Plas Lligwy

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing, peaceful place

We stayed 4 nights here on our first trip to Wales since the easing of covid restrictions, and it was a delight to find such a peaceful and idyllic location. Once you drive through the farm stay on the road till the end, then turn left through a gate and you will see the hookups - there aren't any signs. Our dog loved it here, especially the wild beach. It's about 100 metres from the Iron Age site called Din Lligwy, which is fascinating, the Neolithic burial chromlech and ruins of a medieval chapel. The owner John told us about the history and recent excavations, which are all on his farmland - he has 300 acres which guests are welcome to ramble on. He left us to our own devices after that, which was great, and we had the place to ourselves for the first few days. From our motorhome we had stunning views in all directions, including sheep and the sea beyond. Both Moelfre and Lligwy Beach are about a 600-800 metres' walk along a quiet road and footpath. There are many walks along the coastal path and around the fields, so we benefitted from our ordnance survey map with all the footpaths and ancient sites marked. We picked a good forecast and immensely enjoyed our time in Lligwy, the sunshine and beautiful scenery - what we needed after a winter in lockdown. Hope to return soon!

Magog

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 03/05/2021 10:06

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely quiet campsite

Directions to farm are clear and easy to follow however as you near the farm there are no signs to tell you where the site is. Luckily we saw a caravan on the left and managed to find the gate to the pitches. There are many farm buildings and no obvious farmhouse. I didn't know which way to go to find anyone. It was raining and freezing but at least it was still light! The owner was pleasant and the site is lovely, quiet and rural. I thought £15 was a little expensive for a tap and a chemical disposal drain. There is no toilet or shower.

LESLEY65

Reviewed on 10/03/2019 09:42

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fascinating, come and explore

Bank Holiday Weekend. On arrival last couple of hundred yards could be tricky. Find the site on google maps and you will see what I mean. Tricky but perfectly ok if you know where you are going and what you are doing. I didn't! Basically you have five pitches in a straight line. Stop at the entrance and check which pitch you are on. I blindly drove down on a wet day, tried to turn round, got stuck, nice guy towed me off! I then had to pitch embarrassingly close to no.1 pitch to avoid getting stuck. All my fault. Historical features are amazing. If this was London it would be NT at £15 a head. Beach is 10 mi walk. Site is quiet, peaceful and tucjed away. No extras. Dogs are allowed and left me a leaving present. Dog free next time.

ianmstrange

Reviewed on 17/10/2017 23:16

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Attractive quiet site, near Moelfre and Lligwy beach

This is the first review of this site of 2017 and was also our first caravan trip this year. I can say that I agree with other reviewers that this is a very attractive quiet site, within walking distance of both Moelfre and Lligwy beach. Although John stated 'payment on arrival' there seemed to be nobody around when we arrived and he actually called the following morning. Facilities are basic but very acceptable. We were surprised that for such a pleasant site in a holiday area over the May bank holiday, we were on our own for nearly all the five nights.The local historical relics were fascinating, especially the remains of the 4th century village of Din Lligwy just across the fields.

DavidW50

Reviewed on 05/05/2017 22:30

35 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely tranquil site

This is a lovely small CL. Very quiet with views over adjacent fields and even a glimpse of the coast if you are on the first pitch. An easy walk to the beach, although down a narrow lane, where you can pick up the coast path. Nearby Moelfre doesn't have a lot to offer, a village pub with typical pub fare and Ann's pantry which is lovely with outside seating. None the less a peaceful getaway. Signage to the site is clear and you are able to choose your pitch, first come first served. There is chemical disposal point, EHU, drinking water access (2) one each end of the site. We would definitely revisit.

hendrick1724

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/08/2016 09:14

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL!

We had five days here June 2016 and loved it. Very peaceful. Only saw owners to pay and they don't rush you with this. Plenty of areas to walk to which was great with dogs and places of interest within the grounds of the farm. Would definitely stay on this CL again

pvfairwaydr

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/07/2016 15:34

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ten out of ten!

This is a great CL, beautiful location, good for walking, cycling and reaching any part of the island. This CL is situated in a stunning part of Anglessey on a traditional working farm and well worth a stay, we will definitely be back.

The Carabikers

Reviewed on 19/06/2016 20:33

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect!

This is a wonderful quiet CL off the beaten track yet you can walk into Moelfre to join the coastal path or have coffee and cake at Jeans Cafe.  The site has views over the farm and also has a medieval village and church to explore.  Beaumaris is a must with its jail and castle and Penmon with the Priory, Lighthouse and views over Puffin Island. Do go to South Stack at Holyhead and Sandy Bay near Llanfrog.  The CL is perfectly placed to visit all of the Island.  We would recommend a stay on this CL, it's so relaxing.  

46 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Loved this site

A beautiful and tranquil setting.  We spent a week here in July 2014. Handy for the Lligwy beach and Moelfre village.  Good hook up water and waste disposal.  Mr Aron was friendly and helpful.  Would stay again if in the area.

thediyers

Reviewed on 18/07/2014 20:54

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and tranquil

Although there are only basic facilities on site, the beauty of the site makes up for it. Plas Llygwy is set on a farm surrounded by fields within walking distance of the fabulous beach of Llygwy. On the farm are 3 ancient monuments. Close villages include Moelfre which has great pubs and cafés all set around the pretty harbour. Whilst there a visit to Parys Mountain is a must. Also, Penmon and Newborough Forest. Anglesey is blessed with beautiful places and people. Go see for yourself. 

lizb70

Caravanner from Northamptonshire

Reviewed on 03/05/2014 23:07

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer