The Old Packing Station

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice site with easy access to Leeds and surrounding areas

Small site with hard standings and grass. Good mobile and TV reception. Constant background noise and occasional sirens from the M62 nearby but not too bad. Don't approach via Drub Lane if you have a big unit - the lane is quite narrow with sharp uphill bends that some may find daunting. Latham Lane is a dead end for cars, although you can walk down it. Friendly welcome. Fields on 3 sides but some views restricted by hedges. Dogs allowed but you can't exercise your dogs on site.

AlwynMike

Reviewed on 24/10/2022 20:10

12 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great base to visit family in Leeds

We stayed for 4 nights to visit family in Leeds, a great place to visit with easy access to Leeds and the surrounding area. Pitching was easy with pitches level and marked with your name, long electric cables needed for some pitches. The entrance was sloping but not a problem for us even with the car in tow. The owner Ruth was lovely and very accommodating. A small amount of road noise from M62 motorway quiet at night and not intrusive. Overall a great site. We will be back. Motorhomer towing a small car

Kessa

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/04/2021 08:32

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great base for local area

This site is was perfect for us visiting family and attending an event in Leeds. Site is down a lovely quiet lane. Very close to the M62 but remarkably this did not matter, yes there is a constant hum as others have mentioned but it did not bother us. The site is tidy and compact. The owner was friendly and helpful. As a base for visiting it was ideal and I am sure we will come again. Only slight downside for us as dog owners as there was very little within a 1-2 mile radius to take the dog. The lane is ok but to take off the lead and stretch his legs there was not much. Also be aware if coming in colder months the owner states electric heaters are not permitted as presumably they feel they use too much electricity. It also says £10 a night, we were charged £12.50 with a small porch awning so that could do with updating on here. Overall a handy little site.

Stipey1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/08/2019 17:46

16 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great for going back in time

An ideal site for our visit to the Brighouse 1940s weekend. When we initially booked we had to leave a message on the answerphone. Later that evening Mrs Fretwell rang back and confirmed our booking - and gave us the code to the security gate. We arrived midday on the Friday - to find our hardstanding had been reserved for us with a cone - it had been raining so the grassed area could have been soft - better safe than sorry. We reversed in to our pitch on the first night - our habitation door is on the driver's side - but on the second night we drove in to take advantage of the fact that the grassed area was vacated - allowing us to put out our awning and take advantage of the last of the evening sunshine and dine 'al fresco'. Mrs Fretwell was very chatty and made us feel very welcome. Even though the motorway wasn't too far away, the "hum" of the traffic did not interfere with a peaceful night's sleep. The birds made more noise in the morning!! We were also pitched next to a mobile phone mast - and didn't notice the hum until another "camper" asked if the "hum" had bothered us - even then - once I could hear it - the noise wasn't obtrusive - as I said - had my attention not been drawn to it I wouldn't have noticed it at all. Needless to say, we had a strong mobile phone signal. Should we ever visit that area in the future we won't hesitate to book there again.

Carolee

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/06/2019 19:29

64 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Overnight stop

Had an overnight on this site, very easy to find with a good welcome from the owner. Site is level and well kept and electric gates for security. A very good site with good access to leeds and the surrounding area. Found the site peaceful part from the Lancaster flying overhead which was unplanned treat. Would recommend and will return for a longer stay.

colin and julie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/07/2018 16:03

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just what a CL should be

What a gem. Great site with EHU, water and waste disposal all within easy reach of Leeds. Although it is close to the Motorway network we didn’t hear any traffic noise. Due to recent wet weather we stayed off the field on hard standing along with 3 others, we all had plenty of space. Sadly the owner is moving and it is unlikely the new owners will maintain the CL. Such a shame

Hollyzop

Reviewed on 01/04/2018 19:45

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Visited Annually for Past 3 Years

Lovely well looked after site owned by a lovely welcoming lady. Ideal for Leeds & Bradford. We have relatives living locally in Gomersal. The M62 is within view and there's the obvious sound of the traffic, but not too intrusive. There is a mobile phone mast on the site which affects TV reception so satellite TV recommended. Otherwise very highly recommended.

StokerPO

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/01/2018 11:56

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Festival weekend

Had a lovely 3 night stay here at this lovely little CL. Sat Nav took us straight to our site no problem. The site has an electric gate which you need to enter a code to get in and out of which is piece of mind security wise. We stayed here cause we were attending a festival at Temple Newsam which was only 14 miles away from the site .We also visited Leeds for some shopping which was only 14 miles away also. We met Ruth the owner on our 2nd night who was very nice and helpful and recommended a lovely Chinese takeaway called Dragon Phoenix only 5 minutes away and we also eat at Luigis Italian restaurant which was also only 5 minutes away. This site was ideal for us visiting Leeds and would definitely stay here again.

maccallum

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/06/2017 18:21

41 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

NICE SITE

A very nice clean tidy site. Electric gate access (good security) A warm welcome on arrival. Some hardstanding. M63 within site but traffic noise not a problem. Have stayed on this site twice this year and hope to return next year as have family in the area.

TREVSTEPH

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/12/2014 21:55

15 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer