Templehall

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovey site but excessive mowing

Just returned from a 7 night stay at Templehall CL, and would really like to award the site 5 stars but unfortunately we are going to award 3. The CL is in a great location to visit St Abbs, Coldingham bay which is a lovely dog friendly sandy beach, as are most beaches here, and many other local attractions. The pitches are spacious with distant see views, site easy to find off a quite road which is well sign posted, two local pubs in town, the Anchor not dog friendly so haven’t visited, the New Inn is dog friendly if quite tired, looks a bit unloved but friendly staff, food ok, what not to like! Well the constant drone of the owners industrial lawn mower for 3 or 4 hours from around midday EVERY single afternoon. I applaud the diligence and effort involved keeping the grass neat which has been mentioned and commended in other reviews however Mr Dickson not only mows the CL but the surrounding paddocks for hours at a time going over and over the same areas. We hoped to spend our holiday relaxing in the afternoons enjoying the CL after some sightseeing in the mornings, by admiring the view, listening to birdsong and reading quietly however this was just not possible. Yes the CL is immaculate and if you spend most days out sightseeing then you may well appreciate the effort involved however due to the incessant, in my view obsessive mowing it was difficult to fully enjoy this otherwise lovely CL.

Gregorys27

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/09/2021 15:45

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL Site

Received a warm welcome from Andrew who helped us on to our pitch. The CL grass is kept in tip top condition, I think Andrew must cut the grass nearly every day. Coldingham village has a couple of pubs to choose from and from the bay there are some scenic walks along the coast. We ventured into Eyemouth where we had the best fish supper at Giacopazzis so if you enjoy a fish supper that’s the place to go. Summing up this CL site must be one of the best in Scotland and well worth a visit.

Sandest

Caravanner from Angus/Forfarshire

Reviewed on 26/05/2021 14:30

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Mature Couple

Excellent, brilliantly maintained site. Agree with the other reviews. Very helpful owner. We thought that the toilet emptying point was the most immaculate we had ever seen on a CL. Very good access. Easy walk to the sea - Coldingham Bay was beautiful, as was St Abbs and St Abbs Head. We will return.

ashbourne7

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/10/2020 18:46

50 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A real gem of a site

We spent a wonderful 12 nights at Templehall in our caravan. The site is very well kept and great care had been taken to make it Covid secure. We could see the sea and the beach is just a walk away. We spent some time walking the coast path as there are some amazing bits of coast and sea birds to see. We enjoyed the peace and quiet but were woken one morning by a gull tap dancing on the roof and then pecking at the sun roof! A really lovely site that is easy to find from the A1 and a wonderful place to stay for walking.

LAF

Caravanner from Norfolk

Reviewed on 05/09/2020 19:38

20 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and Relaxing

We have just spent 3 wonderful nights at Templhall CL , the owner Andrew took time to explain the facilities and showed us the pitches they are well kept pristine , each pitch has it's own fresh water tap drainage for your grey water also with power supply . The views across fields are fantastic and we could see the sea in the distance. A huge credit to Andrew the proprietor who has clearly put his heart and soul into maintaining this beautiful CL site . We will certainly be returning , thank you Andrew . David and Geraldine Forrest

DavidForrest

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/07/2020 15:51

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Highly recommended CL in beautiful part of The Borders

From the nearby A1, the site was easy to locate and the CL entrance provided easy access for our twin axle caravan. Immediately upon our arrival, we received a very warm welcome from the CL Owner, Mr Dickson, who ensured that we were made familiar with all excellent amenities and the local area. The lawn standard CL is maintained to a very high standard, with grass collected so that it does not trample into caravans - clearly Mr Dickson takes very great pride in it for the benefit of his guests. Very good access to many local places of interest, our favourite being Eyemouth where in the harbour area we were able to watch the seals, enjoy some delicious fish and chips and a drink in one of the several quaint public houses. The site is extremely peaceful and the coastline is very picturesque, with Berwick upon Tweed only about 30 minutes away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Templehall and were sad when it was finally time to leave ! We would highly recommend this perfect CL to anyone visiting this area of the country and hope to visit it again ourselves at some time in the future.

TI5AVA

Caravanner from North Yorkshire

Reviewed on 06/10/2019 17:29

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Gorgeous location, Lovely site

Our favourite site so far. The owner is friendly and helpful. We arrived earlier than expected so he whipped out his ride on mower and tidied up the pitch immediately. Really nice grass pitch in a calm and relaxing location. Lots of room for van and awning. No showers or toilets but this did not detract from the sites appeal. The surrounding area matches in beauty. The local pub serves a good Sunday lunch and the butcher is helpful and sells excellent sirloin steak. This is a site we hope to return to soon.

IRRowen

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/08/2019 19:24

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Top CL

Very friendly welcome from Mr Dickson to what is a superb CL. He gave us a good run down of the site and the local area, pubs etc. The site is in grass and looked that good I was concerned about driving on it 😂 with the cuttings all collected up. Great Free Wi-fi on the site. No toilet facilities which gave us a chance to try out ours in the new van. It has everything else including waste disposal and a very clean chemical waste point. This CL would put many large sites to shame with the care and attention it is given. We will return 👍

MHbiker

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/07/2019 19:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

so relaxing

stopped on this site july Friday 12 for 6 nights ,arrived in H/rain we were on pitch 4 ,,we got the awning up in, a quite spell but just as I was putting last pegs in , thunder storm started very H/rain our pitch looked as if a beck was running through awning we were socked ,sorry I was socked right through ,the boss stopped in side , she had a cup a tea while I was paddling , Right, it drained well and Quick ,its peaceful its all grass but it is kept like a bowling green , you can walk in to Coldingham in 10 mins 2 pubs we went to the New inn ,theirs spar shop In village which we used,, theirs all so just past shop on way to coldingham cove a caravan site with bar and all so take away ,,fish shop its the most relaxed holiday we have had in a long time and once the rain stopped Friday night rest of holiday blue skies and sun also sea views and if you ok walking which iam not,, St Abbs is with in reach we will deff/be back thanks for great holiday to Andrew & jeanette

cararvanman

Caravanner from Tyne & Wear

Reviewed on 21/07/2019 08:14

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful Site in a Beautiful Part of the World

You know those places you arrive at and you immediately know it's got everything right? This beautiful and beautifully kept site is one of those. The grass is practically manicured. The pitches have their own drains so make sure you take along a good length of waste pipe if that's your thing. Spacing is generous and the water and waste areas are kept pristine. The owner Andrew is laid back and friendly. You can pitch the unit and see the sea just over yonder. The WiFi is the real thing too -- plenty of speed AND bandwidth -- so you can watch TV on a device or movies etc. without any buffering; and it's … free! Superb foresight from Andrew on that one in today's ever changing world of customer service. Coldingham has two pubs which have a 'locals' feel, but are better for it. There is also a commercial caravan park just up from the village with a clubhouse and takeaway food outlet. They're not normally my cup of tea now that the kids have flown but in the interests of completeness, we called in on an early evening Saturday and the atmosphere was really fun in that Haven style clubhouse kinda way. Guess you have to be in the mood and on that evening we were! The rest of the stay was spent at Coldingham Bay on the beach. Nice little café and a bar there so blissfully happy place to be. If I sound a bit over enthused with Templehall and the surrounding area it's because I am. A truly superb site brilliantly and caringly run by a really interesting, candid and gregarious owner. You really have to go. I promise you won't regret it.

F169

Reviewed on 24/06/2019 11:49

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer