The Old Dairy

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

On the Doorstep of Rye

We booked this CL due to its close proximity to the lovely town of Rye and the fact there is a pavement access from the site down to Rye. The walk itself takes 20 minutes or 2500 steps if your are a Fibit fanatic. We were a wee bit concerned that the CL was directly accessed of the A268 but there was no road noise at. We were situated on the higher more level part of the site with great views across the Sussex countryside and enjoyed sitting outside enjoting the sun and watching and listening as the odd Spitfire flew above the site. Rye is a great little town to wander around, especially the antique and specialists shops. We managed quite a few beers in the Waterworks micropub who source all their beers, ales and ciders from a 30 mile radius. Well worth a visit. The walk up the hill back to site is easy enough but there are two pubs en route if you need a breather. The site itself is clean and well maintained. Will definitely be back

MeFeinMcCabe

Campervanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 21:11

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good location for access to Rye

The site is opposite a postbox (not telephone box) off the A268 into Rye with easy access. There's a bus stop outside the site with buses into Rye and to Rye Harbour which was useful to visit the Nature Reserve. It's also an easy walk into Rye. On arrival we were asked to pitch next to the hedge or in a spot near a tree stump, as the lower part of the site was coned off due to being very wet. We tried to pitch next to the hedge but despite going up to level 3 of the levellers, our motorhome was still not level, so we moved to the other spot which was flatter and we looked out over a field. Other later arrivals that day were directed through a gate to a higher area which looked flatter. On our 2nd night a caravan arrived and pitched by the hedge. By the time it's awning was up there was just enough space to drive a car through between it's awning and us (no awning). If we'd put our sunshade out there'd have been no route through. The couple were very friendly but had another couple staying with them in their awning and we felt a bit invaded. They thoughtfully put their chairs by the field when they sat outside to avoid being outside our motorhome. Why were they asked to pitch so close when there was more space further along the hedge? At £20 a night we thought this site is expensive with no facilities. The grass was short and there are plenty of EHUs but it was the most expensive CL we've stayed on so far.

Vannie42

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/06/2021 14:22

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderfull stay.

Just had a fantastic week at the old dairy cl in Rye. Great site, well looked after. Owners very friendly. The site is slopping but not an issue nothing that leveling ramps won't sort out. But if you pitch at the bottom as we did you do not need them. The site is only a mile out of Rye which is easily walkable and Rye is a lovely town to wonder round. Hastings is only about 10 miles away and worth a visit. Camber sands is only 4 miles away and is a sandy beach and dunes. There are a couple of pubs a few minutes walk from the site both a very good,the Playden oast house and the Kings head. The site is very easy to get to as just off main road. We will definitely be back again when in the area.

ianrooker

Reviewed on 27/09/2020 10:40

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

We stayed here for one night in August 2020 using it as a base to explore Rye. Very nice site. Beautiful scenery and nice short grass. You will need ramps to level up a bit. The phone box mentioned in the directions has gone so look out for the postbox instead.

ScreenName81A2CCCA58

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/08/2020 09:03

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Two night stay

Second stay in quick succession, this time for the Rye jazz festival. Owners are very friendly and helpful. We had a bike issue the first time and they came to our rescue. Beautiful sunset across the meadow, tops of the stay. Highly recommend on all fronts.

G D

Reviewed on 26/08/2018 22:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Easter stay

Had a pleasant 6 night stay over Easter. The owner and his son were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Yes, the site is sloping but we had a reasonably flat pitch and the owners are creating new pitches on a flat area. A lovely pub across the road, dog friendly bar and restaurant with good food. Would stay again if in the area.

Lou2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/04/2017 19:37

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Four night stop over

This site was ideally suited as a location for our holiday in this area. Most unfortunately I would not visit this site again for the following reasons - Although accepting the site was advertised as being sloping it was very difficult for a suitable place to pitch even though we were the only caravan on site. The grass had only just been cut but needed to have been collected up, even with our porch awning we spent each day of our holiday sweeping out the van and awning. This, in our case was made worse as we had our two dogs with us. There is a commercial venture adjacent to the site that caused us no direct problems other than a radio had been left on 24/7. Finally, we have never paid this amount for a CL in our 35 years as a Club Member. It was £14 plus £1 for our porch awning per night, it was not worth it!

blendmotor

Reviewed on 10/05/2016 17:18

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

handy bus route

Although this is not a level site by any means - blocks will be required - there is a bus that stops right outside the gate of this CL which will take you into Rye or Hastings. Rye is a must see-town.

strimmer

Motorhomer from Northamptonshire

Reviewed on 08/10/2014 14:00

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Shame about the weather

The location: 1M n of Rye on main A268 road, PTA outside, good access. Site: Unfortunately the site is grass and the weather was not conducive to our MV, but the owners kindly found HS in their yard. Shame because the view from the field would have been really nice; very basic CL facilites; BT Fon Wi Fi available. Overall: Shame we were parked next to skip as unable to use CL site due to soft ground.Probably would not re visit, also bit expensive for what it is." (bearing in mind that he day before we only paid another 0.50p per night for a CC Site)

Seymour

Motorhomer from Devon

Reviewed on 17/10/2012 13:53

51 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer