Penrose House

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Happy 3 years 😃🦇

This is our 3rd year at this wonderful site on the (our) bamboo pitch. Truddi and Frank are most welcoming and friendly and make us feel right at home. We have a twin axel caravan and can access this site with very little problem. The site is well looked after and TV reception has always been good. The location of the site is ideal, with Carbis Bay a 20 minute walk away and St Ives a 30 minute walk. There is a nice local farm, close by in Trink, for your fresh dairy products. The site is great value for money and we would highly recommend it. Thank you for always making our holiday special. Rachel and Phil

Team Whitehead

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2021 16:23

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A site with potential

This Cl is fairly well located for St Ives and the owner is lovely. The site is in a pleasant rural location with a pub close by. The access from the main road is not overly easy to negotiate as its pretty overgrown and as there is another larger site next to it. The road is fairly busy and there is quite a lot of road noise. We had to reverse a number of times but luckily not whilst towing. The EHU needs attention as our "neighbour" had to run his cable across the front of our pitch and that meant we had to drive over it regularly. The chemical waste leaves a bit to be desired and we were told to dump the grey waste into the bushes. We had to run our caravan into the pitch nose first so we could get a view rather than being shrouded by a forest of bamboo. The bushes at the entrance to the site need to be cut back as it was difficult to exit the site with the caravan and we both sides brushed against them. The site has a potential and I do appreciate that I may sound a bit negative but for £18 I expected a bit better.

Sparken

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/07/2021 16:30

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Great Cornish Retreat

Just returned from a fortnight at Frank & Trudi's wonderful C.L In a nutshell, its a field in rural Cornwall, Electric and water and peace and quiet, What more do you want From my original phone conversation with Trudi to leaving yesterday morning I can honestly say it has been an absolute pleasure, Trudi and Frank are just lovely with both always up for a chat or sharing advice on local attractions. The site is situated next to their house tucked away down a small lane, 5 minutes from a beautiful sunset viewing spot which my Sons loved!!! Will definitely stay again and my only regret is not getting to say goodbye to Trudi. Thanks again both, A real real please meeting you ! Stay safe Glen & Niki

Carpo325

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2020 13:10

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely site

We really enjoyed our stay here, the owners Frank and Trudy are lovely with a lovely welcome and nothing to much trouble. The site for us is just what a CL should be, simple, peaceful, and friendly owners. The surrounding area is lovely with plenty of walks, the walk to St Ives took us around twenty minutes and its a lovely walk. A pub which serves lovely food is also just round the corner. Plenty of places to visit with the stunning coast line just a short distance. We will be back very soon. Simon & Dawn

DawnSimon

Reviewed on 19/08/2019 21:35

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Jiffy the Motorhome

Beautiful site. Lovely welcome by the owners, who told us the shortest path to St Ives; which was stunning. Path takes about half an hour to walk down. Masses of shops. A bus does stop at the top of the lane or at the next large caravan park if you don't want to walk back up the hill. (Parking might be hard if you have a large unit). Carbis Bay was another half an hour walk away over the crest of the hill.

RebuchaH

Reviewed on 30/07/2019 21:22

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Staying here reminds you why you joined the club, its everything a CL should be...

In a nutshell, we loved it! So handy for St Ives or Penzance, a quiet place to come back to. Friendly, laid-back owners, nothing too much trouble for them and we met what must be the nicest couple we have ever met in the CL's we have visited: Jenny & Rob from Nottingham. A lovely couple, thank you for the pasty! Yep, go stay.

Diddy7

Reviewed on 06/10/2018 11:41

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Holiday 2018

We have just left this lovely cl after 2 weeks. This is the third time we have been here just love the location. There are easy walks to st ives and Carbis bay from site. Also local bus within 5 mins walk from site. The site is kept nice short grass collected up. Yes if it rains it gets a few puddles but soon dries out after all its grass. We have a twin axle caravan no problem at all when getting into site a bit more care required on leaving due to telegraph Pole. We will return if coming to this area again . Thank you Trudy and frank

Marpol

Reviewed on 22/07/2018 10:51

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant site, friendly owner.

A pleasant site but if it rains the drainage of water is a problem as a large deep puddle forms in the middle of the field. After arriving to find owner not in we pitched our van and found the site to be nice and quiet. We stayed for a week and as we were out most of the time it was a good base to stay. However on returning to our van on the day before departure we found the site overbooked and a van was parked in such a way we had to ask for another caravanner to move their car as we were leaving early the next morning. The morning of departure came and as we were on a slight hill it was very difficult swinging the van around to hook up, In fact the van nearly ran forward into our car. It was only because the owner had not organised where everyone was to be and she should have informed the people in the large van that we were leaving so we could get out easily. She also allowed them to park where the large puddle had formed only days before. I can only assume their awning was flooded that morning after all the rain we had overnight. I also felt that a little more could be done about the flower bed between the drive and the field ( full of weeds) and also a little more of the hedge cut back at the entrance as if you have a fairly large van it was hard to get in and out of the drive without scratching the sides. Perhaps some better designated caravan parking spots would be a benefit and a bit more thought on the manicuring of the garden. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.

Bill Kane

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/09/2017 16:57

5 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant Family Holiday Base

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Penrose House. Trudi, the owner was friendly, showed us to our pitch on arrival, however due to the layout and an extra caravan being over booked on our first night we had to pitch our caravan and awning on a slight slope. Unfortunately, torrential rain and strong winds on the first night flooded our awning floor and as it was on the lowest point of the entire field, never dried for the duration of our stay, rendering our awning pretty unusable. We booked this site purely on the basis on it having a temporary/ children's pool during summer months, as soon as we arrived our children we eager to get in the pool and cool down, so ran in search of the pool advertised, to find it deflated and mouldy in a heap, behind the owners garage. As we were unable to use our awning we put windbreaks at the back of our caravan but were told we had 'spread out' too much. Aside from these issues, we had a nice holiday, using the site just as a base, exploring the beautiful coastline, including Lands End, St Ives, Penzance, Carbis Bay & Portreath. We will definitely return to this beautiful part of the country, but sadly not this site.

VickyKeep

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 13/08/2017 18:09

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rural and friendly

We spent 6 nights here in June and experienced wet and windy through to glorious summer. Mrs P is extremely helpful and caring. The site is rural so as motorhomers who prefer to walk as opposed to drive off site it was up and down hill for approximately 30 minutes to Carbis Bay. However from there you can join the Coastal Path, we walked to St Ives and to the estuary in the opposite direction. At Carbis Bay there are frequent buses of which we made good use, plus a Superstore for our supplies. There was no signal for our mobile phones on the site, so it was exceptionally peaceful.

Saffismum

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/07/2017 19:59

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer