The Old Vicarage

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Easter Weekend

Lovely peaceful site Was greeted by a very helpful Fiona on arrival. Very good clean toilet and shower, plenty of hot water. Very pretty walks all around Will definitely return Thanks

maldenbrec

Reviewed on 30/04/2022 08:20

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely stay and very helpful owner

We loved our stay at this peaceful site in the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Facilities were excellent and our pitch was perfect. Walked to the local pub first night and we were delighted to see deer, pheasants and rabbits on our cross field walk. The location is a great stop off for exploring nearby Devizes an Lacock. Both well worth a visit. The owner was very helpful when we returned home and noticed my wife had lost her necklace. Mrs Dobson searched our pitch and luckily for us found the jewellery and posted it on to us. An around excellent stay! Thanks!

ScreenNameA5375DF0BE

Campervanner

Reviewed on 29/04/2022 19:26

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful site amongst the Wiltshire rolling hills

We arrived on the site a day late due to storm Eunice. The site had been affected by the storm with no electricity. Initially we thought about going back home but glad that we didn't. Fiona and Matthew couldn't have been more helpful with getting temporary electrics sorted and even picked myself and my daughter up from Devizes as our car was at home. They went above and beyond to help us out and make sure our stay was as good as it could be. Thank you.

lilly mai

Reviewed on 23/02/2022 21:39

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

New Year Stay

Very relaxing stay at this C.L. In a beautiful spot, with lovely woodland walks on the doorstep. Friendly and welcoming hosts, private shower / toilet block and easy access to EHU and water. Bath is 17 miles away and Bradford on Avon a must visit, only 11 miles away. The field is on a slight slope but drains extremely well. Despite a lot of rain, no problems getting on and off. Highly recommended.

teameltaco

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/01/2022 23:42

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic site all round

We stayed here for the new year with friends and had a fantastic time! The site is really easy to access and it's location is brilliant for some lovely places to visit, including Bath. The owners are very friendly and welcoming, communication was great. The site itself is really lovely, there is quite a slope in some areas so make sure you have blocks or ramps. The views are beautiful in all directions, it was lovely waking up to chickens nearby - don't worry, they are not at all noisy!! The shower block is very modern - with a power and rain shower option - and very clean. Water/electric/waste all convenient! Highly recommended in every aspect!

Molineuxheights

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/01/2022 10:01

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

Stayed at this site at the end of July 2021 and have to give it a thumbs up. The location has lovely scenery and a vey nice site itself. Facilities are very good and everything you need. Understand that the single track road leading up to the site for the last 200 yards are a bit of a concern for people and the passing spaces are a bit overgrown, but I would not let that put you off. The site is well located for Devizes, Chippenham and not far from Bath so useful for sightseeing. The host and their family are very welcoming and helpful. The £20 night fee may seem expensive for a CL, but I would say the stay was well worth it.

Paul Messitt

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/10/2021 11:59

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet, peaceful site in beautiful countryside

We spent a couple of nights here when the weather was very warm so it was nice to have shade from the trees in the evening.. The shower and toilet were really clean, with lots of hot water. Electric Hook up points ad water not too distant. The owner Mrs F Dodson made us very welcome, we had a mechanical problem with our camper van and she was most helpful. We enjoyed walks in the local area and feeding the pigs our waste food was an extra bonus. I would recommend the site for its peace and quiet.

db1147

Reviewed on 29/07/2021 18:25

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful Escape.

A beautiful tranquil site, with lots of space and views across to the hills. Good toilet/ shower facilites, with a modern roomy shower. We have a motorhome so like to use the bus and the no 33 into Devizes was quick and on time in both directions. In the evening we sat and ate our meal watching red kites circle and a great spotted woodpecker in the pine tree next to our van. Thanks Fiona for a lovely stay, we'll be back. I and J from Brighton

Jennie L

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 08:47

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Sorry, this just isn't value at £20 pn - (June 2021)

Having just travelled from another CL which, at the same price, offered manicured lawns, fully serviced, large and level hardstandings, a large toilet block in pristine condition and stunning views, this site paled in comparison. There was no meet and greet - took us two days to find someone to pay. Luckily another visitor was able to show us where the power point was located and where the drinking water supply was hidden in an overgrown hedge. There were no clear sites laid out on what was a steeply sloping field and the power supply appeared to have been bolted on to an existing setup in an adjacent field which is now occupied by chickens.I wondered if the entire site has been moved from its original location. The single toilet and shower (near the chickens) lacked power and light. The chemical disposal area was - well, a smelly overgrown hole in the ground with a lid best describes it. The approach is down a long single track lane and, should an arriving caravan meet one leaving, there is absolutely no way for them to pass down it's entire length. I don't really understand how, at this price, the site has received such good reviews before.

DJCT

Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on 19/06/2021 17:06

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Paradise at The Old Vicarage !

We have just arrived home after a 3 night stay here. As we arrived and parked up, the view from our Motorhome was stunning. No one parked in front of us, just fantastic views across fields and open land to the distant hills!! This truly is a bit of paradise.. the views, the wildlife in surrounding fields of deer, rabbits, bats and a stunning owl in flight!! Resident chickens chattter to you as you walk past their pen...sheep in the field at the bottom....and all you can hear is birdsong!!...see it really is paradise!! Easy to get to the local pub to dine out. Country lanes and trackways lead you deeper into nature from this site. The bathroom facilities were fine, perfect for what they are for. Easy access to water and all the rest. Well though out. Plenty of room between other pitches....not that they are marked out. If you want to get away from it all...this is your place of peace!! We would highly recommend this fabulous site. Fiona the owner was lovely and friendly. Thank you. Pat and Willow

Pat and Willow

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/06/2021 15:57

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer