Whinneyknowe

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful location

We stayed here twice this month, breaking our journey to loch ness for 2 nights both ways. We did think we had got lost as we came off the motorway at Ecclefechan heading to Dalton and thought we had missed a turning as it was such a long way but we hadn't. The turning to the site is posted on both corners which is great for coming from both directions. Coming back from Inverness we found it easier to get off and then on again heading south. Lovely peaceful site. Easy to get in and out of. Lockerbie about 10 minutes away and a nice little town. Dumfries about 20 minutes away in the other direction and a bigger town with better shopping if you need it. Owners very friendly and reduced price as we were off grid for both stays. Will definitely book next year for our next Scottish trip. Beautiful scenery, great for dog walking and very peaceful.

Neil and Bev

Reviewed on 18/08/2023 18:01

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Caravan June 2022

A really warm welcome from the friendly owners & nice to be given useful info on places we might want to visit. Sadly we only had 2 days to explore as there was much more to do.

StephSurrey

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/07/2022 17:46

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well worth a visit

A little tight to get in with a long outfit, but well worth the effort. Lovely welcome from the Flemings and the views are great. Easy drive down to Solway Firth and it's fabulous views and Lockerbie and Castle Loch are just up the road. Annandale is well worth a look.

alanvickerman

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/09/2020 18:30

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely place

We stayed just the one night at this very pleasant and beautifully kept cl. The owners were very helpful. One day we hope to be able to stay a bit longer. We have a motorhome which ideally we like a bit of hardstanding for but it was all grass pitches. In our caravanning days grass would be really appreciated but we now worry about firmness of the ground. Recommend.

macpherson1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/09/2020 16:46

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Passing through

Lovely clean and pleasant site. A little difficult to find although off the "main " road , however once found it is a little gem. We stayed twice on the way up and back from the West Coast , it was so good we bypassed a scheduled stay at Loch Lomond on the way home and stayed here again.

STING

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/09/2017 19:13

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Idyllic setting

This was our second visit to this little gem of a site. We arrived in the most atrocious weather with all the surrounding roads including the A75 having standing water on them The field was dry and the small puddle that formed after 9 hours of persistent rain in the middle of the field quickly drained away. A very good base for many places of interest in Dumfries and Galloway and within easy reach of the M74. A generous size pitch with very well thought out service points

ChrisSessions

Reviewed on 24/07/2017 14:18

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful little CL

We eventually found the site, signage not obvious at first but once you've found it, its a lovely little site. We had it all to ourselves for our stay and it was lovely. The owner came to see that we were okay and gave us have a large folder full of information leaflets to have a look at. Highly recommended.

Woodwarm

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/05/2017 22:03

19 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tucked away gem

Super CL with peaceful country views. Watch out for the CL signs on the approach road otherwise - a zoom past and turn-around! Very relaxing, well placed to visit the Galloway countryside, a warm and helpful welcome from John and Susan

Jimsey

Reviewed on 30/05/2016 15:05

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet rural site

This is easy to find and a good stop off point going north or south. The site is flat, we'll kept and with good panoramic views and plenty of room. The surrounding small lanes are quiet and good for either walking or cycling. Nice friendly welcome on arrival. 

Ger013

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/08/2014 18:46

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb CL

We stayed here in June 2014 for two nights having been attracted by the previous reviews and looking for a stop between Central Scotland and Cheshire. We were not disappointed. The site is tranquil, beautifully kept and in the middle of lovely countryside. The facilities are absolutely fine with everything needed for a self-contained stay. A warm welcome and not too far from the lovely village of Lochmaben made it a great stop. Managed to get my 8 metre twin axle van in and out with just a bit of care needed. Highly recommended.

JollyJackTar

Reviewed on 17/06/2014 10:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer