Rhiw Afon

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Really enjoyed our extended stay!

We originally booked a week over the Christmas holidays, and ended up staying for almost 3 weeks as we loved it that much! The site is divided into 2 grassy fields, we stayed on the first one as directed by the owners, as the second did suffer from flooding problems after prolonged bad weather. There is a toilet and shower, plus a free laundry service, making the place great value. Phone reception is good too. We were able to access the whole of the Lleyn peninsula from the site. The only problem we encountered was that there is a layby/pull-in in the lane directly outside the site, so we had occasional disturbances from goods vehicles idling there. On another occasion we would consider a pitch further away from the entrance. Traffic noise from the main road is not a problem however. All in all a great holiday and highly recommended.

Aggie Pirate

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/01/2022 19:05

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

We had a wonderful stay at Rhiw Afon. The site is beautifully maintained, with level pitches and plenty of space in between pitches. The facilities are well maintained and the owners very helpful. It is a great place from which to explore the Llyn Peninsula, which is an absolute delight. We will definietely return to the peninsula adn to Rhiw Afon.

Tristesse

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/07/2021 15:36

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely site

We enjoyed this CL very much over the Easter break. It is a great location for cycling - very close to the traffic free cycle route which is accessed by very quiet lanes; a trip that allowed young and old to enjoy even though granddad ( 70 yrs old) was out paced by 7yr old granddaughter! The location is also close to Black Rock sands where you can park ( only £5 day) on an endless sandy beach. The well kept grass is conveniently flat ( no levelling blocks) and their is the bonus of a toilet and shower. There is excellent pub food or an Indian restaurant \ take away about a mile away.There is some traffic noise during the day but this is offset by the lovely scenery and the warm welcome from the owners. We will definitely be returning . Tony Parker

tparker13

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/04/2019 23:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rhiw Afon

Thoroughly enjoyable 3 nights just spent at Rhiw Avon. Great views and very convenient for access to all parts of the Llyn peninsula. We will be back. Road noise was not a major issue. Entrance a little tight; just need to be careful (7.55 m tourer).

RCP

Reviewed on 27/08/2018 22:01

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

3 Nights in Wales

Having read the other reviews and agree with them, just a few points I'd like to make.. 1 .. Access .. no problem with a 7mtr Motorhome. 2....Noise ... the road was a little noisy from some vehicles but we soon become accustomed to it.... quieter at night. 3.... Facilities .. Oh dear !!! .. we used our own!!!. ... these really do need attention! 4.... Waste disposal ... shouldn't be so near a pitch... simply lift a man hole lid to septic tank and pour ... yuk !! 5.....Site / Pitches ... fine and with nice views to countryside. Lots of Butterflies 6.... LocalPlacesOfInterest ... OK once we found road without speed humps. 7...; Welcome ... didn't see anyone till last day and only when we went looking for someone to pay. In conclusion ... Fine if you have your own loo and shower .... !

Bimblin

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/09/2013 19:18

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A very pleasant site

We have returned to this site many times and feel very much at home in this peaceful setting with beautiful views and easy access to many attractive places. The owners make us feel welcome and are most helpful. Pleased to find some recycling facilities on site.

caravannerx

Reviewed on 22/08/2013 19:22

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pros: plenty of space, well maintained, pleasant views. Cons: traffic noise and narrow entrace

Site is accessed from a minor road and backs onto a busy B road. The minor road is beginning to narrow at the entrance so it is a tight turn into the CL. The entrance is narrow so passengers had to get out to help guide our 7’5” x 23’9” van in to avoid hitting the entrance posts. Site is made up of two small fields. The first field is triangular in shape. The northern boundary is a hedge which borders the minor road, with views of the mountains about three miles to the north east, the southern boundary is a tall hedge which borders the second field, the western boundary is a wire fence with view of the hills three miles away. There are 4 hook up points along the northern boundary. The CL road runs alongside the wire fence. The second field is square. The eastern boundary borders the owner’s house and small yard, the western boundary is a wire fence with views of the hills three miles away and some glimpses of the sea four miles to the south, the southern boundary is a high hedge. Both fields are pretty level – blocks might be needed on the second field. The B road is busy and fast and the noise is noticeable, especially in the first field. The noise is less is the second field because it is further from the road and the owners house is between he field and the road. After the first day we stopped noticing the road noise. It was quiet at night. There are four hook ups in each field and three in the second. Personally I’d say it would be a bit of a squeeze with four in the first field so I would say up to three in the first and four in the second – in other words plenty of room for five in total. There are water taps in both fields. Chemical point is in the second field between electric points so quite close to some of the pitches. We tucked ourselves into the corner of the triangle in the first field and had it to ourselves throughout every day with the occasional camper van overnighting. We didn’t use the site washroom but had a quick look. It wasn’t up to the standard of club sites, but it would do the job. Personally I always prefer to use our van apart from when we stay on Club sites. The CL is well maintained: grass cut, hedges trimmed and some planting. I would prefer to see the entrance widened. There were also a few potholes which could easily be filled. I would have mentioned this to the owner on departure but they were away. We stayed three nights and found it very pleasant. It is a lovely area. Sites nearer the coast are packed so it is great to have such a pleasant well maintained site that even when full is not busy. We would go again.

MountainView

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/08/2013 06:09

36 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rhiw Afon

We & our son's family have stayed here regularly over the years whenever we need a break in our busy lives. The view of the distant hills is so conducive to peace and tranquillity. We really appreciate coming here at all times of the year. The main field has a cosy corner always sheltered from the winter SW gales and the beautiful town of Criccieth with it's lovely cafe's and restaurants is a delight. P.S. We have a large twin axle caravan and have no trouble entering the site.

Hollandfamily

Reviewed on 15/07/2013 17:35

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rhiw Afon

We stayed in June 2013 for two nights. We only intended staying one night and then looking for somewhere else but the weather closed in so we decided to return as we knew the location. We have read the review and agree with most points although we did not find the road noise a problem even though we were situated on the far field. The site is reasonably level and grass cut when we were there. We have a dog and as the weather was bad it was a nice walk along the lane outside which I imagine would have been very pleasant in the sunshine. A bit of traffic but not enough to worry about. I think this site was a bit expensive £10 would have been better as the last site we stayed on charged this and had a modern shower for £1 which was well worth it and unlimited hot water from the tap. This site should not be showing a shower as it is just a hose with a drain, in a dirty coal hole. They would be better off pricing without that facility. However, I think the Caravan Club does not inspect their CL's as we have been to far worse places than this on our travels.

Anneka

Reviewed on 27/06/2013 23:39

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Easter 2011

Site is on busy road and as a result there is considerable traffic noise most of the day and well into night as it is a 'rat run' to Cricceth, despite being posted as a 'B' road. Two fields available - all grass with electric hookups and two taps, one in either field. Access to the site is very restricted - the newer wider vans would struggle to get in - more a case of width, rather than length necessarily being the issue. Views, although limited, are good and there is a toilet on site, although the door did not fit properly. There is a shower in the roof of this building with a drain in the floor - limited cleaning products, no mop etc available made it not pleasant to use as a shower and we and other caravanners on the site used our own facilities. In addition, there is a charge which is not listed in the handbook. The CDP was, for us, a major issue as it is in the mddle of the second field, no fencing and once you open the lid, which is a good number of inches from the floor, you then have to haul your waster water container and/or toilet up to empty them, there is no shelving around the edge nor a run up to make life easier. We resorted to emptying the grey water waste in the road drain outside the entrance but obviously not the toilet. In terms of access to nearby Cricceth etc, it is a good location. We would certainly visit the area again but not this CL sadly.

Comment from Community Manager:

Thank you for leaving a review. The CL owner has contacted me as he is slightly concerned that there have been some changes to this site since this review was posted. They are situated on a 'B' road which does carry a fair amount of traffic but their second field is insulated from traffic noise by their house which stands between the field and the road. The entrance has not been a problem to visitors to the site over the years (some 485 nights in 2012 with many outfits returning for a second or third visit) although it does require some care with larger outfits. The site is beautifully situated with extensive views down the Llyn Peninsula and the sea is visible towards Abersoch and St Tudwal's Island while the immediate surroundings are farmland. The site is grass and mainly level, especially around the perimeter where most outfits choose to pitch and there are electric hook-ups 8 in all, (16amp) in both fields. The site has a WC and Wet Room combined and there is a shower which works on an 'honesty box' principle at 50p! There is also hot and cold running water in this room. Chemical disposal is situated close to the edge of the second field and has a water tap adjacent for cleaning containers. Drinking water is available in the first field and adjacent to the second field on the side of the wet room building. The charge per night is currently £12 which includes electric and an awning if required and dogs are welcomed. The site owners realise that different people want different facilities and have different expectations of CL's and if there is something that visitors are unhappy with they are always ready to listen and do what they can to resolve any problems. They appreciate issues being raised with them when members are on site so they can be dealt with and improvements can be taken into consideration. The owners look forward to welcoming new visitors this year as hopefully the weather improves and enhances the delights of this beautiful part of the country.

Skye2010

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 02/08/2012 15:42

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer