Lovely site £20/night hard standing, EHU , and Elsan. Directly on the High Peak Trail, 0.5 mile to the junction with the Tissington. 4.5 miles from the Buxton end of the High Peak trail, downhill to Ashbourne, gentle steady climb back home. Half a mile from the Jug and Glass inn 😁 And Free good quality WiFi !

Andfie

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/02/2023 14:24

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliantly located for walkers and Cyclists

As described by other reviewers this site has perfect access for walkers and cyclists to both the High Peak Trail and the Tissington line. Amazing scenery with views of the Arbor Low stone circles and farm lands. Close to Harrington and the surrounding stunning walks. A little bit of traffic noise but not over bearing. Sat Nav missed the turning even with GPS coordinates programmed so read the owners directions carefully. Slightly uneven site but nothing that can't be sorted put with your level blocks. Overall great site and would come back if in the area again.

BNSmith1966

Reviewed on 29/09/2022 12:42

29 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect

A fantastic C/L and a warm welcome on arrival, absolutely perfect for walkers and cyclist, Great views from the site and plenty of space between each pitch, Newly installed WiFi is a great bonus and only £18 with EHU this is a not to be missed site Can highly recommend for the getaway weekend Looking forward to returning very soon

ScreenNameCDDD557A6A

Campervanner

Reviewed on 14/09/2022 12:49

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning location

Our second visit to this site. It really is a stunning location and access to the High Peak and Tissington cycle trails couldn't be more perfect. Yes there is traffic noise, which we don't usually tolerate, but it really didn't bother us as the location and surroundings more than compensated. Since our last visit wi fi has been added and is included in the £18 site fee. We didn't find the site to be cramped, infact compared to other sites we have visited recently we thought it was spacious and beautifully laid out. Can't wait to return!

cyclingcampers

Campervanner

Reviewed on 25/08/2022 19:46

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Caravan June 2022

Nice site although a little more cramped than we have been used to since covid. Lots of places to visit, great scenery & we enjoyed the immediate access to the High Peak trail for walking / cycling. We could not get any sort of wi-fi access at the site which was annoying but the owner is working on this & wi-fi may be available shortly. We found the road noise quite intrusive especially motor-bikes going at great speed.

StephSurrey

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/07/2022 17:56

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site for cycling

If you are looking for great access to the cycling trails then look no further! This site has direct access to the High Peak trail which in turn is only a five minute cycle from the Tissington trail. There are two hardstandings. There were several grass pitches not in use during the winter months but looked to be excellent. The electric hook up was fine. There were two drinking water taps. The CDP was adequate. There is some traffic noise. The views are great. We booked by telephone and paid by BACS transfer. Email communication was good. We didn't actually meet the owners which is not a problem to us. All very efficient. We will return to this site.

cyclingcampers

Campervanner

Reviewed on 20/03/2022 22:39

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great little site, fabulous walking

Lovely location in the heart of the White Peak. Pro’s - - Access is easy from the main road, easy to find, well signposted - Couldn’t be closer to the walking trails, the High Peak Trail is through a gate at the corner of hte site. The Tissington trail connects about half a mile away along this. - One of the nicest walks I’ve done in ages starting in Hartington, less than 10 minutes away by road, or 3-4 miles walking. (Circular walk down Beresford Dale and Wolfscote Dale, up Biggin Dale and across the fields and lanes back to Hartington. Start and finish from the farm shop - takeaway coffee and homemade cakes - path past the public toilets) - Friendly owners who visit daily and happy to chat. Helpful with local information. Cons (all minor) - The site is grass and a little bumpy in places. It was very wet when we stayed and at least on car/ caravan had issues getting out, although they managed it in the end with lots of damage to the grass. - The road is nearby (see pro’s) - although a couple of fields away it is a busy road with traffic all day including lorries. Not noisy, but there in the background. - Isolated spot. Unless you are a walker you need to take your car/ moho to get anywhere. But that’s true of a lot of CL’s and for some of us it’s why we like them.

rustyharas

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/05/2021 10:54

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Holiday

We wanted to re-visit the Peak District but wanted to avoid the all singing (sometimes expensive) Club sites. Thank goodness for the Kirkhams who provide this fabulous CL at Newhaven Farm. We loved the welcome and the way in which we were instantly made to feel at home, even getting to the milking parlour for some reminiscence of days gone by as a dairyman, it was great. One of the fiercest thunderstorms we have witnessed for a long time engulfed us on our second night, Graham came to see if we were all ok the following morning. The setting of this CL is super, the sight of the swifts ducking and diving, and the panoramic view was beautiful. Ease of access for us to the Tissington Trail for walking was great, and the Hartington Stilton, a must. We really appreciated our time spent here a site that is so well placed for visits to Chatsworth, Buxton and much more. The Kirkham's made us feel so welcome we will undoubtedly be back. We met a lovely couple from the Wirral and enjoyed their company on site (not long enough) That's what we enjoy most about CL's, the camaraderie that one becomes part of. The Kirkhams have got it just right on this beautiful CL in the Peak District, Thank you for a great week.

Canon Graham Morris

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/09/2020 22:33

12 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Simple, functional, nice.

Clean, simple and the essentials work perfectly. Smallish grassy area with pitches well spaced out and clearly marked. Good electricity points. Pond area is fenced off in case anyone is worried about dogs / kids. There are now two hard-standing pitches. Easy access farm track. The site is right next two an old railway trail so great for walking / cycling, although there is the occasional dog walker cutting through the site from the trail. Friendly owners checked we were okay then left us to it. We were after a simple site with good access and that's exactly what it is. The road noise is actually very minimal - you had to listen for it to hear it and there are pleasant views around, with no eyesores or issues with anything going on nearby.

fennpack

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/03/2020 09:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer