Spillers Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Many visits

We have stayed here four times, lovely and peaceful, this year there are more seats and tables around the lake to enjoy watching the Canada geese. The only negative is that is not an easy site to walk from. Recommend Jayne's home made preserves.

wildlifewarden

Reviewed on 28/08/2020 10:41

43 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An idyllic CL in a lovely location

We've just returned from a pleasant 10 night summer stay. A lovely location, where we were warmly welcomed by the CL owner. A relatively small field, however, units were carefully positioned to provide the best views for all, where there was still plenty of space for our youngest daughter to practice her gymnastics. The private lake provides an ideal area for quiet contemplation, as well as being an idilic spot to watch the sunset. It's just a shame that our last couple of nights were marred by a couple of incredibly inconsiderate CL users, the important thing though is that the CL owner was quick to act, for which we are grateful. We look forward to returning some time in the future and would definately recommend to others.

SN8E

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/08/2020 19:03

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Value for money

The only thing that could improve this lovely site is perhaps a loo and shower. However the views, the lake (including some resident otters that Carl was unaware of!) and the location for getting out and about made this a wonderful 4 night stay recently. Our dog also had freedom to walk around the lake with us and was chased by the 2 friendly ewes, followed by the otter (not so friendly!) Would definitely recommend it 😁

TheTimms

Reviewed on 05/07/2018 00:11

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A pleasant 4 night stay

The access is easy and the view from the front lovely. We wouldn’t have been so happy if we had been at the back. Recycling is good as is the toilet disposal point. TV reception fine and good 3G on both Three and 02. The price is also right as after just returning from 2 months touring Australia we are finding UK site prices to be very top heavy. A site in Oz with blocks of showers and toilets plus a swimming pool can be around 35AUD or even as low as 22AUD if you get a ‘deal’. That’s around £10-18. How is it that UK farmers want to charge £15 for absolutely nothing? At least at Spillers they charge £10 which is about right for a very small site (it’s definitely much less than half an acre) and which was quite boggy in places. We liked it and hope that other CL’s follow suit and charge realistic amounts when no facilities are provided.

sadlybroke

Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on 13/05/2018 07:05

57 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A really lovely site

We agree with all the good comments made by other reviewers. The views are lovely, the access is easy and the facilities very good. We even enjoyed the company of the very friendly pigs. We would definitely recommend this site for anyone wanting to visit the area.

Jawans

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/09/2017 16:17

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Long Weekend

We have just returned from a long weekend, the site was as described and the owners gave us a nice warm welcome. We found the toilet emptying system to be very good, it is a shame some sites do not copy it. Although you can walk around the lake for quick dog exercise, a short drive to the village of Colyton was well worth it as there you can visit as good a church as you are likely to see, plus nose around the little streets, get a tram ride to Seaton, or go for an easy walk along the flat river Coly bank, which i believe stretches all the way to Axmouth. There are also a number of seats where you can just sit and relax. This was our first visit to this site but hopefully will not be our last.

wildlifewarden

Reviewed on 16/05/2017 15:57

43 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wet Easter weekend

Access to this site is straight off busy main road but 'road noise' wasn't a big problem.The site has new owners who were very helpful and keen to have 'feedback' about their new venture. The caravans/motorhomes are allocated spaces along the edge of the field which allows maximum views across the open fields ,facing west for maximum sun...if it's out! It is a very exposed site. There is a lake which have seats and picnic tables dotted around. The services are clean,adequate and well positioned. The weather was exceptional ,raining almost constantly which left the ground waterlogged and soft. We had great difficulty pulling our caravan off site even with a 4x4.Our friends in their motorhome had no chance but the owner did all he could to help. There aren't any hardstandings on this flat level site. The site is ideal for the local coastal tourist spots and we'll d use it again, I'm sure. Finally, we enjoyed a really nice meal at the "Harbour inn" Axmouth. Friendly staff in a typical thatched Devon Inn

carmary

Caravanner from West Sussex

Reviewed on 29/03/2016 08:18

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A really lovely spot!

Thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend at this site! A quiet spot, well off the main road with no traffic noise, flat throughout with all 'facilities' readily available and close at hand.  Out in the Country with some very lovely views - and indeed a splendid lake 'on site' to enjoy!   Very close to Lyme and Seaton - and a 'local' Tesco too. The 'local' ducks are so enjoyable!  Take a extra loaf of bread - especially if you have children!  The caravan door opens -they're there ready and waiting to be fed! Thank You Mr. Trayling for your hospitality!  

VAG6S

Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on 12/04/2015 17:05

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

hear again

3rd time here still relaxing as last times.

millermiller

Reviewed on 04/08/2014 16:23

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

5 day break

second time here nice relaxing site came with another caravan with children they loved it what with the ducks, pigs, lake, etc. mr mrs k trayling  very good housts.

millermiller

Reviewed on 08/06/2014 07:32

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer