Spray House Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great stay at Spray House Farm

Fantastic CL with views to die for, it is a walkers paradise with access directly from the site straight onto the moors and the kinder area. The owner was very friendly and helpful, lending us an OS map of the area. The access road is steep but not a problem and the site was very easy to find. The pitches are laid out on hardstanding and totally suitable for our motorhome, site clean, tidy and well maintained. Will definitely return

Kev Bod

Caravanner from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 21/08/2020 18:55

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Weekend, Beautiful Views

We spent a lovely weekend at this CL in August, the entrance is off the main road and we had no problem entering the farm road, approaching from Chapel en le Frith. It is uphill to the site, but didn't have any problems The site is a large field, grass cut nice and short but yes it does slope, the owners have set small hard-standings into the grass which are almost level. They are big enough for a caravan/motorhome but not an awning. As another reviewer says putting up an awning on some of the pitches would be difficult, but with the EHU points spread out across the field it's possible to pitch on a more level area. Water and waste facilities are very good. Electricity is metered. The views from the site are beautiful and apart from a bit of aircraft noise as it's on the flight path for Manchester airport we found the site peaceful. The Sett Valley way is just down the road and good for walking or cycling to New Mills. The Lantern Pike Inn just down the road was very friendly, dogs made welcome too, we enjoyed a very good Sunday Lunch there. There is no pavement on the road so although walkable, I wouldn't recommend it. We really liked this CL and it was handy for us to get into Manchester to visit our son & we hope to use it again.

49 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic views but ...

... As others have said, access can be tricky, particularly if coming from Glossop where the LEFT hand turn is not only tight, but has a steep incline. Location not helped by the official gps coordinates being out by about half a mile! Not mentioned is that electric is by coin meter - make sure to bring £1 and/or £2 coins. It can be tricky to get level but perfectly possible. Views are amazing but there is, understandably, farm noise.

dadredge

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/07/2018 15:45

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful, amazing views

This is a very small site with 5 small hard standings. Absolutely ideal for our Autosleeper. The site is basic but extremely tranquil and beautiul. The owners are very friendly. We had the most lovley evening sitting with a glass of wine watching the lambs racing around the field, the views of the High Peaks are amazing.

Erika Bake

Reviewed on 20/05/2017 23:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Cracking Views......Shame about the pitches!

Stayed for 3 nights over the May day Bank Holiday weekend..... Pleasant CL with absolutely cracking views over the Peak District towards Little Hayfield....! Good TV and mobile Phone signals, left alone by the owners, only spoke to them to pay them. Now the down sides....... Access the site from the Little Hayfield side. We accessed from Glossop turning left into the farm entrance. This is reasonably tight resulting in my having to swing out onto the opposite side of the road with the hazards on. The Access road is quite long and steep (again, accessing from the right gives you a better run at it! Now the site.....this has quite a slope on it despite very little warning on the website. The pitches are 'hard standing' but are narrow and have been dug into hillside using quite deep kerbstones. The pitch is just the width of a standard tourer, I doubt you'd fit on a new 8ft wide model. We then had to pitch our porch awning onto the grass hillside.....I wouldn't say the slope is harsh but we didn't need the caravan step for weekend! Also, because of the slope, we couldn't actually sit in the awning....your beer slid off the table! There were two pitches at the bottom that looked slightly flatter but you had to get your unit close to stone wall. Pulling off a sloping grass site in the rain tested by 4x4 driving skills as well (although can't blame the owners for the weather!) Be warned this is a working sheep farm....if the sound of the farmer bombing round on his quad will annoy you, then don't do in lambing season. Such a shame really, a little investment into making the pitches better and access on and off the field and this would be a little cracker......the views are amazing.

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely an peacefull

Stayed here for our 1st holiday in our Motorhome a week ago. The weather added to the brilliant experience. Lovely little site fantastic views and very peacefully. Made very welcome by the owners. This is a great place for walking and chilling out. For us who aren't avid walkers it's a bit away from things. That's why the 3 stars.  We did however have a ramble for a few hours which was lovely. We walked into Little Hayfield and Hayfield itself which wasn't to bad just had a panic on about a 1/4 of mile of the road there is no pavement. We tried the pub down the road for our tea on the way back and would definitely recommend it. If we needed at couple of days chilling we would go again as its only an hour away for us. 

Mallywally

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/07/2016 15:12

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We Love this Place.

We have been visiting Spray House for over ten years now and we have had a great time, every time. Please do not be put off by the access comments as I have negotiated this easily with all types of cars over the years and more recently a large twin axle caravan. The site has five leveled 'plots' but there is plenty of wooden blocks available if you require. Mr and Mrs Mellor are very welcoming and pleasant. Views are stunning and the wall protects you from road noise. Very reasonably priced and a great place if you have small children or grandchildren as they can play safe in the field. Beautiful !!!

ColinandLisa

Reviewed on 27/06/2016 09:54

1 review

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Here again!

This is the third time we have stayed at this little slice of heaven. As several others have stated, the access to this site is not the easiest but just take your time and it is not a problem. The views and the solitude are worth the effort! We have always found the owners to be very nice.

Mitzys Dad

Reviewed on 19/10/2014 17:14

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Review Part 2: Pros

With the difficulties of the terrain you might wonder what there is to say that is positive. Plenty. First of all the view. You are high up with great views of the surrounding hills. Secondly the peace. Though you are close to the A624 the 5 foot tall stone wall the surrounds the CL on three sides blocks most of the traffic noise. You can hear the red grouse on Laygatehead Moor above the CL. Thirdly the CL is maintained to a high standard. The grass was low when we arrived but was still cut when we were there, the bins were emptied regularly. Finally you can really get away from it all by going onto the moor above the CL. The grazed fields climb up from the CL so you can only see the peak of the moorland in the distance. Mr and Mrs Mellor permit CL users to walk through the farmyard to a gate at the edge of the moor and only 100 m from the bridle path the crosses the moor to Kinder Reservoir and beyond to the Pennine Way and Kinder Scout. Even on the busiest of days in the Peaks you’ll only see a handful of walkers on the bridleway. Mrs Mellor was very welcoming pointing out several interesting walks and kindly offering to lend us a map.

MountainView

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/09/2014 19:51

35 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Review Part 1: Cons

There are 2 gradient problems with this CL, the approach and the field itself. The farm drive is not 90 degrees to the road: if you are travelling from the north it is 140 degrees back on yourself. The drive access is wide. We approached from the north and needed to pull onto the wrong side of the A624 to swing into the drive. This wasn’t a problem, visibility it good. The problem is the steepness of the drive. The drive rises 40 m over its length of 320 metres = 1 in 9 which doesn’t sound much but if you’re coming from the north you’re doing the climb from almost stationery as you swing in off the A624. Whichever direction you’re coming from you will be brought to a standstill at the cattle grid about 30 metres from the A624. The grid has been filled in but is generally not used so all vehicles use the gateway to the side. The gate has been removed and the gap between the posts is about nine foot so width isn’t a problem. What is more an issue is the gateway and cattle grid are level whereas the driveway gradient is 1 in 9. The transition is abrupt and those that have taken it too fast have left their marks on the tarmac. The drive tarmac has seen better days. Our Ford Galaxy dual-clutch auto which has never complained pulling us up any hill before did not like this drive at all and juddered all the way up. Towards the top of the drive you swing off to the right over a gravel area. This is slightly steeper and the gravel resulted in our front wheel drive car losing some traction. This was all on a dry day. This isn’t the steepest CL access we have negotiated and has been used by many. But keep in mind that if you have a heavy van (ours is max 1485kg = 85% of kerb weight) or long (ours shipping length 23’9”) then you need to know what to expect. The CL field slopes steeper at 1 in 7. There are six hardstand level pitches. Each is just large enough for a van. Because of the steepness of the field four of the pitches run along the contours so you pitch facing along the hill. Two of the pitches are near the fence at the top of the CL, two in the middle and two at the bottom. The four higher pitches are on the steepest ground. These four hardstands are retained by road grade kerbstones set in concrete. The lower two hardstands are on leveller ground and don’t need the kerbstones. You don’t have to park on the hardstands, but I suspect the field is too steep for longer vans to get level front/back if the axle is placed along the contour. The steepness of the ground makes awning siting difficult. The access track from the drive leads straight to the two top pitches: literally through one to the other. The other four are surrounded by grass. There is also an eclectic point that is only grass. Electricity is supplied through coin operated meter. Personally I feel this is a good idea because many farm CL owners complain about caravanners wasting electricity heating awnings etc. The meter ensures everyone thinks about how they are using their electricity.

MountainView

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/09/2014 19:50

35 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer