The Old School House

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great place to chill

Lovely CL set in beautiful countryside which is ideal for walking & biking. Easy walk to Broughton village which has a lovely butchers, bakery & general store. Tight access onto site so easier to arrive from the Broughton end…we didn’t & had to drive on to a farm entrance to turn round 😄

RAG13

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/09/2021 20:10

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely place to relax and unwind

This is a lovely, small CL owned by Barbara and Howard, who are lovely, friendly people. We found the directions they provided were accurate and easy to follow, the pitches are almost level, some overhanging trees on some of them, a secluded fire pit and picnic benches are also available. The walk down into to the village is easy to follow and good underfoot and a very pleasant walk, with a choice of 3 pubs and a cafe when you get there. Barbara provides guests with laminated information sheets with all the information you will need for staying on the site and what is around the local area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

ScreenName1016D9843B

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/08/2021 11:13

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our favourite CL

We loved it here. Initially booked 2 nights but decided to stay longer and ended up staying for 8 nights. Barbara was lovely, very friendly and helpful. We were on pitch 5, all pitches are hardstanding and there are plenty of grassed areas and picnic tables. Facilities were clean and well maintained. Inexperienced drivers may have difficulty with the narrow entrance but if you take it carefully it's fine. The site is very conveniently situated with lovely walks through the woods into the town, where there is a butchers, grocers, bakery and several pubs. A short and very scenic walk will take you to Broughton Mills and the lovely Blacksmiths Arms. This is a fantastic CL, one of our favourites and reasonably priced. We would love to return.

Abryll

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/06/2021 21:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not really suitable for large caravans

We visited this site looking for a quiet site which with the A road being right along side it was quite noisy. The entrance to the site is not very big and our caravan only just fitted through the gate which did not impress hubby. With it being on a busy A road you had to be careful when leaving the site because of the speed of the traffic.To get the caravan back out the site I had to stand in the middle of the road to stop the traffic and then someone else had to watch the back end so we didn't hit the stone wall or the fence. We could not get a tv reception and someone else told me it was not good on the site and they had trouble. If you put your awning up then there is no where on the pitch to park your car. Luckily there was no one on one of the pitches as the owner only uses 4 out of the 5 so we could park our car there. The rubbish bins are right at the end of the owners drive and to get to the toilet and chemical waste you have to go down a steep slope. On the last night we had problems with out electricity going off for no reason

Comment from the Club:

Thank you for your review. The CL Owner has been in touch as she works really hard to ensure everyone has the best possible time on their site. Please be advised if you had mentioned the tv signal the CL Owner would have been more than happy to have helped you with this and could have also righted the electric for you. As they were not aware of this they couldn't assist. With the site being small they only ever take 4 units so there is always a space for cars to be parked, this way it keeps everyone comfortable.

ScreenName69D69DF0BC

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/06/2021 21:08

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Small CL in Great Location

Just an update on the previous reviews which are a couple of years old. The site is compact and the owners only let 4 of the 5 pitches to allow space for cars to be parked. All the same caravan owners will probably want to use their mover, and levelling blocks will likely be needed. You will definitely need 'rock pegs' and a club hammer if you are pegging out an awning. The toilet and waste disposal amenities are all of good standard, but the path to them is steep and 'loose', not wheelchair accessible and not for those with impaired mobility. The communal firepit and picnic tables are very welcome. Howard also sells dry kindling for the fire. Take care to read the owners directions, otherwise you'll miss the entrance and it's a long way back. The owners are very helpful. We wish we'd asked their advice before booking a meal at the Black Cock in Broughton in Furness. It was very disappointing. In good weather the site enjoys lovely views and the local walks are very enjoyable.

Collapso

Reviewed on 21/05/2021 08:41

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

An unpretentious, peaceful site with great views. Wonderful for walks (long or short) and pubs with good food and beer. We appreciated the warm welcome, local info and super clean loo. The path to the loo is a little steep so bear that in mind if that is an issue. We hope it doesn't become too popular as we will certainly be returning. Lots still so see and visit in this part of the Lake District which many people ignore.

philhanson

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/04/2019 17:51

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great little site

Had a lovely stopover in our campervan last week during our tour of the Lakes. Barbara is very helpful and welcoming even before we arrived! Lovely, quantity and spotless little loo packed with all the essential information you need. Looking forward to returning and spending some quality time at this little gem!

olylowe

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/11/2018 15:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a wonderful place to stay

We came her as our first explerience of a CL site. It was wondeful, the locaton was fabulous, the site superb and the hosts very, very welcoming and helpful. There were plenty of walks locally and the information very helpful. A very peacful and tranquil place to visit and if all the CL sites are as good as this we are going to have some good nights in our van. Really recomend you go there to see for yourself.

Dave Rich

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/06/2017 22:04

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Off the beaten track lakeland

Before I start I make it clear this is an excellent small CL. There are a few minor warnings, the site is just off a 'A' road, however all is not as it seems - said 'A' road has very little traffic - we certainly did not notice it. The road is narrow though in places so follow instructions carefully. The site itself is small, however shamefully not many people visit, this meant that we had the site to ourselves for 5 or 6 nights out of 8 nights over Spring Bank Week - so if you like the peace it should suit nicely. I am not a fan of hard standings and prefer quick drying grass pitches, but this is the Lakes and we were thankful for the hardstandings with the wet weather, better having a dry difficult to erect awning than a dirty caravan. Toilet facilities and information room are always handy and this certainly did not disappoint. In addition Barbara and Howard were friendly and helpful. If you have read this far and want to try a different (quiet) part of Lakeland, give it a go. I think you will find it rewarding.

idristdragon

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/06/2017 17:00

35 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The Old School House

Stayed here in November, & really liked the place, very friendly owners & a toilet too. The site is just off the road & access is a bit tight only attempt it coming from Broughton so you can turn right into the site! Do not attempt it from the other direction! Although the site is right beside the road after 10pm it's a very quiet road & noise is NOT a problem. The pitches are surrounded by mature trees which does obscure the views somewhat. This would be lovely place on a summers evening, there are picnic tables & even a fire pit. TV reception is OK on an omni. We went out in Broughton in Furness & had a great night. Lively place & friendly. It's not too far away but there are some steep hills. You can walk into town via a footpath or along the narrow road takes about 25 minutes.... get the local mini bus taxi to bring you back... it's worth it! A great place to explore from!

GBOT

Campervanner from Cumberland

Reviewed on 17/02/2017 20:18

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer