Slapestone Villa

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The best CL we have been too in our limited yrs of Caravanning.

We arrived on a damp and windy Sunday afternoon and after getting the legs down and sited, Andrew decided to come and ask if we wouldnt rather have the beautiful view down the Valley? So we whipped the legs and 4 of us managed to spin the twin wheeler round. It is a fantastic little site within easy reach of the M6 and A66 and we found the access rather easy but did swing wide with the size of van. The owners Thelma and Andrew cant do enough for you and only need to ask for any directions etc. We have been very lucky in the full wk here that it only rained thru the day fully on one occasion, the rest was all overnight. We were sat outside on the chairs during the afternoons even though a little chilly at times but so tranquil looking down the valley. We have already booked for next yr and we will be paying it a visit in the not too distant future as well. Thank you Thelma and Andrew for a great wk.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our Favourite CL in Cumbria!

We have been coming to this CL for nearly 10 years now and it's in the top 5 of all the CL's we've stayed at in our 12 years of caravanning. Mrs Richie's late parents ran the CL for many years beforehand and they were lovely folk as are Thelma & Andrew - it's a compact site but very well kept and Mr & Mrs Ritchie are always pleased to see us. There is a bus stop just outside the CL and you can take the bus to Keswick or Penrith as well - Just around the corner is Rheghed Visitor Centre and we sometimes pop over to pick up a Wi-Fi signal or just a cup of coffee. I really can't praise Thelma & Andrew enough for their assistance and help over the years.. I should also note that Harry (Thelma's Dad who ran the CL with his late wife) passed away recently so I'm sure she & Andrew can be forgiven up there were one or two mix ups in bookings as per a previous review. Over our caravanning years we've kept a record and a rating of all the sites we been to and Slapestone Villa comes out at 88% (Five start all round)!
Caravanner from Tyne & Wear

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

3 day stop

Stayed here for 3 nights end of March 2018. Really nice site with fantastic views towards the mountains south of Ullswater. Easy access to public transport, and a nice pub in the nearby village of Stainton (Kings Arms Inn). Does great food, and the ale is not too bad either. No problems with booking, the pitch was marked clearly with our name to reserve the spot. Will definately be back.

Reviewed on

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Booking Disaster!

In June 2017, I requested 10-17th & 31st August 2017 + 1st September 2017 for the start and finish of our Scottish holiday with Mrs Ritchie (owner). She was unable to book the 31/08/2017 & 1/09/2017 as full. We were informed that the 7 nights pitch was on her additional site of two caravans. We arrived and found a note on door stating she was away, so we pitched on the only available 7th pitch where she described, set up our awning and settled down to tea. Mrs Ritchie's daughter then called and informed us that we were not booked in for August as her mother had booked us in for July 2017. Mrs Ritchie stated on the phone that she had another customer arriving the next day on a 3 night booking and that we would have to move off. The fact that we had booked last June for seven nights in August, me being a disabled pensioner and my wife with high blood pressure, made no difference as Mrs Ritchie was adamant that it was us who had to find an alternative site and not her or the other customer. Both my wife and I and her daughter were all upset, however, within an hour, her daughter had found another site just 5 minuets away and took me to view it prior to booking for the remaining 6 nights. She and her partner also helped us to dismantle our awning ready for departure. I am still waiting for an apology or explanation as to why Mrs Ritchie ever thought that we would want a booking in July when I explained in full our August bookings. Would strongly recommend an email or text message from Mrs Richie confirming your future bookings. Only for her daughters hard work and sympathetic understanding, I would have given this site one star.
Caravanner from Clwyd

Reviewed on

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely quiet site

Stayed here overnight onway to Berwick upon tweed, July 2017. Very friendly welcome and very easy to find with great access. Very quiet site with great views over countryside. Would recommend and will return again for longer stay.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Charming little site.

A little gem of a site ,great base for Northern Lakes. The site is well cared for with spacious pitches and wonderful views towards the fells. Convenient access to and from M6 . Beware of the narrow entrance especially if you have a large caravan. Site is good value for money.
Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on

22 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Convenient for Penrith

A well manicured site and dead easy to find. Its the only place I have ever stayed at that you can walk to a nearby service station to pick stuff up late at night. Just off the A66 its easy to find and has great views across the fields. There is a local bus service to Penrith and if your feeling energetic you can use the cycle path to the center of Penrith. Not totally sure what the drama was in a previous review regarding a manhole cover. No issue with filling up with water for our motorhome. At £9.00 a night its a bargain.

Reviewed on

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very handy CL

Very convenient for travelling north or south. Straightforward and easy directions. Tidy little site, would recommend.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Slapestone Villa, Penrith.. A real gem

This CL has 5 hardstanding pitches with EHU, and is easily access off the A66 from the M6, 2 mls away, towards Keswick. There are good views towards the Ullswater hills, and has a bus stop directly outside of the site, with an hourly bus service to both Keswick, and beyond, & Penrith in the other direction, where there is both an Aldi and a Morrisons for ones supplies. The whole of the Northern Lakes, are just on one's doorstep. as is the Cross Fell area of the Pennines! The site is about 500m of Rheged Centre where there a few local shops and is an exhibition centre. The National Cycle Route to Keswick passes by the site and there's a quiet lane and footpaths over the local fields close by suitable for walking one's dog(s). The site is a real value at only £9 per night and we will certainly use it again.

142 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

top class wee site

great for a over night stop for Scotland near all local amenities Penrith has every thing you would need a very tidy site well looked after Mr Cooper was a gentleman always had time for a wee blether
Caravanner from Ayrshire

Reviewed on

23 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer