Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful location by a stream - shame about quality of the site!

Liked: Picturesque setting by a stream Obviously great fun for younger children Toys and games provided outside Has basic facilities for campers Some electric hook up points Ice cream van came on site One general shop in village within walking distance. We had good weather all weekend. Disliked: Price - expensive compared to similar quality sites. £20 without electric. Entrance very narrow for motorhomes and caravans. NOT as advertised - only came because son and daughter-in-law visited last year and raved about The Cave Bar! Sadly it wasn't open! When we asked we got a number of excuses from only used for weddings/functions to they do not have a licence to sell alcohol. There was a large marquee attached to the bar but it looked like it hadn't been used for ages. Untidy full of random stuff and not at all clean. Not sure where the advertised chill out and TV room were either- we didn't find them. Nearest pub was around the corner but closed and derelict. Site generally untidy. No pitches marked out and uneven field. Very low trees - witnessed two motorhomes hit their roofs on branches. Also if motorhomes went off site their pitches could be taken by someone else before they got back! People also pitched up randomly in front of you or behind you without leaving adequate space. Toilets frequently ran out of toilet roll and soap and were not cleaned all weekend. No mop and bucket provided so campers could clean up after themselves. Hot water proved to be very intermittent in both the shower block and washing up facilities. Rubbish bins inadequate and not emptied for 2 days. Some of the toys lying about looked broken and unsafe. Dogs wandered about unsupervised as did some very young children. Hard to believe this is advertised as a wedding venue - the site does not look like the photographs! Also no regular bus services to get anywhere else.
Motorhomer from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

susan jubb replied on 16/06/2018 07:45

Posted on 16/06/2018 07:45

Dear Hetti,

I  am so sorry you had problems with our site. The Old Vicarage at Elkesley. We are very new to us and to be honest it is all a bit over whelming, 

I would like to offer you 2 nights stay with electric for the trouble you have had as some form of compensation for your stay.  I am so sorry you did not fully enjoy it.

Please ring me on my mobile 07970 734 923 to arrange a weekend when it would be convenient for you to come again. I will personally show you around.  As we are so new, I would welcome any advise or improvements you think I can make, please accept our apologies and please come again without charge or as I know you were over charged, I will send you a full refund. Which ever is best for you? Please let me know which you would prefer?