Pool Bank Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

View as described

Yes, the view is impressive. Enjoyed watching the trains on the viaduct. Site is secluded accessed by gate with key code then up a fairly steep hill. Booked & paid on-line, excellent, after enquiring by email. Site is well kept, no idea about the toilet, didn’t use it. Slight road noise but very quiet overnight. We had a good 11 mile walk including a stop for coffee at Bloomfield Square in Otley, definitely worth a visit. We are road cyclists but didn’t tackle any routes on this visit as being on a main steep hill road put me off. Personally as we choose to only walk or cycle from sites & not drive it wasn’t ideal for us but quite satisfactory for a couple of nights. A little more expensive at £18 p/n plus metered electricity than many CL’s but again we were satisfied.

Itjob

Motorhomer from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 17/08/2021 15:20

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Hidden gem

Just back from a two night stay. What a lovely location with amazing views. All pitches looked good. I was on the stand alone pitch which gave me the most amazing sunrises. The toilet just a short walk away was clean and well maintained. Noise from a near by road did not deter from future visits to the site. The red kites circled above on my arrival and the resident chickens were fun to watch. I spent £3 on electricity which I felt was very good as I had a small oil heater on a lot of the time. Lovely walks and bike rides from the site.

MelvinJJ

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/10/2020 17:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Piece of Heaven

arrived on August 6th for 8days to a fabulous view !! The site itself looks over warfedale and the views go on for miles. There are five pitches all with hard standing and fully serviced, 4 of the pitches have edges around and are very spacious allowing caravan, awning and car with ease, the 5th pitch is more open but still with stunning views!! Would recommend this sight to people that love views, its centrally positioned for all of wharfedale. There is some traffic noise dependant on the wind but it does not spoil the serenity. Will return without doubt x

jdcoops

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/08/2020 17:49

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing views!

Stayed here in September while visiting our daughter living in Leeds. Very convenient for Leeds, Harrogate, and although slightly further , the lovely Yorkshire Dales Totally agree with the other comments about the stunning views. Amazing. The hedges, which obviously give privacy, do tend to restrict the view slightly, so we pitched our caravan near the front of the area to make the most of it. Electricity charges were less than £1/day, not too bad. The approach to the pitches is quite steep, but didn't cause any problem at all. However our strongest warning is about the security gate at the entrance/exit. We were fine arriving and all during our stay, but on leaving when towing the van around the bend in the drive and trying to drive close enough to the key-pad to open the gate we damaged the caravan quite badly on the stone wall which juts out. Be warned!!!! It is best to watch the van and have to get out of your car to enter the code in the key-pad if necessary as we have a large repair bill now! However now we are aware of this risky maneuver we might return to this site in the future sometime.

Tuffley

Reviewed on 27/10/2019 16:25

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointed

The description needs changing there are only 3 handstand pitches with hedges and these need tidying up . The other 2 pitches are next to each other, one is a hard stand with a drain , the other is grass neither have a tap but the cold water isn’t far . We had the grass pitch which does have a lovely view one way but from the door overlooks a hedge hiding a run down area. The grass hadn’t been cut which was a shame . Traffic noise is constant , the road to the site is steep and would be better if the long grass was cut . I personally think the £16 plus electric is quite high for the quality of the pitches .

Comment from the Club:

We're sorry that your stay at Pool Bank Farm didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. The site have confirmed that they have four hard-standings with hedges which also have electric and water. The remaining pitch is grass with electric and is close to a water tap. The road approaching the site is steep, but not excessively so and with care and a low gear, members won't have an issue getting into the site. 

 

JillM

Caravanner from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 28/07/2019 14:07

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

It's all about the view

Had a few days at this CL, and can honestly say, the view is outstanding. Didn't require the tv in the evenings, just watching the clouds and mist forever changing over the valley and into the distance towards the Dales was mesmerising. If however you are looking for total tranquility, it's probably not ideal. The road noise is constant, and you can hear the planes taking off. Albeit, it didn't bother us too much as we were engrossed with the view. Nice private pitches, and metered electric. We used about £1.00 per day on the electricity side. Bus stops outside the CL, made a trip into Harrogate very easy. (Not cheap though, was charged nearly £14.00 return for 2 adults!) One slight negative, no introduction or welcome greeting to the site from the owner, but overall a happy stay.

MrsD29

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/06/2019 18:43

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful views but...

Arrival at the site was easy, the views beautiful and facilities adequate. I do feel that a bit of TLC and attention would see this site booked up all summer. We were there three nights along with two more visitors on two night and only one on the third. My main thoughts are that some weedkiller and general tidying of the pitches, taps on the pitches made a little easier to access and a regular good clean of the WC inside and out would make a big difference. In general it looked tired.

PeterR

Caravanner from Suffolk

Reviewed on 17/08/2017 18:35

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Hidden Gem

Clear instructions of how to get in to the site . was met by the owner who seemed pleasant enough and told us where our pitch was . Oh my goodness what a stunning view we had of wharfedale and the Yorkshire dales , when it rained it was still stunning . it has basic facilities but that's what you would expect from a CL site with 5 pitches . I was surprised with having to pay for my electric by a meter but it didn't gobble up the money as I expected and over the 3 days we were there it used £3 which I thought was ok . it is near loads of places we wanted to visit and a easy drive away from Leeds city centre . Yes you could hear some road noise but nothing to obtrusive and also you couldn't hear the aircraft that much either which is surprising due to how close the airport is to it . We really enjoyed the site and will be coming back again in the near future . just to mention that the site accepts dogs and you can walk them around the site but there are some great places only a short drive away where you can let them off the lead for a good run .

Kernow68

Caravanner from Merseyside

Reviewed on 25/05/2017 20:57

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A useful overnight stay

Used this CL twice recently to break journey to Northumbria and would use it again.  Steep access to site but worth it for the stunning views.  Good hardstanding with pitches separated with hedges giving privacy.  Toilet kept clean and tidy but had to lift the waste water container to empty it.  Road noise a problem until late evening and started again early in the morning.

Greg and Bridget

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/06/2016 15:56

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Poolbank Farm – Pros and Cons

We stayed here for 5 nights in April. On the plus side – security gate at entrance, good road up the hill to the site, wonderful views of Wharfedale from the caravan, all good hardstanding individual pitches, very sheltered, water on each pitch, good toilet and washroom, excellent location for exploring the surrounding area - easy to get to Leeds, Bradford, Saltaire, Otley and the Chevin, Ilkey and the Moor, Harewood House – the list is endless! On the minus side – pitches face north for the view but this does make them very shady, quite a lot of traffic noise as there are busy roads just behind the site, occasional noise from nearby Leeds/Bradford airport, owners’ not very welcoming, metered electric was a bit of a pain to keep checking how much money is left! We spent about £2 per day on electric. However plusses outweigh the minuses so would go again.

Sunshine1

Reviewed on 15/04/2016 09:01

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer