Vennlake

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Sixth Site This Month and My Favourite 😍

Absolutely loved this site. Feels such a peaceful place, and we were amazed that only a 5 minute walk away was a Co-op supermarket and a fab garden centre with a cafe! Bus stops near here also. David was very welcoming and helpful, and often stopped what he was doing to have a chat with us. We had a fully serviced pitch overlooking the countryside. Pitches were spacious which surprised me after I’d read a review saying they weren’t big enough for a large motorhome. I would have to disagree with that. This is one CL site we will definitely come back to.

ScreenName2F1F72AA03

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/06/2021 21:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

If Heineken made Caravan sites.....

This was our very first CL and we are now firm fans of the concept having tried some of the larger sites. When you find out that your neighbours have been coming back for over 20 years you soon realise you've stumbled on a little gem. Well placed with good access roads to both Moors it really is a good spot to explore this part of the County. The peace and tranquility was fabulous as was the view from our window towards a neighbouring ornamental lake. Huge thanks to David and each of the guests who offered advice and practical help (especially Mike) when our brand new motor-mover failed as we tried to leave for home. A good example of the community spirit created on this site.

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wedding Dash

Booked Vennlake for proximity to a wedding venue we were invited to attend. Boy! What a wonderful gem this site is and nestling in beautiful countryside. Mr Pengelly was very welcoming and made my wife and I feel right at home. I recommend this site for all the star reviews above and the feeling of being made very welcome. Thank you David for a most memorable stay.

Popeye Again

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/10/2019 21:22

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Friendly and welcoming

Dave runs a lovely and tranquil site and is most helpful and friendly. Couldn't do enough really. The site is away from the hustle and bustle of life but close to a decent sized Co-op and a garden centre which serves excellent food in its cafe. Check out the art gallery immediately behind the site - well worth a look (bowjanglesgallery.co.uk). If we are in Devon again we'd certainly stay at Venn Lake.

Lakelandrover

Reviewed on 23/08/2019 11:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good site for Motorhome

A nice peaceful well run site, the owner’s are very friendly and welcoming. This is our second visit and our motorhome is 7.5 meters long, the pitches are more than adequate to accommodate a vehicle of this length.

caravaners2000

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/08/2019 20:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Place, Great People

Another 2 weeks spent at this peace of Heaven that is Vennlake. Not the biggest of CLs but perfect for that getting away feeling. More than adequate for all kinds of units, including 2 large camper vans, one with a car trailer that were accommodated with no trouble whatsoever. Its like one big happy family at Vennlake, with "mine host", Dave, ensuring that everyone has everything they need. Perfick !!

ian n anne the van

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/07/2019 18:26

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL Site

We spent nearly a month here in spring and had a very good stay. We picked the site because it is central to Devon allowing us to explore as much of the county as we could. We were grateful for the laundry facilities, which are functional and clean. We didn't use the showers and toilets so cannot comment on them. Dave couldn't have been more helpful, even moving the fence to allow us to bring the caravan on to site without having to reverse it on to the pitch. After a particularly wet few weeks, he was constantly fighting with the drainage of the site. It wouldn't have taken a lot to ruin the grass, but Dave managed to keep it from being churned up. Unfortunately it meant that most of the time we were there parts of the site were fenced off to stop it being churned up as cars entered and left. That aside, this is a site we would happily come back to.

DaSilvor

Caravanner from Norfolk

Reviewed on 14/07/2019 15:22

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We couldn’t stay

I’m sure this CL is lovely but we couldn’t stay as our motorhome was too big. It looks an ideal place for small caravans, so perhaps the owner might like to point this out. We didn’t meet the owner but a gentleman from a caravan came out and told us the owner was expecting a small campervan. As size wasn’t discussed I have no idea how this conclusion was reached. The man from the caravan also told us that he had spoken to head office and that motorhomes shouldn’t use CLs. We know this to be completely untrue as we actually prefer CLs and have had a very happy eight years using them with our motorhome.

QFour

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/06/2019 14:28

22 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super CL

Another 2 weeks spent at this great CL. Dave is a great host with a very infectious laugh ! Easy access to Dartmoor and North Devon. Beautiful.

ian n anne the van

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/07/2018 09:40

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely place, lovely people.

We are relative newcomers to motorhoming and have just spent a great three night stay here at Vennlake. The site is peaceful and picturesque. The pitches are placed around a central space and the whole effect is informal and friendly. The pitches have water, electricity and tv aerial linkages as well as waste water drains. The rubbish and recycling area is very well organised, as are the laundry room, showers and toilets. The whole site is very clean and tidy. With a bus stop and Co-op 5 minutes away we could access everything we needed easily. The welcome from Dave was brilliant and our every query and problem dealt with with great good humour. His relaxed and friendly manner set the tone for the whole site. A very enjoyable experience!

Magpie67

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/06/2018 20:02

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer