Plymptons Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb site and lovely owners

We ended up here after a disastrous experience in booking 10 days at a nearby site, having arrived late afternoon but having to relocate that same day. The welcome from Mrs Payne was wonderful and exactly the opposite of the other site. The site is lovely, gently sloping lawn leading to a lake with coarse fishing in it. The area is very peaceful and pretty convenient to all the main towns in North Devon and close to the edge of Exmoor. We stayed for 10 days and enjoyed it very much (perhaps a little less than our neighbour who spent every early morning and most evenings fishing, productively, about 15 metres from his 'van). South Molton has an excellent indoor 'Pannier Market' to visit. Mrs Payne, the owner was a delight, very cheerful and helpful all of the time. The nearest restauraunt is the Michelin starred Masons Arms but there are are good ones nearby. If you have a dog we'd recommend the London Inn in Molland, 16th Century quainteness with very good food and service. Watch out for pheasants in the late summer/autunn - there were literally hundreds in or around the narrow roads to Molland. Was there a down side? Not for us, but we are used to the high sided very narrow roads of North Devon and know the road signs really mean what they say. Sometimes the tight climbing or descending narrow roads (its rarely level in N Devon) are challenging with a caravan on tow but the local folk are not aggressive in their driving and understand that reversing a caravan up a narrow lane isn't a 'normal driving skill'. We will be back and will stay longer next time.

TheFishnets

Caravanner from Powys

Reviewed on 02/10/2021 12:32

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

WHAT A GEM

We have just returned from a four night stay at plymptons farm and in our opinion the best CL we've stayed on. The welcome from Mrs Payne was exceptionable,the site was kept to a very high standard with short cut grass and first class landscaping,all amenities were well marked and easy to get to.the lake was kept to look natural and was also stocked with top quality fish.The only down side to our stay was it wasn't long enough. We will return for longer next time.

strumbly001

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/09/2021 15:51

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Heaven in Devon

Best site ever stayed on wonderful views peaceful and tranquil with fantastic hosts always there to help in any way

ScreenName9874E4E387

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/08/2021 08:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

wonderful campsite

Just spent 7 days at this peaceful campsite. Wish we could have stayed longer. One of the best we've stayed at by far.

Sharky H

Reviewed on 21/09/2020 14:33

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Thank you

Thank you for allowing us to stay when you had turned off everything for the winter at the beginning of an early cold snap. Sorry we missed you when we left. Hopefully we will come back one day to explore your beautiful area on our bikes. Anne

AES

Reviewed on 29/10/2019 09:42

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Exmoor escape

A super CL. Beautiful location and gardens and lake extremely well kept encouraging a range of wild birds. Convenient for the National Park, Knightshayes and Dulverton. Our pitch was a hard standing with EHU. Good walking from the site on quiet roads. Thank you to the owners for offering such a lovely place to stay. We will definitely return.

Geary14

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/07/2019 21:18

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Luvely Jubbly

Great site. Lovely and level with beautiful view with lake and rolling hills behind. Easy site to get to with all of North Devon and Exmoor close by. The duck and geese are like free entertainment. The only downside of this is the geese scat around the site. Very peaceful which was surprising with how close the 361 is. We will be visiting again very soon.

EngineerPete

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/07/2016 10:39

4 reviews

6 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A stunning view

We arrived at Plymptons Farm a few days after storm Kate and it was unusually wet. This prevented us for getting onto a grass pitch, but we were soon settled on the hard standing.  Mary gave us a warm welcome and during our weeks stay was always happy to share local knowledge.  We look forward to returning.  There are numerous cracking walks close by, you can see those that we covered on our blog www.twodogsandanawning.co.uk 

Two dogs and an awning

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/04/2016 22:28

49 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Idyllic

This is our second visit to Plymptons Farm. It's such a beautiful peaceful location. We were fortunate to be on plot 4 again, & we had a perfect view of the lake from our window. I was thrilled to see a Kingfisher!  The site is well maintained & offers the perfect escape...

Egor

Caravanner from Somerset

Reviewed on 01/11/2015 14:47

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Spot on

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Plymptons farm. This is just what is required in a CL; good pitch spacing; neat grass; good views and peace and quiet. The site owner Mrs Payne is a pleasure to deal with. I spent a pleasant couple of hours watching 2 Canada Geese parading their goslings around the pond. We definitely will return.

Ancientcelt

Caravanner from Pembrokeshire

Reviewed on 04/05/2015 18:25

13 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer