Omaha Meadows

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well Planned Site

Although the sites book states the address as Three Legged Cross, the site is actually much closer to Verwood. I was lucky to book a last minute 1 night stay in the height of the season and was greeted warmly. The site is very well laid out. Neat individual pitches are very generous in size, each with it's own water & electric supply. Plenty of room to sit out in the shade or the sun as preferred. Very clean and neatly organised facilities with a lovely hot shower. The bins and disposal points are all well labelled. A very easy walk to the playing fields then beyond into Moors Valley Country Park. Or in the other direction, into the village. My only criticism was the noise. It is next door to a child care facility so the road can be very busy with drop offs & collections. In the evening there was a lot of road noise too, despite it being a no-through road. Because the camping pitches are only separated from the pavement by wooden fencing, there is a lot of chatter as people walk to & from the playing fields. My young dog found this disconcerting, not being used to hearing voices pass by so often. Of course, this is only my opinion and others may find that it is worth the trade off for being within easy walking distance of the recreation ground & village.

Lin Sheppard

Reviewed on 25/08/2021 13:49

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

A very good site. I would really want to give 4.5* for peace as there is a nearby road but it seemed quiet at night. It was nice to be able to walk into the country park but transport is needed for all other visits, of which there are many depending on how far you want to travel. Individual pitch electricity & water but you need waste barrel. Alan & Jane were very friendly & helpful & the facilities were excellent with good provision for covid protection. Well done

MicWiltz

Caravanner from Oxfordshire

Reviewed on 23/09/2020 16:10

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic Little CL

This is a lovely little CL in a great location on the Dorset/Hampshire border. The site has been well thought out, and has level grass pitches which are regularly mowed. Each pitch had EHU and individual water taps. The toilets and showers looked spotlessly clean, but in the current Covid climate we chose to use our own onboard facilities. There was hand sanitiser and antibacterial spray available at convenient spots around the site. The two goats in the adjacent field are fun to watch. We received good instructions before arrival, plus a welcome pack with local info once we got there. There are a couple of pubs serving nice food a walkable distance from the site, as well as a choice of takeaways (I can thoroughly recommend Spice of India who deliver). From the site you can easily walk to the Moors Valley Country Park, and you are only a short drive from Bournemouth, Poole or the New Forest. All in all, we will definitely be returning which is the best recommendation you can give.

RSESussex

Reviewed on 19/09/2020 11:04

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super Site !

I have very little to add to the other reviews. I can't fault this site. It's obvious that a lot of thought and hard work has been put into creating a perfect CL. It's great for families with an adorable pair of goats for entertainment and a very good playground and well known country park easily accessed on foot or bike from the site. We only stayed one night but have promised the grandchildren that we will be going again soon.

Sunset owl

Reviewed on 22/08/2020 15:48

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Location

A good location to be able to walk or cycle in to Moors Valley Country Park at the end of the road. A short walk to Potterne Park for children’s playground, ball games and paddling in the stream. Nice spacious pitches, separated by fencing. Clean toilet and showers and info. room with useful welcome envelope containing map with local supermarkets, pubs etc marked. Booking was easy by email, good directions and pitch number received prior to arrival. Hosts, Alan and Jane very friendly and approachable and let children help feed their two goats. There was some evening road noise but this had stopped by the time we went to bed. We will definitely return when visiting this area.

Judith and Alan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/08/2020 16:09

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect stay for visiting Moors Valley counry park

Great communication before we came, outlining where the site is and giving us pitch number so that on arrival we could just get on with setting up, a great perk when travelling with kids. The site was very well looked after, grass cut and well laid out, especially liked the trellises dividing the pitches, made for some privacy without being anti-social. The toilets and showers were far better than we had envisaged, clean and well kept, great that they are heated too. easy walk into moors valley which is great for both adults and children to explore on foot or on bike. thank you

ABarber

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/08/2020 11:53

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Too good to share

What a find! We wanted a last minute stopover in Dorset/Hampshire and from the moment we enquired, we felt welcome. There is a new shower and toilet block and each pitch has water and EHU. On the doorstep is a great field/park which welcomes dogs and is the gateway to the Country Park. If we wanted to be selfish, we wouldn't recommend so we can keep it to ourselves, but Alan and Jane deserve more! We have this marked as a MUST to return to and will do and see more. Thank you for a great site, welcome and facilities.

sarahandric

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/07/2020 18:59

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous Site

Omaha Meadows is a really fabulous CL. Alan and Jane are the most welcoming and friendly of hosts and the facilities on site are superb. A beautifully clean (brand new) shower and toilet block - a real bonus on a CL. The site pitches are spacious, clearly defined, level and well kept. The site is near Potterne Park (a few minutes walk) which is a great Park for children of all ages. From Potterne Park there are numerous cycling trails (lots of which are tarmac and some forest trails) which lead into Moors Valley. Omaha Meadows is a really superb site in a fabulous location, we can't wait to return.

Tracy Beusmans

Reviewed on 06/08/2019 23:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect spot for a weekend away

Perfect site for a weekend away (or longer). The site is easy to find and with easy access. We were welcomed by Jane and provided with a welcome pack and an introduction to where everything was. Only our second time away in our caravan and I managed to leave the electric hook cable in the garage! After a quick trip to Halfords Alan was able to provide a spare, saving me a little bit of earache !! Shower and toilet facilities are new and kept nice and clean. The site was full (only 5 pitches) but there were enough facilities to keep everyone happy. Pitches were more than big enough, with a bit of space for the kids to play in, we didn't feel crowded at all. Ideal spot to explore the local area, Moors Valley is a few minutes walk away, easy to find and somewhere you could spend all day in. We ventured down to the Durdle Door for the day on Saturday only 30 miles away but at least an hour drive in morning traffic. We'd definitely recommend and would go back if staying in the area again.

RhodesLee

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2019 15:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Last minute weekend away with the kids

Lovely site run by very friendly people. Made to feel very welcome with our 1 and 3 yr olds. Nice clean toilets and showers. Close to town so good access to shops and takeaways. Best of all for us was the easy 2 minute walk down the road to a beautiful park that had a children's enclosed play area with a wide range of equipment, and a river that was suitable for a paddle! We will definitely be returning to explore the park again and venture round to Moors Valley country park as well. We're also looking forward to seeing the riverside area that is being developed on the site and possibly the baby goats!! Highly recommend this site for families 🙂

stephp80

Reviewed on 14/07/2019 19:57

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer