Old Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

We only stayed here one night as we were catching up with nearby friends on our way home but we would happily have stayed longer. A lovely peaceful site, very well maintained indeed. As someone else has already noted, the trees on site are much bigger now than in the original photos and it looks much better as it gives a sense of enclaves but still with lots of space and views. The sunset was lovely. Lots of space between pitches which is very important to us. Great to have our own water supply. Nice and quiet. There was a group of people at one point at the top of the lane which made me panic even though I had not read the earlier reviews about boy racers. It was not an issue though, just a group of friends meeting up, not noisy or any trouble and were soon gone, do not let those reviews put you off as this is a fantastic little site. Mrs. Barbour was very helpful when we booked and was fine with us having our friends come to the site to take us out for lunch. (We recommend the White Hart, Sherington where we had a superb lunch). We can't comment on things to do in the area as we were on a pitstop but the surrounding scenery was very nice. Highly recommended and we would happily return.

IainandJaneC

from Berkshire

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 11:34

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very peaceful location

Easy to find along narrow roads for the last mile or two, but we had no trouble in our Motorhome. Do not miss the entrance because the road continues to a dead end private road. The entrance along the road is well signed from the farm entrance, look for the gap in the trees. A neatly laid out cl, with two electric points and one water tap on each post, well spaced out. Short grass, but slightly slopping, levelling blocks required in most places. Country all around, with many walks from site on road or across the fields. Blackberry picking before we left to take home. Bedford town we enjoyed, parked by the river (pay & display) lovely riverside walks and in the park. Thank you Mrs Barbour, we hope to return one day.

GrandadCRV

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/08/2020 17:45

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

'Paradise in July'

A lovely site off the beaten track so not much passing traffic. The grass is short and there is a dog walk around the perimeter of the site. Since the photos were taken the trees have grown quite a lot, not obtrusive and plenty of space. Did not speak to the owner although the grass was cut whilst we were there and an envelope is provided for site fees, to be put through the letterbox at the house. There are footpaths within a short distance from the site. Sharpenhoe NT is an ancient woodland ideal for children, not too far away. In Bedford there is the Priory Country Park with free parking, well worth a visit and Bedford Park with its old bandstand. LIDL is about 3 miles away with other supermarkets around. A site we would go back to if that way.

gandry

Caravanner from West Midlands

Reviewed on 27/07/2020 20:21

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location with good walks

We’ve stayed here a number of times in the last year visiting relatives in Milton Keynes. Very quiet spot with great dog walks direct from the site. The pitches are well spaced and the site is large enough to ensure privacy. Very friendly owners who will help with any questions. Highly recommended.

johnsuef

Reviewed on 18/05/2019 17:20

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good spot

We stayed on this site as a base for visiting relatives. It is very well set up, with hook-up and tap for each pitch; the grass was neatly cut and all well looked after. It is quiet, peaceful and relaxing, well away from any main roads. We could safely walk our dog along the lane and around fields from the site. We will be happy to use this CL again and recommend it.

MandCCumbria

Reviewed on 19/10/2017 17:28

34 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a hidden gem!

Having just returned from February half term from this site, what a little gem of a site! We arrived at 3am on a Sunday Morning having already spoken to owner who directed us to a firm part of the site, owner did offer when we booked to put us up on yard if heavy rain had occurred. Site entrance even in heavy rain was stone chipped and easy access. No boy racers to be seen only dog walkers. Grass is well maintained, fantastic views across farmland. Our children enjoyed running round the field. Owner dropped off a local map to us which found very useful. Can't understand the reviews left by people

MarkandFionaB

Caravanner from Dyfed

Reviewed on 26/02/2017 16:53

10 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

need improvements

The grass in long and the field is very wet! The gate has staples left in it were the farm leave notes for people and cut your hand when u open the gate! There in wire sticking out of the ground which I trip over and could be dangerous for anyone ! The ground round the gate is alway muddy and needs attention. And the boy racers driving up and down the road late at night makes u feel uncomfortable. It's just a field with no views !! 

Jasper51

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/11/2015 09:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Short Weekend break

On arrival found the owner very helpful, as we where their for a function at the nearby uni she gave us the numbers of a taxi company that we could use, she also supplied us with a os map so we could find our way around the local area. We will return to this CL. Very clean and pitches not on top of each other and quiet.

Matoe

Caravanner from Cleveland

Reviewed on 28/07/2015 14:37

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A well run site.

This was our third visit, six years after the last one and I was disappointed that the dog (child) walk was overgrown, but will be reinstated I gather. Our dog was upset that there was a bird scarer operating locally this time, but it didn't worry us. I must add that the help I had when the car gave up was "One Step Beyond". Thoroughly recommended.

Mbenjy

Caravanner from Dorset

Reviewed on 18/07/2015 17:23

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Lovely Retreat

We visited this site on the May Bank Holiday weekend and can not recommend this site highly enough if you want peaceful and relaxing time! The walks from the site are plentiful and although due to crops growing it was hard to follow the footpaths we just walked around the outside of the fields and our three dogs were in their element!! The owners supplied as with various maps which was very helpful and the village of Turvey (around 6 miles away) was lovely as was the dog friendly pub The Three Cranes whose Sunday dinners were lovely.

ahallows

Reviewed on 02/06/2015 11:37

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer