The Crosby Village Inn

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Enjoyable stay.

We were greeted on arrival and shown were to park and the facilities. That evening we ate in the pub and the food was lovely. We were on 1 of the 3 pitches behind the car park which suited us as the field behind is sloping and we'd had bad weather during wk so we'd probably have got stuck. You do need to avoid arrival/departure when pub is open at lunch as it could be tight getting caravan in or out, so due to this we stayed for Sunday lunch which was amazing. Will def return.

firalover

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/08/2019 17:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet Place, easy to reach

Stayed there for one night. Closed at time of arrival, but no problem to site van. Elsan point needs better signage. Lovely pub, very nice proprietor. Had a very enjoyable evening there. Ideal place if busy pub is okay.

jvgeisau

Reviewed on 20/11/2016 19:45

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

It needs more than TLC

When we arrived there were already 3 caravans on the top site. The other field referred to in previous reports was marked closed. We had to reverse our small motorhome into a tiny space in the corner. Nobody came to welcome us, in fact the pub was closed. We were told the owner had only come back from holiday that afternoon. We never found the waste water manhole and had to ask another caravan owner where the fresh water tap was. It was in under a tree and had no pressure. We gave up trying to get water. This was our first experience of a CL having only recently joined the club. Not very good. Fortunately our second one at Finghall was miles better. We won't be going back to The Crosby Inn inspite of the food being excellent.

RodandSue1625

Reviewed on 24/07/2016 14:20

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Needs TLC

We stayed here around April last year. Our friends parked up at the rear of the pub car park for fear of getting stuck in the field further back. While the field is spacious and peaceful it was a bit boggy. The Elson point is just a manhole which is not a problem but it's inappropriately placed right outside the back exit door of the pub! The pub serves great food and the staff are friendly but the CL seems to me, to be an after thought and a way of drawing in extra trade. Once we said we were self sufficient the landlord seemed a lot less interested in us. We were warned that at peak trading times we may be unable to leave as the pub car park fills up and is the exit route. A bit unkempt, old signs strewn around etc. With a bit of TLC would be a winner.

Esteban64

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/05/2016 21:16

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Needs a bit of TLC

Site needs a bit of TLC, The pitches need marking out. The drinking water location need signing The Waste disposal needs signing and moving if possible as it was out side the rear entrance door and consisted of a man hole .  The pub food was very good shame about the site.

mickthebull

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/05/2016 15:49

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

3 night stay

Arrived on site to a warm  welcome from Chris the owner, who explained where everything was. Site is at the rear of the pub car park and split into 2 areas. On the area directly behind the pub the pitches were very close together but reasonably level. The lower part of the site was slightly sloping and very "boggy". The site in general needs a little TLC, trimming of trees etc., but a least the grass was cut and the clippings removed. The site is quiet apart from the wood pigeons which were plentiful and never stopped calling to each other for around 20 hours per day. We appreciate this is just nature, but it became a torture for us. Dogs are allowed on the site but sadly there are no dog walks direct from the site.  Overall the site is fine and great for a stop over and to eat in the pub as the food is  excellent and plentiful and highly recommended.

scrips55

Reviewed on 05/07/2015 11:39

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely

Arrived and pitched up, very helpful that your allocated pitch is marked with your name. Although the site is accessed via the car park and this is what you overlooking, it's amazingly peaceful and tranquil. Behind your pitch is a half acre(ish) of grassland for your use set with chairs and it's a real sun trap. The pub itself is really friendly, the staff are first class, as is the the food, (and I'm told, the beer too!). Really handy for MH users is a bus stop nearby serving the village to areas close by. Only a couple of miles from Northallerton and 6 miles from Thirsk it's perfectly sited. A real charmer of a site and I will be returning, no doubt there!

kimmitubbs

Reviewed on 25/06/2014 00:26

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We loved it

What a lovely little CL site, we were welcomed by Chirs and his wife and they directed all 3 of our caravans to our pitches. It was so peaceful on site and we had a great weekend despite the rain. And the pub was great too with friendly staff and the cask ales went down well and we were soon drunk after sampling them all. We enjoyed this site so much we have booked all 3 of our caravans again for August Bank holiday.  10/10 in my book. 

pennypoop

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/05/2014 22:05

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely retreat with real ale !!

Super little site with a very friendly welcome from mine host Chris and his wife. We arrived wondering just where we should pitch as we knew they were full, but a quick look around found our name on a pitch post. Food at the Pub was first rate, as was the real ale. A great base for exploring the northern Dales, North Yorks Moors, and the Northern Yorkshire Coast. I am sure we will be back

MFBetts

Caravanner from North Humberside

Reviewed on 20/08/2013 20:03

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our stay

Due to circumstances beyond our control we found ourselves needing somewhere to stay late on Saturday afternoon during a sunny Bank Holiday weekend. We telephoned the owner of this CL who was very friendly and helpful. We arrived an hour later to a warm welcome and a pitch waiting for us. We are not pub going people and wouldn't usually have chosen this kind of CL however, we will happily return. The CL is on two levels, the upper level being behind the pub and the lower level being down in a field behind that. The lower field has a lovely outlook with fields behind. We stayed on the upper level, behind the pub. We heard no noise, we were not disturbed by the pub clientele at all. The only noises we heard to keep us up at night were the birds singing above us in the trees. The site is clean and tidy; the toilets were immaculate. The village is very pretty. You are halfway between Thirsk and Northallerton so shopping is not an issue- both towns have decent Tesco's. There is quick and easy access to all that the North East has to offer. A fabulous base.

WolfieMike1

Reviewed on 02/06/2013 09:55

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer