Water Hall Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Location

Greeted with a warm welcome, this CL was a great central location for us to walk the first 2 stages of the Cleveland Way. Easy to get to, and the road network made it good to get to our places of interest. Will certainly return.

Stephen Walton

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2021 18:56

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful little CL

We have just spent a week at Water Hall farm CL and would thoroughly recommend it. Access entry is straight forward, it is a totally grassy site with a manicured lawn. Most pitches have a very slight slope and are arranged side by side in an almost semi-circular fashion. Nice views to one side, woodland to the other. A few friendly chickens were free ranch over the site but never a problem. The only slight down side... the CDP does not have a water tap, you have to take a bucket of water (bucket provided) to flush out your cassette. Friendly owners, never intrusive, we were very happy with our stay and will certainly visit again when in that area.

25rapido

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/06/2021 19:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great little CL site

Stayed here during the school half term and were surprised to be the only visitors. It’s a lovely peaceful site at the base of the Hambleton Hills. Ideal base for walking or cycling. Great pub in Knayton, within walking distance. We will certainly make a return trip.

mrdenton

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/06/2021 14:33

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Regulars for 36 years!

First came to Water Hall Farm on a stormy Friday night 36 years ago, pitch black and pouring down, missed the site entrance (Sat Nav not invented, just the better half saying it's down here somewhere). Went a mile up the road and turned around in a farm yard - Alan Wikeley was waiting for us waving a torch when we got back to the entrance. Decided to stay despite the weather - best thing we've done! We've been regular visitors ever since. Our last visit was a long Easter weekend this year -2019- enjoyable as ever. It's a great CL,about 4 minutes off the A19, 5 grass pitches, 2 nice and flat and 3 requiring a little wedging(!). Electrics now ok for heating and water, taps and waste disposal available on site. Always a warm welcome from Margaret and Alan, site is just out of Knayton village which has a great food pub and Thirsk and Northallerton are a short drive away for shops and supermarkets. Ideal for walking from the site or drive up to Sutton Bank or Lake Gormire or Kepwick for more adventures in the glorious countryside. Come here to sit and relax (the hens will soon find you so don't feed them or they'll never leave your pitch!!) or bring your bike or your boots and get some fresh air and exercise.

emmuu

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/05/2019 17:29

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Back to Basics

Levelling blocks required for pitches 1-4, not needed on pitch 5 (which we were on). However pitch 5 closest to road, so some noise early in the morning from passing tractors and a few cars but not a major issue. Free roaming and very curious chickens on site, which showed no fear even when our 2 Terriers "introduced" themselves! Very entertaining but did mean we couldn't peg dogs outside to eat etc as a commotion ensued! No actual dog walk on site but a public path either side of site for walks (dogs on leads as this was very much pheasant country). Surprised no mention from other reviews or in site description about the sign on site which states that their "ehu predates caravan water heater/electrics" , so meant we had to run all our heating and hot water from our gas supply or risk tripping electricity: this would put us off returning in colder months. No shops in Knayton but one of the best country pubs we've ever been to with excellent food and drinks at very reasonable prices. Overall a well maintained and pleasant site.

thebells

Caravanner from Tyne & Wear

Reviewed on 02/10/2016 17:31

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location

This is a site we return to every year. The site is ideally located just a short distance from the A19 yet set in beautiful countryside. There is no better place to come and unwind and just listen to the beautiful birdsong and the warm and friendly proprietors make this feel like home. There is a public footpath across the lane from the farm which is ideal for dog walking. Keep your eyes peeled and you will probably see deer and the resident owl. The Hambleton Hills are a relatively undiscovered haven for walkers, cyclists and nature lovers. There are walks directly from the site or just a short drive takes you up to the Cleveland Way. The undulating countryside, narrow country lanes and beautiful villages are ideal for cycling.  The village of Knayton is about ½ mile away with a good pub, The Dog and Gun. There are also several other nice pubs a short drive away.      For those wanting to go further afield, the market town of Thirsk is only a few miles away (handy if you need to pop to the supermarket for provisions) and Helmsley, Pickering and the North Yorkshire Moors within easy driving distance.  Whether you are just wanting to relax or try something more energetic, we would recommend you give this site a try.

teeandgee

Reviewed on 15/06/2016 21:43

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

If you follow directions to site and there are no access problems, Site is undulating so bring your levelling blocks, but the ground was firm even after heavy rain. Grass well mown and clippings cleared. Good pub in village food lunch and evening time just over 1\2 mile from site. Shopping in Northallerton or Thirsk about 4 miles

andytyneandwear

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/05/2016 21:57

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site

A warm welcome awaits at this quiet, well maintained site, close to the North Yorkshire moors and with easy access to the market towns of Northallerton and Thirsk. Being close to the A19 makes it ideal for both short and longer stays. Good local Inn nearby. 

TrevonRuth

Reviewed on 09/10/2015 10:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer