Southwick Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Grand site for a stop over and much more

This CL is ideally situated for anyone wishing to visit Tewkesbury and the surrounding areas. It lies under 4 mls from M5 Junction 9, 1/2 ml off the A 38 and along a tarmac drive. There are 5 grass pitches with EHU in a small sheltered paddock, although there is not a lot of room between each pitch and they are overhang by tree branches. The site is nice and quiet although just off the main Tewkesbury/Gloucester road. Tewkesbury has most of the usual supermarkets and plenty of eateries as well as it's beautiful and interesting Abbey. From the site there is a series of footpaths which lead to the town itself in one direction and to Deerhurst, with its Odda's Chapel and Saxon church in the other then into the banks of the R. Severn. This is an ideal site for a stop off for those going both N and S on the M5. We would certainly use this site again.

163 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Why have we not been here before

What an amazing place this is. Friendly, clean, easy access, even with our large car/caravan outfit, this site provided exactly what we wanted for the end of our holiday. We amended our stay due to the weather forecast and so glad we added an extra night which allowed a complete and utter chill day, no fuss, no bother just peace, quiet and absolute tranquillity. Allowing to wander across the many paths and tracks on the land allowed for excellent dog walking and without even thinking 3 miles with my geriatric pair. Thankfully we parked under the trees which gave us some relief from the intense sun, that said I suspect if the weather had been different that would have been a different story. Only 3 miles from the M5 allows this absolute beauty accessible for those stop overs up and down to the south west or even if you want to explore the area more then this site is well worth a visit.

Janca

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 10/08/2020 16:32

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First Class C.L.

My wife and I ,plus Daughter ,son in law and two grandaughters, have visited this c.l. on several occasions, and we have always found it to be immaculate, E.H.U.,water, waste disposal and rubbish containers well maintainted ,clean and well maintained. Traffic noise is not noticable ,other than occasional sirens of emergency vehicles. It is a working farm ,which in my opinion adds to the "Country feeling." Owners and family are very friendly and sociable. We have been carravaning for over fourty years,and rate this as one of our favourite C.L.s.

nashy

Caravanner from Gloucestershire

Reviewed on 28/05/2020 00:39

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

lovely little site

what a lovely peaceful site! we were a bit wary on arrival as after a week of rain, we were worried about staying on grass. At our request, the owner, Mr Warner came to sort out some electric so we could stay on hardstanding. To be honest, the pitch here wouldnt have been great as it was alongside the barn with no views. Mr Warner asssured us that the grass was quite firm so we decided to stay on a grass pitch and hope that we didnt get stuck (the pitch was lovely and firm and we got off without incident despite a night of heavy rain). The grass pitches are lovely - set out in a little clearing with lovely views. We were the only unit on site so it was lovely and quiet and I cant say we heard any road noise. We took on walk to the Gupshill Manor pub on friday evening. A lovely pub but required a walk down the A38 which has a pavement of sorts but it was a bit tricky in places due to overgrowth so we were glad when we got off the main road. On Saturday we took a walk across the fields following directions from Mr Warner, into Tewkesbury. The walk was easy and flat and took about 30 minutes. We had a lovely time and a warm welcome from Mr Warner. At £14 a night, we thought this excellent value, and we will definitely be back. (re the dog comments on other reviews, sadly, the dogs do come onto the pitches and it seems that it is the neighbours at the adjoining houses that allow this; not sure if Mr Warner has any control over this - so do be aware if you stay here)

Sparkie63

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/09/2019 16:29

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A good stop over CL

Stayed here one night as a stop over on long journey. Nice flat field though could be a bit squashed if all 5 outfits on site. Very friendly owner and the bin, water area are well maintained. I did think it was a little pricey for a CL with no WC. That said, we would stop here again if needed.

Rachel Goldby

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/09/2018 09:48

23 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely stop over

Thank you Mr & Mrs Warner, we needed a break from a long journey, Southwick Farm was halfway. Was a lovely peaceful resting place after a busy 10 days. Was not going into town, but took walk down lane a bus was due. So popped into beautiful Tewkesbury. Will definitely be back to stay longer at Southwick Farm and visit the surrounding area. Joan Costard and Mike Bluck.

BLUCKY

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/08/2018 12:51

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Expect a working farm and you wont be disappointed

Mr and Mrs Warner are the perfect hosts, in as much as they are not in your face but if you want advice or help they are there. The farm is mainly a crop farm and the only evidence is in July when they are hay making, Tewkesbury is about 15-20 minuetes away by foot and car parking in the town is cheap. Tewkesbury Abbey is well worth a visit and you can even take a well controlled dog in (on the lead of course) At £14 a night with EHU it's a good price ok there is no toilet block but who cares even the Elsan has a big flushing disposal point but the surrounding views are beautiful. This is the second time that we have been and it wont be the last.

crusader

Caravanner from Warwickshire

Reviewed on 19/07/2018 09:07

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

nice place shame about the dog mess

We visited this CL for a second time recently. The first time we visited, the camping field as it is now, did not exist and we were parked in the farmyard with electric hook up in a nearby barn. This suited us well as there was no-one else there. This time the field was well appointed with pitches/hook-up and water nearby. Each pitch was a little bumpy so ramps were required to get level, but the area was nice and shady. Even though we were well off the main road there was still quite a bit of loud traffic noise-probably inevitable these days. Access was down a narrow single track road which served as the exit too-fortunately we didn't meet any other outfits coming or going at any time. The one fault I would find with this CL was the amount of dog mess we found on our pitch over the couple of days we were there. We had to clear it up daily in order to just walk around the area without treading in it. We are dog owners ourselves so found this pretty awful-goodness knows how a non-dog owner would find it. I cannot blame the dogs belonging to other CL users, I don't believe they were responsible as the owners were picking up, it appeared that dogs coming from nearby properties were responsible. Quite honestly this is unacceptable and is something that needs checking. We were also a little surprised to see a field on the other side of the access road also equipped to accommodate caravans and motorhomes. There were 3 other units in this field whilst we were there. I was under the impression that a CL was supposed to be a quiet location with a lilmit of 5 units? CAMC perhaps you ought to inspect locations from time to time?

Pcrook9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/07/2018 20:58

9 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Is There More Than One CL Here?

Beware - how many CL's are there here? The CL field is grassed and level, surrounded by tall trees and hedges but across the access road is another field with electric points which during our visit housed a further 6 units - making 11 in all while we were there. There were comings and goings as this site is obviously used as a stopover from the M5 so beware. It isn't tranquility as some have suggested in peak season.

paul56

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 09/08/2016 09:34

48 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

would stay again

found this cl easy to navigate to , nice flat ground well kept and peaceful location, on booking owner said pull up and make yourself at home' so relaxing, if ever in the area will stay again.

fronteraman

Reviewed on 01/08/2016 19:15

11 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer