Skewes Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A recent review.

As the previous review was from 2019, we were slightly unsure of what we'd find but I am happy to report that all was well, and thought a recent review would be helpful for others. The site is private and secluded with trees all around. No issues of noise at all. Couple of hardstandings and some of grass. All electric hook ups with communal fresh water, grey and chem waste. Friendly and helpful owner, but not intrusive. Ideally placed for any visits to the whole of the southern coasts and corners of Cornwall. The only thing to be mindful of is the tight-ish field entrance. The gateway is beyond 90 degrees and needs care. We have a motorhome with tow car but I wouldn't attempt it without first unhitching the car. Clearly it's not a problem for cars and caravans, or our van on its own. Would we return? Yes.

BetsyBago321

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/08/2021 10:26

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We loved it here.

Great CL. On the map, it looks very close to a main road, but actually there is no noise at all, apart from the birdsong. Mostly level grassy pitches, lots of space and surrounded by trees. Also two hard standing pitches. Basic, but good facilities (shower plus toilet). Owners very pleasant and laid back. 5 minute drive (or 20 minute cycle) from great little sandy beach at Poldhu. Excellent Wifi plus EHU all for £13 - brilliant!

Bob and Me

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/05/2019 18:36

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice and secluded

Ideal base for exploring the Lizard. Cozy little site, well sheltered. Easy access. WC/shower facilities a bit basic, but acceptable. Very welcoming owner. Pub 300yds down the road is OK. Decent beer and cheap meals. Hopefully, the wifi is up and running properly at the CL next time we visit.

DottieD

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/06/2017 18:58

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well placed for whole of the Lizard

We visited in our motorhome for 10 nights,together with our two dogs whilst exploring much of the Lizard coastline and places beyond. On arrival the owner soon greeted us and made us welcome. The field itself, whilst adjacent to a working farmyard,is none the less surprisingly private, being sheltered by trees on all sides.The grass was well kept with plenty of room between pitches. Both the single toilet and shower are typical of many Farm CL's, basic and functional,but clean and usable.  As others have pointed out the pathway and steps leading down to the toilets are uneven,so my advice would be to use a torch at night. As dog owners we appreciated the very reasonable charge for dog sitting ....£10-00 for 2 dogs all day when visiting the Eden Project. Loved our stay. 

15 handicaper

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/08/2016 08:03

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

great location

We found this site to be ideally located for visiting the Lizard and also heading back towards Helston. It was a lovely quiet site and nice to be able to sit and watch rabbits and squirrels. Unfortunately we will not be revisiting as we found the facilities extremely poor compared to other cl sites. Our daughter is partially sited and we feel we should have been aware how dangerous the steps were down to the old shed which was a shower/toilet/information room in one. This was even worse after dark as you were on very uneven steps which were narrow and the site had no lights. I feel the club should set a minimum standard for facilities and if it is not reached then should be advertised as having none giving us a choice of whether to go to that site which we would not have. When providing facilities we also feel a clean hand towel should be available along with toilet paper

nickandbridget

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/08/2016 15:52

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice field, shame about the farm

Sorry it sounds a bit cruel about the farm but it was very tatty.  However, the caravan field was nice and very quiet.  If the toilet and showers weren't next to the farm the state of the farm wouldn't matter.  The lady at the farm was very nice though and helpful with information.  We had a nice stay and did a nice long coastal walk to the Lizard and caught the bus back.

RichieV

Reviewed on 25/05/2016 21:33

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Bank Holiday Break

Just returned from a 3 night break. Pleasant location with good access to the Lizard Area without having to drive too far back to Helston to do food shopping. (Great Farmers Market 1st Saturday in the month) Far enough from the main road not to notice traffic noise. There are 2 hard standing pitches at the top of the field and another 2 next to them on grass. The remaining pitch is slightly further down the slope. Hope to return soon, to revisit the various coves and beaches and walk on the coastal footpath.

nannyhelen

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/05/2016 19:05

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Soggy but very satisfying

Although the site was very soggy (end of November 15) we tucked ourselves onto the only 'firm' spot and it was totally delightful. Brilliant bus service on The Lizard so didn't move campervan until leaving to go home.

DevonL

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/02/2016 13:36

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely site if you have a car

A lovely big field with lots of space and very peaceful which suited us perfectly for what we wanted. Beware of the big apple tree as you come into the field as it hangs over a fair bit and you will need to go off of the marked drive to avoid scraping the vehicle.   We are big walkers and cyclists and the area is full of things to do.  We didn't have a problem with walking along the side of the road to get to places, but this may be an issue for others if you have dogs or children.

MikaTed

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/08/2015 19:25

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

April holiday

We can not see what other people see in this site. It was 3 days before we saw anyone but the dog, just the day before we were leaving. We found the toilet & shower was in the same room & was not very clean! The best thing about this site was the pub 250m down the road. The grass had been recently first cut & not picked up, constantly having to clean our M/H from the grass that was brought in.

jenjeff

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/05/2015 13:35

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer