The Black Lake Inn

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great weekend

Warm welcome at the pub a very nice pub too, huge field with plenty of space, a "stones" throw away from Stone, Stoke and Trentham so lots of things nearby to do and places to visit. Lots of nearby takeaways if you dont want to cook. Great site in a easy to get to location. Will most certainly stay there again and the real bonus - £10.00 per night inc hook up. Bargain.

the Gilberts

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/10/2020 15:28

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great place to stay

The site is a large level gated field behind the pub's car-park and so there is loads of space for 5 units. The welcome was really friendly and the grass was a nice length. The loo is at the rear of the pub, accessible by key. We ate in the Inn and our meals were good value. Tuesday is Pie & Prosecco night with a specials menu of a selection of pies with chips & peas for £5.99. We didn't try one but they looked good and the Inn was really busy with diners. The pub does not allow dogs inside but there is a large beer garden and outside seating which are dog accessible. £10 incl EHU. We will return in future.

Plinksta

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/07/2017 20:40

14 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant Black Lake

Stayed here several times, owners very welcoming, easy access, food in pub/ restaurant brilliant

BigD

Motorhomer from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 13/12/2016 20:59

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice Spot

We booked for long weekend and found this to be a nice CL with easy access to all tourist sites in central England area. The pub on site is very friendly with great food and beer. The site has roads running across top and side so not completely tranquil. The site is lawned and flat, will visit again if need arises.

EngineerPete

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2015 19:00

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

fantastic cl!

This is the first time I have used a cl site but I was really impressed. The facilities were basic but it had everything we needed. The only negative is there was no grey waste disposal. The site looked on to open countryside and was quiet. The food at the pub was great and the staff were extremely friendly. I will definitly visit again.

stevemarietyler

Reviewed on 19/04/2015 21:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great place to stay

We booked in for 1 night as we needed to be in Stoke on Trent for 08:00. Great setting, peaceful, good dog walk nearby. As we were in a Motorhome we were self sufficient but used the EHU. Great value. We had a meal in the Inn and would highly recommend, good food, great service and good value. It is obviously popular and it was very busy for a mid week night!. Great CL and we will return when in the area again

Hollyzop

Reviewed on 18/03/2015 22:17

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Basic but pleasant

For £10 per night, this site is good value. It's easy to find and has it's own pub and restaurant serving great tasting food with the proportions being quite large. The car park which we drove through to access our pitch has several potholes which we were told are about to be repaired. Pitches are all grass which is frequently mowed to a sensible height and grass cuttings collected. Me and my wife selected this site because it's quite central to the National Trust properties we were visiting at Sudbury and Shougborough. I agree with another reviewer that a good addition would be facilities to empty grey waste. At the moment, it has to be lifted up and emptied down the toilet.

APVP

Reviewed on 31/07/2013 17:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Worth the visit

We used this CL for visiting gym championships in Stoke-On-Trent and also incorporated a few trips to Alton Towers. Very nice setting with very little noise coming from the on-site pub...we didn't notice anyway. Pub facilities are very nice and includes access to WiFi which my kids loved. The restaurant looks great and popular. We just got the kids some chips one evening and they really enjoyed...they are homemade and huge portions which they really enjoyed after a long day at Alton Towers. The outdoor toilet dedicated to caravan club users is in need of regular cleaning service as there was no toilet roll or cleaning done while we were there and it does seem to be used more for emptying chemical and grey waste. It also has a sink with warm water and small hand dryer. A good addition to this location would be a grey waste drain close to the outdoor drinking water tap. The toilet facilities within the pub, which are available for CC users during open opening hours, are in excellent condition. Check out the matchstick models just inside the door of the pub itself and also another of a windmill. There is also some origami on the shelf above windmill which kids enjoyed viewing. Both owners and staff in the pub are very friendly and courteous people. I would certainly consider this location again.

TadhgB

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/05/2013 16:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely little Place.

Lovely little site with Pub on site and served very good food at reasonable prices. My family family did two one over night stops at this site travelling to and from Longleat. The pitch was exactly what it said on the tin. Plenty room for five caravans and very quiet site even although the pub was busy.

Ged

Caravanner from Fife

Reviewed on 12/08/2012 17:49

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Black Lake CL Site

This CL consists of 2 acres of rectangular flat grass situated behind the Black Lake Inn Country Restaurant & Pub, the grass is regularly cut and cuttings collected. Access to the CL is via the B5066 Hilderstone Road into the restaurants large car park, security to the CL is via a large metal gate and when the restaurant is closed a security barrier is lowered at the car park entrance. The site has six 10amp electric hook ups on 3 posts all located on the nearside after entering via the gate. Members on booking are allocated a set of keys that operate locks to the entrance security barrier as well as the toilet situated off the car park and for the exclusive use of CL occupants during out of hours, this toilet contains a wash hand basin with hot & cold water and electric hand dryer. Restaurant / Pub opening times Mon - Fri 12:00 - 23:00.Fri - Sat 12:00 - Midnight Sun12:00 23:00. Cooking hours Mon - Sat 12:00 - 21:00. Sun 12:00 - 18:00. Members are welcome to use the toilet facilities inside the building during opening hours. The restaurant/pub during opening times is continually busy especially on a Thursday night when there is regular and extremely well attended money off steak & quiz night Outdoor facilities at this location consist of a large grassed picnic/ barbeque area with numerous bench /tables together with table seating with large sun shade parasol.

BigD

Motorhomer from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 06/08/2012 11:19

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer