West Meikle Pinkerton Farmhouse

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great stay

Had a lovely 5 nights here. Easy access from A1 but no traffic noise. Great views of the sea. Well located for visiting nearby family. This is a site I am sure we will revisit in the future.

Stipey1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/04/2022 11:43

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic outlook

This was our second visit to West Meikle Pinkerton and certainly wont be our last. A lovely quiet location sitting in an elevated position with stunning views over the Firth of Forth. The site is very easy to find and access with lots of room. It's just a mile or so to Dunbar and ASADA to get all he shopping you have forgotten! Great walking and cycling routes by heading inland to the Lammermuir Hills and teh lovely quiet single track roads and tracks serving the windfarms. The A1 is busy and more difficult to cross if you want toe head to teh coast but there are plenty lovely beaches within a short drive. It just a few minutes drive to Dunbar to correct all that shopping you have forgotten!! Host Kaye is attentive without being intrusive. Remember that this is a working farm (like many CL's) and there will be occasional tractors and machinery moving around. Site fee is now £18/night (first rise for years) and is still worth the money. We have never been charged for and awning so not sure is the other review is quoting the right site!

Robin Waddell

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/05/2021 12:11

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely site

This was a great place to stay. We received a lovely welcome and the field was well kept and organised. There was a great field for our dog to have a run in and some beautiful views across to the Bass Rock. We had a lovely sunset too. The only downside was the noise from the grain drier but we had been warned about this from other reviews so lived with it ok for one night. This is a working farm with delightful owners.

tonysuvla

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/10/2020 11:24

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The good the bad and the ugly!

The good Lovely well kept site, grass neatly cut. Extensive views over surrounding hills, and Dunbar, a lovely local town, can be seen in the distance. The bad. The CAMC book states £14 pitch and all, but we were charged and extra £5 per night for an awning. If you are booking and have an awning, check the charges. The ugly. There were 6 caravans/camper vans on site for 8 out of the 10 nights that we stayed. Avoid harvest time, August/September, unless you enjoy living next to what sounds like a jet engine, as the crop drying machine was running anytime from 6am till 8pm. You won't need an alarm clock! We tried to find an alternative site after a couple of days, but nothing was available.

greenaroundthegills

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/09/2020 16:59

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site with plenty of room

Our only mistake was not booking to stay longer than we did. Lovely level field with loads of space and stunning views. On a working farm which adds a bit of interest. A warm welcome got our break off to a good start and we just loved being here. I am sure it will become a regular for us

ScreenName65BBEF57F1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/09/2020 20:25

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful WMP

What a gem of a CL. Fabulous views across the River Forth to Fife. Extremely friendly owner. Been several times, even though it is fairly close to home. Lots of nice walks, especially UP Doon Hill! We find this site to be fairly quiet, even though it is a working farm. This just adds to the interest and enjoyment. The site itself is pretty level and Mrs G keeps the grass neat and tidy. We have had no problems with the electric supply, although we ARE always in the habit of switching off electric heating/hot water etc before putting the kettle on, to avoid tripping the switch, whatever site we are on - just makes good sense to us. Keep up the good work. Enjoying the view before heading home again tomorrow.

canaldancers

Reviewed on 14/10/2019 16:37

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely but it can be very noisy

This site has some lovely qualities as mentioned in other reviews. However, during the harvest it can be very noisy. We are used to working farms, but the grain drier directly behind the site is like being next to a jet engine. During our visit, if you were pitched by the entrance gate its sound was effectively supressed by the bales in the yard, but at the far end we found it very disturbing. It started at 6.30am most mornings and generally stopped at between 7 and 8pm. After a few days we were able to move to the other end of the site, where it was fine, but until then we stayed away from the site as much as we could. The owner stopped for a chat as we were leaving and said that they were considering a new (and quieter) drier, so it may be sorted by the time you read this.

Greg Horner

Reviewed on 03/09/2019 13:21

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Long Weekend

Great CL with fantastic view over the town of Dunbar and the Forth Estuary. Arrived and set up on the lovely level grass site. We were made really welcome in the farm surroundings which were also very interesting with horses, cattle along with an active harvest taking place. The local town Dunbar is within 5 minute drive which includes Supermarket, Garden Centre and other facilities within the town centre meeting all your needs. The harbour is certainly worth visiting and if you are lucky you may even see Sammy the seal. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend with glorious weather which was a bonus.

Valder1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/08/2019 19:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Scotland Break

Stayed here from 17/06/19 for 6 nights, great views accross Dunbar and the surrounding area. The site is well layed out, good electrics and facilities for water and elsan point are easy to use. Played a few golf courses whilst in the area. Eyemouth i have played before but this time i took my wife and we had a lovely time, the professional was very helpful and if you do not play golf try the resturant, great menu they specialise in sea food and the views from the dining area are stunning.At the site the owners are very friendly but busy people and the lady informed us of walks around the farm and trains to Edingburgh etc. At the time we stayed they were doing their silage harvest and stacking the bales in the yard opposite the CL, one time this did not end until late evening, this was quite noisy but understandable, this is a working farm. This did not stop us from enjoying our stay and we would return.

leisure1

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 01/07/2019 09:59

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

We visited off season but there were another two outfits also there. It's everything reviewers say. Easy access from the A1, a friendly site owner and lovely views. Level field and plenty of room. Whitesands beach is about 2 miles away. Note that there's a charge for parking at the beach. This is a handy site for Dunbar and also for visiting North Berwick.

Iandor

Caravanner from Perthshire

Reviewed on 29/11/2018 23:50

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer