The Mill House

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a delightful well cared for piece of heaven.

This was our third visit to this small and charming CL. If you are looking for peace and tranquility you won’t go far wrong with Mill House. Anne and Robert are super hosts who work extremely hard to keep the site immaculate. They are helpful and knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble. (The showers were super clean and hot. My husband said they were better than ours back home). The pitches are large with loads of space between each van. From Mill House you can walk through the forest to Lyndhurst and further a field. The New Forest is vast with miles upon miles of walking/cycle tracks where you will encounter ponies, cows and donkeys roaming free. Our most recent visit we walked over 70miles and hardly met another person. We can’t wait to come back. Oh I have to mention it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary whilst we were there and we found a card and bottle of wine on our caravan step from Anne and Robert. Thanks you x

Dawn knee

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/08/2021 21:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding!

Just returned home from the delightful area of The New Forest, Hampshire..and..this OUTSTANDING CL! If you enjoy low key, low noise, peaceful surroundings, nature's beauty, wildlife, space and tranquility...then...Mill House CL is an appropriate selection. The CL's hosts, Robert and Anne, are welcoming, informative..and..clearly work very hard at maintaining their beautiful site..a credit to them. The beckoning single tracks, paths, villages and towns of the forest are on the door step...liberally populated with ponies, muckle cows, sheep, peacocks and donkeys!..all unfettered and free roaming..ringfenced only by effective and ubiquitous 'Cattle Grids' and..if you enjoy pubs alfresco..a propensity of them are to hand..'The Rockingham Arms' and 'The New Forest Inn' are highly recommended... (The CL is fully Covid aware and appropriate precautions applied-excellent and clean shower and toilet facilities!) We will return...soonest..Thank You! Dave & Jinny

ScreenName39BCC46B81

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/04/2021 14:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another Little Gem!

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this lovely little site. It is buried in the New Forest just a couple of miles north of Lyndhurst and is set out in a circular fashion with gravelled pitches. In the centre of the site is a water feature where the water supply can be found and each pitch has it's own power supply and provision for recyclable and general waste. There is a toilet block comprising two toilets and two showers. Both were kept spotlessly clean as was the rest of the site. The chemical disposal point is adjacent to the toilet block and was clean and easy to use. Both gated entrances to the site, the water supply point, chemical disposal point and toilet block were supplied with hand sanitiser and the owners sprayed these points regularly everyday. The site owners were often around the site, tidying, mowing or planting plants and were very friendly and helpful. We found the site very peaceful and relaxing however, as some have said in other reviews, there is a slight hum of road noise and from time to time the dogs housed at nearby kennels can be heard but this is a distant sound from across the fields and we didn't find either intrusive. New Forest ponies regularly wander the adjacent tracks past the site and these tracks also serve as a very handy dog walk. There is a pub, The Trusty Servant, in Minstead which is about a 30 minute stroll, (less if you walk quicker!), along which you may encounter ponies, pigs and donkeys and we can definitely vouch for the food! Just a note about access to the site; you turn off the lane into the site where you see the sign, "Muddy Bottom". There is no CL sign on the road. Having turned in, the gate to the site is immediately on the right. A big thank you and well done to the owners! This is how CL's should be!

Forest Gate

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/10/2020 17:29

7 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful stay.

This site is really well maintained and the owners are very welcoming and friendly. They are keeping on top of the covid regs really well with regular cleaning and sanitising of contact areas. They have 2 showers and toilets which look very clean. We use our own so can't comment to much on them. The chemical waste area is there as well. The site is set among trees and has a lovely water, flower bed feature in the middle, the fresh water stand pipe is also there. You can walk through the forest across the road from the site to Lyndhurst about 30mins away. And you can walk of cycle to Minstead if you go out of the site the other way. Lymington is only a short drive away also another nice town. from speaking to other people staying there is a lot to explore arount the area. I would say this is a site to really relax and chill out on and we would defiantly use again.

ianrooker

Reviewed on 27/09/2020 10:48

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful site

Just returned home after a lovely few days at this stunning little site , well paced out pitches, immaculately clean two shower and toilet facilities . Very well kept site and reasonably priced for this area , will definitely be back again , many thanks Ray & Di Oakshott

rodosray

Reviewed on 23/08/2020 22:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A perfect setting!

Recently returned from a wonderful 11 night stay at Mill House site. What a little gem! Site is immaculate with a very high level of cleanliness which the owners work hard to maintain. It is well placed for exploring the area, good pubs close by - do book to avoid disappointment / long waits- especially on the current 50% days!! The site is very quiet and peaceful and suits the mainly older clientele. Dog walking straight from site. We shall definitely return!! Ali & Steve.

FarrowSJ

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/08/2020 20:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First Class!

First visit to a CL & cannot fault on any level.( 12th -20th July).Just perfect. Bob & Ann(e) work tirelessly and that is reflected in the extremely high standards. Extra measures in place re Covid with sanitisers & deep clean of toilets etc. We shall return. Thank you Gary & Fran F

Gary58

Caravanner from West Sussex

Reviewed on 22/07/2020 08:59

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a great place

Beautiful site very well laid out plenty of space for everyone, charming couple the normans who own this CL two modern bathrooms one disabled enabled. Everything in the site spotlessly clean. Nice dog walk direct from site. Saw red deer.

scratchersdicky

Reviewed on 17/07/2020 12:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

August Holiday

What a little gem, Mr & Mrs Norman work very hard to keep this site very clean and tidy. Added bonus was that it has a couple of showers & Toilets which was kept to an high standard on cleanliness. Pitches are very nicely laid out and the grass is kept lovely. This is a very quiet and peaceful site and not really geared up for children.All in all its a lovely site and will return .

Terrys69

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/09/2019 17:59

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site for adults not so much for children

This is a small, peaceful site. The facilities are clean and with two showers and three toilets there is little waiting(even though there were 6 vans for 3 of the nights). However for us with three young children it was not the most ideal site. It is advertised with the children welcome logo but there are multiple signs saying no ball games and the site is not big enough for the kids to ride bikes so there was little we could do outside on the site. The local area is great for kids with loads to do but it is nice for the children to return to a campsite and be able to play ball or fly a kite. We have previously stayed at other CLs in the New Forest and will book early enough next time to be able to go to sites that suit a family better.

SaraJane

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/08/2019 21:30

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer