Stybeck Farm

Rated 3 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Site ideal for walking and touring

This CL is on a working farm in the most beautiful location. There is a small sloping field at the back of the farm buildings on the fells for members but we were at the side of the farm entrance road, known as the lane, overlooking Thirlmere, it was just beautiful there was very little traffic just deliveries to the farm. The Farmers Wife is very helpful supplying sky box and cable to plug into the pole with the satellite connection as there is no TV reception with the aerial . We went for a week and stayed for two.

suzmaruk

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/07/2017 15:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We renamed it Pigsty Farm

We were excited at booking a CL in the middle of the beautiful Cumbrian fells. However, the experience wasn't what we had expected. The CL is situated just above the farm yard on a patch of waste ground with no outlook whatsoever, and there was generally a strong smell of manure being in such close proximity to the farm yard (and I was raised on a farm). It was absolutely impossible to pitch our twin axle caravan on the proposed site (although we had informed them of its size on booking) and I am used to used to reversing tractors and trailers. There was also old concrete/tarmac around the pitch which would have made pitching an awning impossible. On walking to the farm house to speak to the owners, I was bitten on the hand by one of the many farm dogs roaming loose (not great for our little children), but this was vehemently denied by the farmer's wife (who was no where to be seen, but who we contacted by email later). There were also caravans pitched on the side of the farm drive (exceeding the limit of five per cl). I had trouble getting off the site due to the lack of space and off we went. This left us in a tricky situation as we had four young children, had travelled from South Wales, and were here for two weeks. We were fortunate to get a pitch on another site. In all, a disaster of a cl which shouldn't be in existence. Those who have enjoyed the site are welcome to it...

Ystradisaf

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/03/2017 00:03

1 review

6 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Farmers Yard!

This is not a CL site - it is a farmers yard. A tiny grassed area is provided which can only fit three units on at a squeeze and if you're not one of them, you park on the track leading to the farm yard itself. I have stayed on many working farms but this one took the biscuit - dog excrement everywhere, dogs barking constantly, tractors on the move ALL the time and a cockerel housed just yards away from the site. A big disappointment, left after one very long disturbed night.

LSW

Reviewed on 20/02/2017 15:54

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great place to stay.

Had three nights here and could have stayed more. A really lovely spot near the edge of Thirlmere. Quite a sloping site so levellers are a must.  Very friendly and welcoming owners. On a farm, so it's interesting to watch the goings on.Even seeing the sheep gathered by motorbike up on the fell! Walk up the lane from the farm and you can get up to walk along to Helvellyn. Pub is an easy walk away and bus stop close by. A very good place today tour this part of the lakes. 

ImalaPhil

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/08/2016 15:56

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A working farm

I can't believe some of the reviews. Someone books a CL on a working farm and complains about smells! It's called the countryside. We had a friendly welcome from the owner and the site has stunning views. Yes, it is a bit of a walk to the cassette disposal, must be all of 50 yards. Yes, they have dogs, it's a working stock farm. That's what gives it something of its character. We were very happy with it. 

Blackdeath

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/06/2016 20:35

9 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

No complaints here!

After booking then reading the reviews, we were panicking and considered looking else where. However, glad we didn't, yes this is a working farm - not a small holding with caravanning on site. The cockerel and hens were excellent amusement for our son, they did not disturb our sleep and we were 10 yards away (we stayed 5 nights). There are dogs - it is a working diary farm - they were not imprisoned, but kept in the barn/vehicles until required to work, all were absolutely fine with our dog. Beautiful surroundings, fabulous views. Yes the waste disposal is basic but functional. I suppose it depends what you expect and want from your site, but we found all the family who lived there very friendly and helpful. We would/will return without hesitation. Thanks for a lovely holiday Stybeck farm

MWadsworth

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/06/2016 21:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Noisy Dogs

The problem with this site is the owners dogs.  There are several dogs and they are either chained up, locked up in a barn or imprisoned in the back of a farm truck.  As a result they bark incessantly and the barking is only interspersed by the owner screaming at them to shut up.  The actual CL is also not up to the average standard with particular emphasis on the chemical dump which is a long walk with no tap to rinse the cassette.

Tincataylor

Reviewed on 17/09/2015 17:40

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Never again.

Bad start as Google says farm is further down road than it is. On arrival no one around found cl up a hill in a pokey corner no room for 5 units let alone awnings and cars. Very uneven. Lady appeared said park in lane so we did but dog shit everywhere and dogs barking g. Was too small for a CL the whole place was dirty and stunk keeping us awake all night with the pong. My advise go somewhere else we did we left only stayed one night and moved on. The picture is from the lane not the CL!!!!!!!

ChrisSpringall1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/07/2015 13:34

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location shame about the dogs

Great location for walking up Helvelyn to Keswick or around Thirlmere BUT unfortunately the site is very small and the farm dogs are allowed to run free peeing up the awning, aqua roll etc and crapping everywhere which is not dealt with only by yourself. It's a farm we understood that but there has to be some standards. Stay at Borrowdale club site instead.

rossifluff

Reviewed on 08/06/2014 15:01

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Views

On arrival in Early June, had a look up at the small uneven pitching area and, since we didnt intend to put up an awning, decided to copy others and pitch on the verge alongside the entrance lane. Great views from here but, not surprisingly in view of the location, no tv reception. Nice clean toilet.

MartinPauc

Reviewed on 29/10/2013 16:10

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer