Tax Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super views of surrounding valley & hillside

We have little to add to all the other positive reviews for Tax Farm. We had 5 nights there in September 2020 and the site was full every night. There were some spectacular sunsets as well as a cloud inversion one morning! The walk from the site into the wooded valley below isn’t through the farmyard as you might expect. You need to go back up the entrance road & follow the left track towards Tax Cottage – it is a byway/footpath. It does appear that you are trespassing when you come across the yard associated with the cottage but persevere. There is also a nice walk above the site through Farley Woods with cyclable tracks & various offshoot footpaths. The easiest entry point is if you turn left out of the site onto the riad for about 300 yards and, opposite a small layby, is a footpath that will lead you in. We would recommend this CL for a peaceful break with wonderful views from the two tiered hardstanding areas.

Pilgrimphil

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 16/09/2020 15:42

41 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful views

What a great find this site is. On a quiet lane above Matlock, with stunning views over the valley below and with walks from the site, especially to the valley below. We had a wonderful 7 nights here and, even on a rainy day, enjoyed chilling our caravan watching the changing view.

LuLuBabs

Reviewed on 29/08/2020 11:49

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Please don't tell anyone but this is a gem !!!

You know how it is, sometimes you find a CL that is so lovely that you really don't want to give it a great review as you want to keep it a secret. !?!?! This is one of those gems that stands out from the crowd, others have commented on the access both locally and on the site itself which to be fair is steep and a little rough but once you have navigated to one of the two tiers you are presented with some of the most incredible views from enormous serviced pitches so worth just a few moments care to get there. I can imagine that a FWD drive car pulling a big van up from the bottom tier might be 'fun' on a slippery day but the owners are so helpful I'm sure they would be more than happy to help. We were blessed with some of the most un-seasonal weather possible in September and sat out each evening watching a stunning sunsets whilst BBQing and having a glass of wine and waking the following morning to incredibly still and tranquil morning sometimes looking down on the the mist filled valleys below. The surrounding area is beautiful with local walks in to Two Dales and many places of interest a very short drive away, we enjoyed Chatsworth, Buxton, Bakewell ( don't forget to sample both the tart and the pudding! ) and walking the Monsal Trail amongst others. We saw very little of the owners which was fine, they were there when we needed them but otherwise kept out of the way, clearly very busy working the farm which was also fascinating to watch from our perch on the hill. Communication was excellent with emails confirming the booking and clear instructions with safe directions for arrival, you wouldn't want to come in the obvious route from Matlock !!! One last thing....Please don't all rush off and book this site as we will return many times and don't want to find it full !!

GrahamT

Caravanner from Norfolk

Reviewed on 23/09/2019 21:58

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Breathtaking

This really is a stunning location, I could have sat and drunk in the view for days! Sadly, we were only there for one night but this a site I would definitely return to and recommend. I must say also, the website, pre arrival information etc was also excellent and in fact far better than many full blown commercial sites. Many thanks to the site owner for all their obvious work and commitment to providing such a facility.

bythesea

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/05/2019 17:04

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely spacious site

Lovely spacious site, clean, and well planned with 5 pitches on two flat tiers exactly as described in the write up and web page. Fabulous views and very convenient for Matlock and Matlock Bath. Not sure why the previous reviewer commented on constant traffic noise. We found it to be quiet with just the very occasional tractor passing by. It is, after all, a working farm, although no noise whatsover could be heard from the farm itself, being 150 yards away, and very little traffic on the top road. Joolz, the lady owner, is friendly with lots of local information, although she likes to remain discreet to respect the privacy of guest's. Unfortunately, we forgot to bring our map of the area which was bought on a previous visit to the Peak District. Without asking, Joolz volunteered to lend us her personal ordnance survey map which was very kind of her. Overall a lovely place to stay, but as you would expect in the heart of the Peak District, be aware that some of the walks can be strenuous. Denise & David

Droitwich

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/05/2019 15:46

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Derbyshire Gem

Just back from Tax farm after a 6 night stay , the pitches are large & flat with extensive views over the lovely Two dales valley & beyond . We did the walk down to the waterfall it is steep but manageable if you take your time , we know the area well but still found 2 new places we hadn't visited before . Many thanks to Joolz for making our visit a very pleasant one & her much appreciated help on the morning we left . Garry & Sheena .

compass362

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/10/2018 09:20

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Little peace of heaven

Arrived in bad weather but nothing could take the stunning views from this site, away from us. Very easy and unintrusive payment method which allows people to get on with your holiday. A central position to visit all the lovely places in the Derbyshire Dales. Matlock has a good shopping area with a new Marks and Spencer's for the lovely food deals. We have two dogs and enjoyed the forest walks great locally. Although we had two dismal days weatherwise, we still got to see lots of this great area Bakewell Market on Monday, dovedale and Ilam country park plus Carsington Water. We had two lovely days which enhanced the wonderfully autumnal scenery from the caravan. Would highly recommend and we will return in the spring as it is only 20 miles from home. Do not be put off by the approach road to the tiers. We had no problem getting in or getting out. The routes in are recommended by the site and CAMC. Thankyou Joolz for a lovely place to stay.

rowan sills

Reviewed on 18/10/2018 15:14

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing hillside location

Met on arrival with a friendly welcome. We were on the top tier overlooking the valley into Two Dales giving great sunsets. Follow directions given as you could get into problems in Two Dales with a caravan. The site has all we wanted and well spaced out and level hard standing. If you want space and views it's a brilliant choice. Forget the negatives on access, it's a working farm and what you expect sometimes. You don't get the views like this on flat boring big sites. Don't be put off , we managed fine with a twin axle without a mover !

stusal

Caravanner from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 21/09/2018 10:43

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely views

Excellent CL with beautiful views from all pitches, and great sunsets. Pitching areas were spacious and having water and waste on all pitches made it as convenient as being at home. As we were coming from the west, we approached via Matlock itself, but even with a large twin axle we managed fine to negotiate the sharp left turn off the main road. You can also continue to the nearby roundabout and come back to make the turn much easier. The road up from Matlock is quite steep and twisty, with plenty of parked cars, so best attempted before everyone gets home for the evening. Leaving, we were going north so used the suggested route, which was very easy. Do not try to come up from the A6 through Two Dales to Jaggers Lane as that bit of the road is narrow and twisty and there are also parked cars. The farm track is steep and quite bumpy, so best taken slowly. Very pleasant and helpful owners. The basic price at the time of our visit (July 2018) was £17.

KjellNN

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/07/2018 17:05

8 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing views

Only stayed one night, ( 6th May 2018) but this site is added to our longer stay wish list already. We had beautiful weather,which always helps. The views are pretty stunning and being tiered you cannot see more than the two other rigs on the top tier. Views extend across a very green beautiful english valley. We were treated to hot air balloons in the distance as the sun was setting. Teenagers wandered into Matlock and had a fabulous time in the park on motorboats, and feeding ducks. We stayed put and put our feet up with a beer. Shared EHU, but fresh water and grey waste at each pitch,and the pitches are very big. There is a recycling bank and somewhere to empty your chemical waste ... chemical toilets need green eco chemicals. Very peaceful and although we stayed put, there are woodland walks all about. Our Sat Nav took us straight there and yes its a bit steep and uneven driving down from the top road but it wasnt awful and only a few metres, and it was wide enough for our 8m moho to reverse park into our spot. Hardstanding is stone chippings, but again ideal , and knowing which pitch you have before you arrive means park up, hook up and enjoy.

Janine Morris

Reviewed on 08/05/2018 21:40

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer