J and L Caravan Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a nice Pie

The site was easy to find with good links from the M, booking in was a breeze, as long as you arrive before 5pm, not sure of process after 5pm. The electric was included in the price. It is well laid out and it is obvious the current owners have plans to expand the site, with additional pitches created and grass planted in between, although not yet grown so quite muddy in places (was a very wet weekend). It was lovely and quite although there is a schools sports field behind the hedge at the top end where the 5 CL pitches are. The down side is (as mentioned in previous reviews). There is no disposal point for grey waste unless you lift and balance the waste carrier on the toilet bowl, however the staff where friendly and helpful in assisting with grey water disposal. The drinking water tap is currently halfway between pitch 1 and the chemical waste, recycling and bin compound and there is no path to it so a very muddy experience especially around the tap. In addition to this a new entrance to the garden centre / restaurant from the campsite is in progress but currently the entrance / exit is to the rear of pitch 1, not sure of the owners plans in this respect but they are looking to build a shower block. There is a separate Bakery on site which sells some fantastic pies including the famous Melton Mowbray and I can certainly recommend their Moo & Blue pie.

Lister58

Caravanner from Gloucestershire

Reviewed on 23/05/2021 16:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely quiet clean tidy,lovely views

Easy to find,friendly face when we were pitching up to see if we were ok,gates were a bit tight driving in and out.lovely view,clean,tidy,close to bus stop,had lovely breakfast at the cafe.only thing is needs a bigger sign on campsite entrance to say for campers only as random people were walking about when we were trying to have a bbq staring at us and saying hello when we were trying to chill out,also they were walking from the back of the cafe doing the same thing,groups of people,not very impressed for security and privacy,hopefully will change as it’s a lovely place.

Wayne Griffiths

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/05/2021 15:41

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A good find

We booked in our motorhome at the last minute as we had booked elsewhere but found it unsuitable .The hard standing was very good nicely spaced out elect point near . walk way through to café it was excellent value,We had breakfast Sunday morning, Toilet in café during opening hours. The elect is no longer metered. Reception very helpful information sheet map and goodies. Entry code require to access c/l site. A very pleasant stay.

edd 1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/10/2019 10:21

26 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful weekend

Spent a few nights here as a lone camper. I felt good that there is site security and the pitches are away from the road so it is quiet at night (there seem to be a good population of owls after dark). The pitches are very large, have both grass and hardstanding, and separated by conifer hedges, which are due to be reduced slightly as they are blocking out the evening sunshine. There is a bench by a large pond for additional peace and quiet, and the restaurant does the largest cake portions I have ever seen. Lots of good walks from the site. The only downside is the waste disposal, but I just travelled home with a full grey waste water tank in my motorhome and emptied it at home. The special offer for including electricity in July and August was a good bonus.

landlg

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/07/2019 10:49

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

a one nighter

just stayed one night on site seemed well maintained good size pitches with metered electric this is the first time I have came across this and it is a worry what you can be charged well it cost less than 50p in the end but no heating and hot water was only on for 10 mins and watched the telly for a few hours so maybe it was all right but if it was say late or early season the cost must get higher and we have been in more superior cl sites for a lot less cash but cant complain the shop and restaurant was top nosh at fair prices and a good selection of garden stuff for presents back home

bsctmauchline

Caravanner from Ayrshire

Reviewed on 15/07/2018 19:45

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice quiet site with adjacent garden centre and cafe

We are relatively local and we're looking for a Leicestershire CL site to shake down a new to us caravan. Arrived after 5 so the reception which is the till for for garden centre was closed. Pulled onto allocated pitch and found they had kindly put some electric on the meter for us. Sorted out the lecky card the next morning and they loaned us a length of rope- dog lead not put in! Breakfast in the cafe was really nice with local produce (not cheap at £7.50) but good quality. Cafe very popular as a destination for cycle clubs and bikers which gave a good atmosphere. Cakes looked lovely but too full from breakfast. My only issue was the dirty water/ chem toilet discharge which is an actual toilet with lid and cover in an open compound. Had to lift up the waste master onto the seat which was a pain and managed to splash over my shoes. There is an inspection chamber adjacent but no lifters etc. Just a thought for improvement. Otherwise staff were really pleasant and helpful. Proved the van is watertight. It hissed it down most of the weekend. Valid point from another reviewer re the stakes in the grass opposite the pitches if you have a long rig. Two nights electric cost £2.30. One couple arriving as we left were not happy to pay for electric but it is on their website. All in all a comfortable CL site.

Robparky

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/09/2017 17:23

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Overnight CL

We chose this CL on the way home from a caravan touring holiday. The addition of a restuarant and other facilities was an added attraction. The hard standings were also good after an extremely wet period. However, for us, we felt that the entrance to the individual pitches was very restrictied by the narrow track. In addition, the grass area opposite being sectioned off with wooden posts made caravan manoeuvering difficult . In our opinion, this site is better suited to motorhomes than caravans as laid out at time of our visit.

Fanlight

Reviewed on 08/09/2017 11:22

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and quiet

Stayed on this CL for the second time this year. The second weekend in November was wet and windy, but we had a great time. We put more money on the electric card this time, due to using the heating all night. Very friendly staff as always. Already planning on visiting this CL next year.

Bluebellbailey

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/11/2015 17:39

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ditto to the above recommendations

Returned today from a visit down to meet up with the Grandchildren and stayed 4 nights on The Grange Caravan site and we just loved it. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. It's beautifully looked after and so peaceful. Stocked up on sloes and blackberries picked around the site so I'm all ready for winter now! You must try the Alpine Lodge attached to the garden centre, sat by the massive log burner toasting your toes with a little refreshment. Tons of places to visit around and about such as Oakham, Uppingham, Stamford, Rutland Water and loads more. This has to be one of our favourite CL sites.

Swifty 123

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 24/10/2015 20:56

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSHHHHHHH........Too good to share

HMS Pickle commented 09/03/2015 Report A true gem visited 6-9 March-15. This needs to be kept between us because when word gets out booking a stay will be impossible. We think it is one of the best CLs we have stayed on and we've been caravaning and CC members for a very long time. Easily accessed even with the largest double axle van. You go through the Garden Centre car park, past the Bakery, the Farm Shop and then the pond ..... ahead lies a lovely open site with all the pitches having quality hardstanding. It's a peaceful location with superb friendly staff, Alpine chalet style restaurant (children and dogs welcome!), wonderful Moretti beer, delicious pies not to mention the scones or gateaux. But the secret to die for is the Tartiflette with Charcuterie Meats (cooked by Mal) in the restaurant. All this is just a short flat walk from the pitches. Holly and Max together with the Grange Team could not have been more attentive and friendly. Have already re-booked for seconds in May! And not to forget - free Wi-Fi.

HMS Pickle

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/03/2015 14:38

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer