Pool Bank Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A useful overnight stay

Used this CL twice recently to break journey to Northumbria and would use it again.  Steep access to site but worth it for the stunning views.  Good hardstanding with pitches separated with hedges giving privacy.  Toilet kept clean and tidy but had to lift the waste water container to empty it.  Road noise a problem until late evening and started again early in the morning.

Greg and Bridget

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/06/2016 15:56

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Poolbank Farm – Pros and Cons

We stayed here for 5 nights in April. On the plus side – security gate at entrance, good road up the hill to the site, wonderful views of Wharfedale from the caravan, all good hardstanding individual pitches, very sheltered, water on each pitch, good toilet and washroom, excellent location for exploring the surrounding area - easy to get to Leeds, Bradford, Saltaire, Otley and the Chevin, Ilkey and the Moor, Harewood House – the list is endless! On the minus side – pitches face north for the view but this does make them very shady, quite a lot of traffic noise as there are busy roads just behind the site, occasional noise from nearby Leeds/Bradford airport, owners’ not very welcoming, metered electric was a bit of a pain to keep checking how much money is left! We spent about £2 per day on electric. However plusses outweigh the minuses so would go again.

Sunshine1

Reviewed on 15/04/2016 09:01

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Noisy but beautiful

Spent easter break here. Given brief details by owner before pitching. Wonderful view from spacious and private hardstanding pitches, but be aware electric meter eats pound coins. Road noise and sirens annoying at times but scenery compensated. Otley very picturesque especially Wharfedale Gardens. Ilkley Moor not to be missed. A very enjoyable break but will not return to this CL.

magsem

Reviewed on 28/03/2016 18:09

19 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Parky in January... but what a view!

I visited Pool Bank Farm during the last weekend on January 2016 and (for the first time ever) considered cancelling a trip because of the weather forecast.  Having got accurate and helpful advice by ’phone from the Waterhouses my trip went ahead.  The weekend was as windy as promised (50 mph) but the sheltered location – in spite of being on a ridge – was more than a match for mother nature. Access to the site was well signposted when travelling NE down Pool Bank from the Dyneley Arms.   A visit to “street view”  (courtesy of go ogle) is always reassuring when making arrival plans.  The left turn into the entrance way looks a lot worse than it is.  Once inside the gate there is a sinuous climb to the ridge… and then the view!  Wow! Reversing into the wonderfully spacious bays is a bit tight for a large rig (5m of car, 7.6m of caravan in my case) as there is a high kerb opposite each bay.  But the sheltered privacy is worth the effort….. especially with storm Gertrude expected!  The view is wonderful… I won’t elaborate, go see for yourself! The hook up (with meter) is easy and the helpful booklet with each pitch is… well, helpful.  The electricity charge is modest and with a low energy van I posted £4 into the slot during my 4 day stay. (maximum temperature during the weekend was 3 degrees celcius). Definitely no “loading” on the energy cost here!  Water was close (15m) … but in a lawned area so bring your Crocs or Wellies if rain is forecast.  The toilet disposal is 90m from the caravan… a bracing walk when the wind is howling.  There is hot water and a hand dryer by the sluice… wonderfully considerate; especially for that final trip at the end of the stay when your washroom is locked and the towels have been put away. The O2 phone signal was first rate for data, SMS and calls… as was the 3 (EE) signal.  DAB radio signal was first class.  I did not try the TV reception.  TV is very over-rated… especially when you can look out of the window and see Yorkshire in every direction.  I was in Pool Bank for a music weekend; one event in Leeds, the other in Saltaire so I don’t have a helpful list of “must see” suggestions. Other reviewers have many suggestions. This CL is on my “return again” list.

Vernon

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/01/2016 18:20

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning Views

The views of Wharfedale are stunning and access to the Chevin for walks is within easy reach (and well worth doing).  The pitches are a good size and have hedges around 3 sides leaving you to look out across a nice field across to the great views. Electric is by meter but not a problem, we were there 2 nights and only used £1. There is only 1 toilet and no showers but for just 2 nights not an issue.

Breezevan

Reviewed on 01/09/2015 11:21

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good site, with stunning views

We enjoyed our stay here, loved watching the red kites and other birds over the grassland in front of our van.  Individual pitches, well screened with hedges.  Some unavoidable road noise but not bad. Wonderful location looking over wharfedale with easy access to Harrogate, Leeds, Bradford etc but glorious walks nearby - try almscliffe crag - glorious.

Mike Nunn

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/10/2014 13:05

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Easy access to Leeds

We stayed at this CL in the first week of December for four nights. We wanted a CL near to Leeds with easy access via public transport, the main bus route to Leeds was at the top of the road outside the Delany Arms. A return ticket to Leeds bus station cost £3.90 return for a 30 minute journey, ideal. The Royal Armouries Museum is well worth a visit and is within walking distance of the bus station. As stated the site has 5 large gravel hardstanding pitches, with large hedges in between and backed by huge pine trees. The view to the front is spectacular, there is a field in front of the pitches that would be good for children to play in. We missed the entrance on approach as the CL sign is a bit difficult to see if you approach from the Harrogate direction. The two dogs did come to see us on our arrival and came back a couple of times, but were no bother and were friendly. The meter was very economical and we left it in credit, as we topped it up more than was necessary. The only downside was that when no one was working on the farm, or the onsite farm shop was unattended, there was no lighting in the toilet block, which could be a bit of an issue as it's dark by 4pm at this time of year.

TracyJ

Caravanner from Durham

Reviewed on 08/12/2013 21:43

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely views

The views of Wharfedale are exquisite and access to the Chevin for walks is within easy reach. The access to the CL up the tarmac drive and is rather steep, but worth it for the view. The longstanding tenant has now gone and the site is very french like with the hedged, hard standing pitches. The electric meter was very cost effective and the owners very welcoming and accommodating. The owners have 'Bonnie and Clyde' dog duo who even though we are not dog lovers entertained us during our stay - outside bins not safe! The wildlife was great with red kites, owls and lots of bunny rabbits.

PaulandLou

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 24/08/2013 21:22

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Panoramic

4nights, late August at £14/night. Electricity is via a meter at £1/top-up. My advice is to travel down Pool Bank. It is notoriously steep, but the site entrance can be safely approached slowly with a wide berth and consideration to following traffic. As meantioned there are dogs which may wander on to your pitch, but they appear friendly and soon wander off. This may deter some caravanners who are strongly adverse to strange dogs or any dogs. The view from the caravan is magnificient. The single toilet is clean and regularly inspected. No showers. The electric and water is individual to each pitch. There is some traffic noise, but noise from nearby Leeds/Bradford airport is insignificant. Overall and in view of the rarity of such a well facilitated CL site in this area, I would recommend Rawson Garth (Pool Bank Farm).

5foot6

Reviewed on 14/09/2012 17:35

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

'Almost peaceful'

We stayed on the site on the nights of 3rd and 4th August this year. The only disappointment was the road noise which was quite intrusive on a hot day with your windows open - no good if you are a light sleeper! However the views are great. When we were there the other campers were friendly and quiet. We did notice one dog but apart from coming to say hello it then disappeared and caused no problem for us. The toilet was very clean and the electricity was reasonably priced. The access road is quite steep and could be awkward close to the entrance if two units meet either side of the gated entrance - reversing into the busy road is not an option! The owners were very friendly and made us both welcome. Would certainly use this site in future.

TerryA

Motorhomer from Bedfordshire

Reviewed on 09/08/2012 22:18

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer