Rose Coombe Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

very quiet

lovely little site, two taps and a new looking waste disposal point.Plenty of space very quiet.

eloste

Reviewed on 08/08/2022 15:56

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet Site in a Good Location

We spent a week here in September, booking was easy and Alison was very helpful and advised the best route to the CL. The last half mile or so from the main road is a typical Devon lane, narrow with high hedges, so arrival after 1oclock is advised. Gateway into the site needs a bit of care but we got our 7+m van in without any problems. The site itself is a large grass field with a slight slope, levelling blocks required, the hooks ups are well spaced giving plenty of pitching options, there are 2 water taps on the hedge side. The cdp is screened off by the gate and was clean and easy to use. We found the site very quiet with only the occasional vehicle along the lane. The field behind the site can be used for dog walking. The site is midway between Seaton and Lyme Regis and so is well located for exploring East Devon and West Dorset. For Motorhomer's there is a bus stop at the junction of the lane and the main road. Alison sells eggs at the gate which were lovely. We enjoyed our stay and would happily return to this CL. Thank you Alison.

58 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ideal Rural CL

Pleasant 2 night stay at Rose Coombe Farm, slightly sloping field but short tidy grass with a closed gate and gravel entrance. The adjacent field was available for dog walks and due to zero light pollution the night skies were amazing. Very little passing traffic, well spaced EHU points, a couple of water taps and a good emptying point. Alison made us welcome, OS maps available and eggs for sale. Ideal location for visiting the busier coastal towns, would certainly recommend.

NigelBoo

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/09/2020 15:36

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Early Autumn 7 night stay

We were lucky to get a week long stay here in early September at short notice due to a cancellation. Lovely peaceful site 0.7 miles off the main road down a single track road. Despite my concern about meeting traffic, this was not an issue. We did meet an on-coming car on our departure but it immediately reversed up to allow us to get through to the main road. It is worth reading the advice given by the owner about how to approach the site as there are places nearby that you would not want to be towing a caravan. Alison, the owner, was very helpful, relaxed and friendly and made us feel welcome. The area is stunningly beautiful and we enjoyed all of our 7 days exploring the area. We would have welcomed more information on local walks, particularly from the site but I see others managed this so perhaps we could have made more effort ourselves. We did take a walk up to the nearby Musbury Hill Fort which provided a stunning vista. This is a lovely place and I would recommend it.

SueandAndrew Lake

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2019 16:04

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A wonderful and peaceful place

We booked a three night stay here, I wish it could have been longer, what a lovely place and Alison is so friendly and helpful. Fresh eggs available from the front gate each day, which were amazing. Seaton is only a hour bike ride away. Will definitely be back next year for longer stay next time. Thanks too, to Alison for the lone of your bike pump! See you next year.

MaGmotorhome

Motorhomer from Berkshire

Reviewed on 27/08/2019 00:09

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tucked away.

What a gem. Tucked away down a short but narrow lane. Friendly owner. Eggs. A lawned slightly sloping site. Tesco's at Seaton only about 15 minutes away. You might have to walk up the hill to get a mobile signal. TV is good according to the others on the site (I don't have one}. Do not approach through Lyme Regis but make a short loop via A358 and come from the west. The other reviewers obviously enjoyed their stay as did I.

hobbit

Caravanner from East Sussex

Reviewed on 10/08/2019 18:11

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great place to get away from it all

Great place, views are brilliant and Alison is so friendly. Took two dogs and the field was huge, plenty of space for many dogs to play. Site very clean and tidy, electric points nicely spaced apart. We had the pitch nearest to the gate and were the last to loose the sun in the evening. Fresh eggs for sale via an honesty box and Alison gave us a tour of her free holding. Goats, chickens and horses. No negatives about the site, gate might be a bit of an issue if you have a long van or motorhome. Lane is narrow up-to the site, but directions ate great and easy to follow. Already booked another visit for end of June.

Cujoandpippin

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/05/2019 10:35

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent peaceful site - great area

Spent 15 nights here in July / Aug - what a wonderful peaceful site it is. Plenty of room to pitch wherever you like (subject to power connections of where to pitch. Yes the field side retains sunshine longer into the evening - so that suited us more than hedge / road side. Very little traffic on road past site. Water points, CDP and recycling / litter bins all well provided and clean The site is very convenient for Seaton, Axmouth and Beer in one direction with Lyme Regis / Charmouth / Bridport in the other. The countryside around is very pretty and there are many opportunities for walking. One particular walk we enjoyed took us from the CL into the village, over the hill to Uplyme and then along the River Lym into Lyme Regis. Bus (hourly) back to site drops you at top of lane for short walk downhill to site. Further afield Colmer Hill on the Symondsbury Estate is a super walk rewarding the visitor with great views of the surrounding area. The site owner was superb in responding to emails - recommended places to eat, and the best route to approach the site. Whatever you do DO NOT TOW THROUGH LYME REGIS - very narrow and steep hills. Access to the site from the A35 is very straight forward. The last half mile to the site is a narrow country lane but other traffic was minimal and helpful. There are several eating places near the site - a super bakery / coffee (open till 2pm) stop up the lane in Rousden is quirky (it's in an old garage with some outside tables between redundant pumps!) provides excellent breakfasts and drinks - and the Ship Inn in Axmouth (went twice) provides good food, reasonable prices and very good service. Highly recommended site with helpful owner. Do give it your support!

daveNottingham

Reviewed on 02/09/2018 16:35

20 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Sheltered valley when needed!

We were lucky that this camp site was not fully booked as we left our previous site early due to excessive winds. That gave us 8 nights on this welcoming site. We came from the opposite direction from the instructions i,e from Seaton, The best advice is to take the second right (after the Dower House Hotel) The entry road is half a mile of narrow road with few passing opportunities although when you reach the site the entrance is easy enough with a nice wide swing. The welcome was friendly and genuine, I would advise pitching on the field side instead of the road/hedge side. There is no real road noise as the lane is not heavily used, but you do retain the sun longer on the western side in an evening. The site is well maintained and nicely set out as a basic CL with electric site. The area is great for walking, I have to admit that Seaton was not our cup of tea, but Tesco's is welcome for provisions, and the drive alongside the Axe is nice. Lyme proved pleasant in the warm evenings. Overall this is a nice quiet CL, and a good hideaway.

idristdragon

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2018 19:41

36 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great place to Relax

We have now used this CL for two visits within the same month - really lovely quiet site and so quiet and relaxing. The road to the site is a bit narrow but it is worth it for the quietness!! Alison is very friendly and we will definitely be returning soon.

jcf055

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/07/2018 12:25

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer