Sorbie Primary School

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best CL site evet

This is one of the best CL site we’ve been to , Sue and Les made us feel so welcome they are friendly, thoughtfully laid out great use of the playground, they made us feel so safe in these times the showers and toilets were very clean we look forward to see you again in the near future

modeltractor

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/08/2021 13:23

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We can see why its won awards

We booked this site after the review in the Club magazine in 2019 and it certainly did not disappoint. The booking process was easy via e-mail & the reply was very quick. Sue was lovely, very welcoming and informative. The showers and toilets are gleaming and newer than my bathroom at home. The pitches are almost level and the site is well kept and very pretty. It is lovely to stay at an adult only site. It is a short walk from the village post office with basic provisions (only open mornings) and the Italian restaurant nearby can be recommended for take away pizza . There is a dog wash provided by the owners which came in handy, it meant our dog could have a swim in the sea and then get the salt washed off her. It was easy to use with the ability to clip your dog safely whilst washing it. Garlieston is near by with a great coastal walk and it was wonderful swimming in the sea after it had come in over the warm stones. The coastline round this area is beautiful. We visited Kirroughtree forest whilst here and that was lovely for a walk. Sorbie Tower is worth a visit too, you could walk from the site but sadly it is along roads. Our only gripe which was no fault of the site was the footpath we could have walked from the site along with the dog was so over grown it as impassable, we found that sadly with a few footpaths whilst in the area. I would thoroughly recommend this site and a big WELL DONE to Sue & Les for creating a haven of tranquility.

jacqs44

Reviewed on 29/07/2021 20:54

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb hidden gem

Had a fantastic 11 night stay here with our caravan! This site is amazing, there has been a huge amount of hard work done by the owners, who are very welcoming and accommodating. I think this was either third or fourth time lucky for us getting to finally stay here due to work commitments or covid restrictions and gosh it was worth the wait since I saw their site in the club October 2019 magazine. Communication via email was brilliant with Sue, can't fault anything. The facilities were five star and clean (have stayed on a few CLs now over the years and they were all pretty poor). No deposit taken which was great and the amazing value for money, beats the club sites hands down, so wish there were more CLs like this and adults only options. We were blessed with gorgeous weather and spent every day out exploring the area. We would love to come back again sometime, our dog loved his stay here. We had a really good Chinese take away in Castle Douglas (but don't visit the chippy, it was dire and we got our money back after complaining via email), the best meal we had was at the House o Hill near Newton Stewart, we got to book a table in the beer garden which was great as my husband won't eat inside just now due to Covid, paid a deposit over the phone, my husband is still raving on about the Thai chicken curry being the best he has ever tasted and we had our last meal at The Harbour Inn (we did book but we had to take our luck getting a table outside, thankfully we got one in what was a very hot day on our last day of our holiday), Lots of places to explore there are too many to mention. Suggest joining We love Dumfries and Galloway FB group and through this page we joined Dog friendly places to visit and eat Dumfries and Galloway FB group as these gave us lots of suggestions. Award wining site, thank you so much!

ar61een

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 21:17

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous

Turned up at Garlieston CAMC site 2 days earlier than we should have. No room at the inn…. Rang Sue and pleaded for a stopover for 2 nights. Squeezed us in and off we went. What a fabulous place and a really nice welcome. Pitch level, well laid out, field views, showers etc like at home (better actually!!) and we had great cycling to Port William and wandering around Stone circles and chilling out in the Italian restaurant about 5 yards away. You have to go, it’s brilliant- they have done a great job and it’s an absolute peach. Thanks Sue (and Les!!) Got to come back , just have to…..

davebt

Motorhomer from Northamptonshire

Reviewed on 17/07/2021 20:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL site with the best shower and toilet block.

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at this excellent well keep CL site, no wonder it has won awards. The shower and toilet block were better than home, spotlessly clean, heated, music and very inviting. The site is peaceful with wildlife all around. While at the site we used a combination of our Van and buses [Stop just at the front of the site] to visit Castle Kennedy Gardens, Garlieston and Portpatrick. Garlieston and the Harbour Inn are a must to visit. There is a post office in Sorbie to get papers, bread and milk, we ate at the Pheasant Inn on the site doorstep but the hype as authentic Italian food didn't quite match the expectations.

Chris and Val

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/05/2021 21:31

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent!

Excellent CL site. Easy access from A road but no road noise heard at night. Carefully landscaped – our pitch was level and wide enough for our campervan. Space at the side to pitch an awning if wanted. Easy to book with Sue via email and arrival time is flexible. The toilet and shower facilities are better than many hotels – best we’ve ever seen on a campsite. There are two toilets and two good sized showers plus a washroom in a heated area. There is also a dishwashing sink indoors and a dog wash outside. Plenty of sanitiser at all the places where it is needed. A track outside the drive is just right for early morning/late night dog walks. The Italian restaurant a few yards away does superb takeaway pizzas – would love to visit when it is fully open too. Only a few miles away from Garlieston if you want to check out the CMC site (though personally I'd rather stay here!) Stargazing is magical when the clouds go away. There is a whisky distillery a short distance away which does interesting tours. St Ninian’s café at Isle of Whithorn is dog friendly and does lovely food. The walk to St Ninian’s cave was great too. I’m sure we will be back to hopefully get some better night sky photos.

sjsticky

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/11/2020 15:22

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant site

We visited the site soon after sites were opened up in Scotland. and what a wonderful way to try our first CL. It was immaculate, well equipped (the facilities were second to none ) and well run and we were given a lovely welcome by the owners and if this is a reflection of the standard of CLs what a bargain these are!!

wattfield

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/10/2020 10:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just wonderful

Bit of a trek to reach, but Sue and Les have a superb set-up here. It is immaculately clean with the best toilet and shower facilities I've seen anywhere. We had awful weather when there and arrived with our van plastered in mud from the local tractors accessing the main road, but Les very kindly let me hose it all down before pitching up. Pitches are generous and level. Will definitely return as there is more to this area we would like to explore and the site would be even better in good weather.

MobilePW

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/08/2020 23:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb Sorbie

We had a lovely stay and can’t wait to return. Everything you could possibly need at this perfect little site. Les and Sue really friendly and helpful. The facilities are spotless and high spec. Would highly recommend, you will not be disappointed 👍

Sdk1963

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/08/2020 17:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous little site!

What an absolute Gem of a site. Personally I would be disappointed if you did not think this site was a delight. On arrival we were greeted by Les, who was busy giving the immaculate lawn a trim. Later Sue popped down to welcome us. These are two of the most welcoming wardens we have ever met. The pitch's are well laid out, the beds an abundance of colour. whilst there we saw deer in the field an abundance birds. The site is sheer tranquillity! The facilities are 5 star, beautiful quality and finish, they even popped down in the morning to fire up Alexa. We really cannot recommend this site highly enough. This site has to be a contender for CL OF THE YEAR.

graham5252

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2020 11:14

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer